grepolis (6)

grepolis (5)

grepolis (4)

grepolis (3)

grepolis (2)

grepolis (1)

PLAY NOW

About the game:
Title: Grepolis
Status: Released Graphics: 2D
Genre: Strategy Type: Browser
Developer: InnoGames
Publisher: InnoGames

Explosive Features:

  • Clean Interface.
  • Simple Tutorial.
  • Interesting Unit Types.

Are you ready to conquer the Olympus following in the footsteps of Ulysses, Achilles and the Greek heroes? Then join us for a unique adventure into the world of Ancient Greece.

In Grepolis, a browser based online strategy game, it is your task to build up from a small Polis (Greek for town) to a huge metropolis. Unite with other players in victorious alliances, establish a powerful army and navy and finally conquer islands far away. On your trip to glory and honor, you should also take care of the gods of Greek mythology: Zeus, Hera, Athena and Poseidon will decide your fate.

About six million registered players from over 150 countries have already joined the quest. The game is currently available in 18 languages and there are more to come.

Featured Video

Read related news

Edit Game Report Problem

More Games Like This

56 User Reviews

Leave Your Review
  1. roeland on May 31, 2013

    very very very nice game play it if you want to play a game on long termine (for a year or something in that way

    (-2)
    • mark on July 8, 2013

      go to doctor to check your head

      (0)
  2. Revolcisum on April 8, 2014

    Great game everyone is bitching about not being able to pay or wanting to pay or something like that I have not spent a single dime on the game although I probably need to spend at least 10 to help support the game developers it is actually a pretty good game sorry it is not something that you can do over night you lazy asses get over it this is a good game.

    (-2)
    • Me on August 23, 2014

      my guess is you are one of the moderators.

      the game is pure crap, and so are the staff. banning paying costumers for things they haven’t done and keeping the money is pretty much the same as thievery.

      (1)
  3. fuller211 on March 24, 2012

    it is ok

    (-1)
  4. Icedrake on April 24, 2011

    I really don’t get the appeal of these sorts of games. Caesary, Evony, Kingory, this, Ministry of War… It’s all the same game with different aspects tweaked. They all rise the same way, they all fall the same way. Basically, if you’ve seen one, you’ve seen them all.

    (1)
    • brian on December 25, 2013

      Theres an easy fix for you……
      Them dont play them

      (-2)
  5. Thomas Neith on May 18, 2014

    I find the game is to slow! The thing ever one needs the most is timber but it takes several hours to upgrade as well as gather. Unless you have deep pockets/cash to buy coins it’s like all the other online games, over priced, drug out time wise to force you to spend money to line the pockets of the greedy developers, they forget there are some of us out here that live on fixed incomes and can’t afford to support there asses! If you don’t get yourself built up and set within the 5 day grace period you’ll be chewed up and spit out when another alliance decides to attach you with everything and member of their alliance. I know it happened to me last Nov, I was wiped in in 1 day, because I was built up and most of those that were in the same alliance dropped out and went to another alliance leaving to fend for myself. My main BITCH is that these games are set for the developers to make money and if you’re on a fixed income you’re screwed!

    (0)
  6. rANDY on February 8, 2014

    you obviously have no patience is what would be expected from a low brow blog like this.

    (0)
  7. ss on January 1, 2014

    I have been playing for two months and have managed to gain 5 cities, two by colonizing, two buy conquest , plus my original. If you like the long term strategic and diplomatic parts of the game you will love it. If you don’t like planning with your partners or communicating don’t bother. If you are looking for immediate battles and action before building your city for a bit then don’t waste your time. This game can be great as I am in an alliance with 56 other players, I rank 21st, and we are at war with another alliance. You and your alliance have to make real war plans, plan real attacks, and build defenses while helping when needed and getting lots of help when needed. This game is great if you have one of two things. Money to spend on gold to speed everything up and gain advantages, or plenty of time( I got laid off two months ago and it has helped fill my time) and dedication. If you cant play for an hour a day don’t bother. Or if you don’t want to spend 5-10 bucks a week don’t bother. But if you play 1-2 hrs a day you don’t need real money. If you play several hrs a day like myself, you can go to war and conquer 5 cities and have ships, soldiers, alliances, enemy alliances, Greek mythical warriors, catapults, horses, chariots, Gods with spells you name it. All within two months of starting, but lots of time spent. Its very strategic and takes brains. if you don’t want to use your melon don’t play!!!

