Total War: Arena and Tree of Savior get reviewed, we chat about EA nickel and diming customers, and finish it of with some SWTOR companions chat. All that and more on this week’s Free to Play Cast!

Discussion Timestamps:

02:07 Total War: Arena and Tree of Savior Review
22:47 EA Nickel and Diming
33:45 SWTOR Companions
38:35 Weekly Bombs (DA-Bomb / A-Bomb)
48:51 Questions and Answers of the Week

If you have submissions for the show’s Weekly Bombs, have questions for the panel (nothing is off limits!), or just ideas for what you want covered you can now send them to [email protected] You can also be a guest in the show, just send us why you want to host, and what topic or game you would like to cover.

Free-To-Play Cast is the official podcast (and videocast) of MMOBomb.com about free to play multiplayer online games. Free-To-Play Cast takes on the week’s biggest news with plenty of opinion, weekly bombs, community feedback, guests, laughs thrown in for good measure and much more. Have fun and expect a new episode next week!

Don´t forget to subscribe to Free to Play Cast via Youtube.

the author

Mike "Magicman" Byrne has been a part of the MMOBomb family for years and serves as the site's current Editor-in-Chief. His love for MMOs and gaming in general has led him to covering games for numerous websites including Gamebreaker TV and XIV Nation where he proudly displays his fanboy flag for FFXIV:ARR.

12 Readers Commented

Join discussion
  1. Pennlion on December 6, 2015

    Believe it or not I think Fate would be good MMO. It is by Wildtangent, was translated into over a dozen different langauges and sold millions of copies. I think it was the true inspiration for Torchlight, there were no pets in Diablo. Give it a third person perspective some nice costumes and it would be great for kids. I did spend over 100 hours on the game and all my kids played it.

  2. ElusiveXTreasure on December 6, 2015

    *Flips keyboard* … dang thing errored out on me twice! Anywho…the single player game series I’d like to see as an MMO is Disgaea. I love the art style and the way they do storytelling with hiding depth behind silliness then hitting you in the gut with a serious moment when it counts. It already has a multi-verse, several races, classes, and progression options out the wazoo. The tricky part is making a turn-based strategy game multiplayer. My only thought on that front is how the hubby and I make it “two-player”. Since the total characters you can have on the map is 10, we each create 5 and operate our 5 as its own “unit”. We either take turns going through the maps with only our unit, or on more difficult endeavors, each operate our units independently on the same map to kill certain mobs or take care of objectives (i.e. geos, chests, etc.). Overall, I think it would be a good way to expose people not familiar with the series or style of gameplay even to a game that is just a lot of fun and has fun with itself.

  3. chrisbaker55 on December 3, 2015

    Well if you know me I loooove my wuxia/martial arts games ,and I’ve always wanted to see some sort of sequel to Biowares RPG of 2005 Jade Empire. I would be nice to see Bioware revive one of their older IP’s even if I highly doubt Jade Empire would fair well under the MMO format…

    Especially under Biowares Free to play format… (opps)

  4. huehuehue on December 3, 2015

    dis is y i feel nothing wen i pirate & get the latest updates too hueheuhue

    noobs

  5. Deathloche on December 3, 2015

    I would actually want a Ghost Recon MMO. I think it would have the makings of a really good one. for the simple fact that pvp is already solid in all of those games. With the amount of tech skills weapon mod and equipment you can have would make for a really good experience in my opinion. I’m think as far as the world goes I would want it to be instanced based, kind of like Vindictus or Warframe, with the areas being twice the size of what Warframe has to offer. I like Warframe cash shop because its basically optional. Mostly everything in that game can be crafted so I really like that. I would try my best to keep UbiSoft hand away from my the cash shop especially since Ghost Recon Phantoms cash shop is completely pay to win.

    • Deathloche on December 4, 2015

      I would like to give a Da Bomb to EA. I find it funny how other companies can put microtransactions in their single player games but when EA does it they get talked about. I know a lot of games that does this one of which just came out. Rainbow Six Seige actually pretty much forces you to fork over cash to buy currency to unlock characters that you already paid 60 dollars to get. (So an A Bomb to UbiSoft). Let EA do the exact same thing it has to be mentioned on 5 podcast in a row.

      • Derpina on December 4, 2015

        Ur logic: I got face raped and lived. So go ahead and butt rape me.
        Derrrpppp

  6. tolshortte on December 3, 2015

    Q of the week: Transformers. should have happened already. build your bot, level your bot, gear your bot, destroy your enemy.

  7. Lagwin1980 on December 3, 2015

    I like the looks of tree of savior.
    EA…you don’t want to Nickel and Dime?, change your free to play model on swtor…i have stuff i cant use now because i choose not to pay despite having a boxed copy.

    multiple bombs for Path of exile.
    A bomb(yes an a bomb) for their initial supporters packs, and i hate to do that since it’s to support them in future development BUT the pack was lackluster to say the least, price wise you got more for that money over the previous supporters packs. you got more for that tier of pack…what it would consist of for quite a few people was points and a forum tag (the pet and social frame not everyone use)

    Da-Bomb for them listening to the players on the above issue, within a few hours they updated the announcement to tell the players that there would be a new portal effect for the bottom two tiers of supporters pack and weapon effects for all of them to be added once they were done.

    Also a Da-Bomb for the ascendancy “expansion” coming early next year, the labyrinth looks fun and the sub classes look ridiculously over powered and to me would open op many options on how to play a specific build.

  8. Lagwin1980 on December 3, 2015

    I like the looks of tree of savior.
    EA…you don’t want to Nickel and Dime?, change your free to play model on swtor…i have shit i cant use now because i choose not to pay despite having a boxed copy.

    multiple bombs for Path of exile.
    A bomb(yes an a bomb) for their initial supporters packs, and i hate to do that since it’s to support them in future development BUT the pack was lackluster to say the least, price wise you got more for that money over the previous supporters packs. you got more for that tier of pack…what it would consist of for quite a few people was points and a forum tag (the pet and social frame not everyone use)

    Da-Bomb for them listening to the players on the above issue, within a few hours they updated the announcement to tell the players that there would be a new portal effect for the bottom two tiers of supporters pack and weapon effects for all of them to be added once they were done.

    Also a Da-Bomb for the ascendancy “expansion” coming early next year, the labyrinth looks fun and the sub classes look ridiculously over powered and to me would open op many options on how to play a specific build.

    • Lagwin1980 on December 3, 2015

      could someone delete the second post…i derped

HAVE SOMETHING TO SAY?