    (0)
  8. ss on December 10, 2013

    I started playing 2 months ago and love it. I have spent zero money on gold, but I admit you must spend lots of time demanding or looting resources so you can build. If you start in a fairly new world where there aren’t huge alliances you have a very fair chance. If you start in an older world, yes, you don’t stand a chance unless you spend lots of $. It takes patience, time, planning ahead, and Lots of diplomacy.I give it a 8. Like I said , its takes lots of time to get good without paying cash for gold, but it can be done. I have several cities I have conquered and now was just accepted into a major alliance. Key is getting a fast start so when your beginners protection runs out, you have defenses and may join a strong alliance if you prove that you can build quick. Definitely not a game for someone who wants to play for like 30 min a day. Or if you like lots of action right away, don’t even try. Its long term strategy but if you know what your doing you can easily survive.

    (0)
  9. l on November 29, 2013

    It is a great game. If your not on all the time join world hyperborea the staff listens to ideas and improves them and is for the players.After a week it gets intense you can choose faster world speed. Great tutorial and over 9/10 game rating from me.

    (0)
  10. Robert M on September 29, 2013

    I’ve been playing for a couple of years now, while the game is free once you progress you have no choice but to pay for certain elements otherwise you lose

    I recently started another world with some friends and colleagues, it took me a couple of weeks to save up the resources for another city, my colleagues attacked it to ensure that it was empty. I launched my Colony Ship, an hour before landing I received an email saying that the player had been banned.

    You can’t recall so you would assume that your forces would just bounce and return, no, he had managed to put some support in and yet we were not permitted to attack and clear it. When my Colon Ship landed I lost everything. It’s takes time to bounce back and rebuild, thanks to my colleagues sending me resources

    I messaged the games designers to ask for a refund either by means of coins or resources, their reply was “We don’t deal with compensation” short and swift. They are eager to take your money and in situations like this you have to suffer the consequences. If people want to cheat then that’s their problem, why should I have to lose out.

    (0)
  11. Robert M on September 29, 2013

    I’ve been playing for a couple of years now, while the game is gree

    (0)
  12. Jack on September 19, 2013

    Horrible game. Standard game with little thought and worse then most in it’s genre since the attacking is so poor and the servers so bad the timers are always off, and I do not mean their +,-. I mean the clock you look at for the server is off. Played others and they are much more worth your TIME which is NOT free, also you will spend money to compete, some players drop $100′s to get ahead. The forum is just complete garbage, they remove many posts and barely get any posts to begin with. This is all my opinion and I rate it 1 out of 5 stars. Better uses of your time

    (0)
  13. William on September 18, 2013

    I have played for four weeks and of course I have played others. This is my first multiple player online with so many players. I got a good start and the controls and everything are medium to get around on. You have to make good decisions early and spend some time playing full time or you need money to stay alive. I was on an island with ten other rats and now it me and the baby mice I play with. Only play for like a ten minute session twice a day.

    Fun so far but only a six of ten stars.

    (0)
  14. hating grepo on July 8, 2013

    use macro software for farming
    use alarm application for attack alert

    WTF game is crap

    (0)
  15. haha on June 12, 2013

    CRAP GAME

    this game is for gold cradit card user…. game is pointless and if you have admin playin in your alliance you just cant lose, and that happens, trust me… i have reported few players for giving their accounts to another player with hard evidence(new account owner message addminting the is new owner) and innogames unbanned the player cause he is probably using tons of cash for premuim and rebuilding troops

    (0)
  16. Mike on January 18, 2013

    I started playing Grepolis about 3 weeks ago. This is my first experience with MMO games. I am actually enjoying the game, and I’m no expert strategist by a long shot. I was fortunate to join a rather large alliance within my first week. I find that if you join an alliance, your neighbors aren’t so inclined to attack you because that would mean payback by the other alliance members. Even members from larger alliances think twice about attacking, unless they are looking to start a full-scale multi-city war.

    The only complaint I have about the game is that it takes so long to build up enough resources to upgrade buildings. The only way I’ve been able to build resources quickly is to pay for the premium services. Without the premium services, you really can’t compete with the big boys. Plus, I’ve been raiding my smaller neighbors. Not trying to be an a-hole, I just need resources.

    Anyway, that’s my 2 cents. If you want to compete, be prepared to pay. And join an alliance as quickly as possible.

    (0)
    • neil on March 24, 2013

      i haven’t paid a dime and am doing fine. if you get into a good alliance and go on daily to get your bonus it is easy to level up quickly.

      (0)
  17. w/ever on January 7, 2013

    Joining an alliance prevents you being “swarmed” and there are a number of aspects to the game that allow smaller players to be more competative.

    Ultimately though the game just takes too long and as more players quit you end up conquering the dead cities of your former teammates rather than battling with live players.

    The end game (building world wonders) is a massive anti-climax and encourages negative defensive strategy and sim building rather than open fighting between alliances.

    This game appears to have jumped the shark, new worlds are a fraction of the size of those created 2 years ago and it becomes much simpler for one alliance to quickly recruit all the best players and dominate the whole server.

    (0)
  18. BerzurcusCircus on April 7, 2011

    I belive they just released V2.0 which included better graphics and other updates.

    (0)
  19. hw on October 10, 2014

    They call this a strategy game, but it is not:
    -This games is about micro managing . E.g. you need to farm to get as much resources as possible. This means in fact just pushing buttons. If you want to be high on the ranking then farm every 5 minutes throughout the day (and distroy your private live). The longer you play the more cities you have and the more you are pushing buttons instead of thinking about strategy. Grepolis is about pushing buttons not about strategy.

    - In between pushing the buttons you will find yourself waiting until you actually can do some thing of building or attacking. Boring!

    -The moderators are recruited in game and are some young guys that like and mis-use the power they have been given. Decisions are often biased and communications of moderators are often rude, not a way you would like to be treated as a paying player.

    - Paying for a games is a normal thing to do. However when you play a 10 euro a month for this game, you still do not have any chance of playing in the top. A paying gamer spending around 10 euro a month (which make the game more expensive than a DVD game) should have a game where the good strategy makes the difference. Innogames is so fond of earning money that they give players an unlimited possibility to spend money (and players are doing that). Innogames is selling the top rankings in the games to the highest bidder. In fact it is not gaming contest but a shopping contest.

    - The games does not have a decent end game. A world is continued for years and only ends when so almost everyone has left because it became boring. At the at of the game the only thing you find yourself doing is attacking player that are no longer active. There should be a moment where a winner is declared after which the games stops.

    - The game can be played from pc and also mobile phone. On your phone you will be get messages that you are under attack. this will happen when you are on work, playing with your kids or do nice activities in real live. To make a chance in the game you should react on the message by arranging your defense. It will ruine your private live or cost your job.

    Be smart do not start with it. At first it looks nice, but you will find out it is not.

    (0)
    • hw on October 10, 2014

      In addition:
      - It is nice to play games when you have some free time. It can be relaxing or exiting. The important thing is that you choose when you play. When you start with grepolis that is how it is. Grepolis is however a 24/7 game and after some time you will find out that you are playing at times that you did not want to play. You might found out that after some time the games is getting you to play while you did not want to.
      - It is nice to play with alliances. You have a group of players with a common goal. But again this is a 24/7 game. You find out when you do not play for several days (because you have not vacation days left) that the enemy takes some of your cities. when your “friends” see this the will prevent the enemy from taking more of your cities by attacking you and take all your cities. Innogames give you the opportunity to buy more vacation days. Yes you read this correctly, you will be paying to be able not to play.

      (1)
  20. Person on August 31, 2014

    Well, unless you can put time and money towards the game, you are in major trouble. Played the game for 6 months. People in my alliance had over 400k points, I had 40k……

    (1)
  21. Lego on August 23, 2014

    The game in it self is pretty OK

    But the people behind it are assholes. I’ve played for 3 months and spent lots of money, also getting friends to play the game who also spent lots of money. As a thank I get banned for something I did not do (they just made a bunch of excuses and treated me like crap when asking why they banned me) and obviously they kept my money making them thieves.

    Don’t spend a ***king dime on this game !!! They don’t deserve ANY money WHAT SO EVER considering how they treat paying customers. Haven’t been this pissed off since someone stole my bicycle when I was 15 some 20 years ago, if I had the Grepolis crew in front of me I’d break their jaws and p**s in their mouths

    (1)
  22. Thomas Neith on May 18, 2014

    I find the game is to slow! The thing ever one needs the most is timber but it takes several hours to upgrade as well as gather. Unless you have deep pockets/cash to buy coins it’s like all the other online games, over priced, drug out time wise to force you to spend money to line the pockets of the greedy developers, they forget there are some of us out here that live on fixed incomes and can’t afford to support their asses! If you don’t get yourself built up and set within the 5 day grace period you’ll be chewed up and spit out when another alliance decides to attach you with everything and member of their alliance. I know it happened to me last Nov, I was wiped in in 1 day, because I was built up and most of those that were in the same alliance dropped out and went to another alliance leaving to fend for myself. My main BITCH is that these games are set for the developers to make money and if you’re on a fixed income you’re screwed!

    (1)
  23. Vapor300 on March 29, 2014

    I play in Paros u gotta know how to play no excuses u don’t know how to play then ur not gunna like it

    (-1)
    • John on March 29, 2014

      I see Vapor, the real trick to playing on Paros is knowing how to cheat and have moderators in your pocket. It is also ok according to you that insulting names to other people is part of the game even though it violates Inno games own rules. This proves my point as to why this game sucks and should be avoided by the public, certain players like Vapor feel entitled to lie cheat, be insulting to other players etc is ok to play this game. What is weird is why does the Company, Inno Games so intent to lose customers because of players like Vapor who clearly believes that my complaints about cheating and insulting names is all part of the game and if you can’t take it you won’t like it. I doubt anyone from INNO games would like you as a spokesperson Vapor, friends like you who would need enemies in Inn’s eyes.

      This game should be avoided by everyone as it has now been taken over by jerks like Vapor that will not allow new players to play without harassment or out and out bullying. It certainly not worth investing any money into it until they fix this issue

      If Inno games doesn’t get it’s act together, the 20 million players it boasts of will for the most part, not pay or just leave, making them just another in a long list of failed internet games.

      (2)
    • Me on August 23, 2014

      guess you are one of the moderators

      (0)
  24. john on March 26, 2014

    When I first started this game I really enjoyed it until I joined the Paros world. Since joining that world the largest alliance has had many complaints on City names, players names and it had indications that the moderators or someone making banning decisions were tipping them off on players that would be banned and available for attack. We had a situation like this with one of alliance mates and nothing was posted about it so no one knew of the ban, which was under appeal, other than two people. With the case made on that, the player was reinstated but not after he lost many of his cities. Since no one on the mod staff helping someone went to Inno games directly and all of a sudden we have a new moderating staff, bans dropped off from every other day to none and players with insulting handles had them changed. City names remain an issue as many players from the large alliance use taunting names. While the mods claimed they were satisfied that no help was given to the largest alliance, the results from the forced changes say different. It should be noted that the large alliance had several moderators playing the game on Paros and while they moderate other worlds you have to wonder about contact and privileges that other players don’t have. Now the latest problem is that if you go to Grepo Intel and look at the online time for many players of the large alliance you will a great deal of activity in one hour, nothing in the next and so forth for generally 19 hrs. Now one person might be someone with a sleeping disorder but on the majority of their active players tells me that some script is at work. I believe someone brought this up and so far nothing as mods can hide behind their non-disclose rules. Other complaints include a forum system were people are routinely bullied if they don’t share the exact same view as the long term players. In my view the game was fun at one time but now has turned into a bully fest and as such no fun at all.

    (1)
  25. andy on February 16, 2014

    Been playing this for 8 hours and now i am bored to tears

    Don’t get me wrong but reached level 10 first day on all buildings. Music is annoying and reminds me of Enya which i listen too to fall asleep too loll

    Ive been a player of many games preferably age of empires and building games on Xbox and PC for many years but i think ill quit this one cannot sit for a whole year on a game that expects some were down the line payment when i can build armies for free and whatever else on games on Xbox like port royal 3 or Age of empires

    Shame really looks good but so reminds me of envoy and kingdoms on Facebook which from comparison is cheaper then this

    (1)
  26. lemon on January 21, 2014

    i’ve been playing for about two weeks, after resetting. But my lord, it’s tedious. You have to wait for hours, i still have beginner’s protection and i’m worried that i’ll get killed when it ends. i might just give up and try something else. I have no intention of paying for this

    (1)
  27. Demar on January 18, 2014

    The city building was fun at the start but after a few weeks when my city reached a certain amount of points a guild decided they owned the sea zone and everything in it. Thank goodness I didn’t waste any of my real money on this game. Who would make a game where the players waste weeks or even months of their time only to be captured/totally destroyed in a day. Don’t waste your time or money with this game.

    (1)
  28. Frank on January 12, 2014

    Used to play this religiously last year. I mean every day logging in. My problems echo that of everyone else on here. Temp bans with no explaination or reason, outrageous cost for a “free” game etc. but the thing that annoyed me the most and my reason for quitting was the system they have in place by which you can lose your one and only city and have to start from scratch!!! I remember playing Evony years ago and the rule of the land was you could not lose your only city. If you had two cities an enemy could take your bigger one and leave you with the weaker one but you were never set back to square one!!! This is not the case at Grepolis. The first time it happened it was taken by a rival alliance but the second time it was by my own alliance. Yep!! Logged on to find myself booted from the alliance i had spent six months helping to build and a former alliance member hours from taking my cities over leaving me back at the very start again.. I know its part of the game but there is ZERO incentive to remain playing. Considering it takes months of commitment and gameplay to get a half decent city built I decided to call it a day.

    (1)
    • Brandur on October 6, 2014

      Exactly the same here SS. Apparently my alliance “decided” that they wanted the Island I was on and attacked me to oblivion. Wouldn’t touch this game again.

      (0)
  29. Rob Traynor on December 15, 2013

    Have been playing this for a while now and trust me it is slow and boring, yawn….takes for ever to do the tasks,you are limited on how many troops you have so you have to destroy them in order to build a colany ship if you wish to conquer another villa….if you are new to gaming this may seem great to you,but trust me their are far better and more exciting games out there……
    to get the basic benefits that most games provide for free you have to pay for so you are playing blind most of the time…bit of a money grabbing game..made for coiners not the likes of you and me…AVOID AVOID AVOID…….

    (1)
  30. scrubbyjimbob on December 15, 2013

    I played(and payed for) the game for about a year before I took a break due to the high demands it places on your freetime. I recently thought I’d check it out again and ran into issues with the mod staff. I was banned and accused of cheating. They said I was boting or using a script when I wasn’t. I tried to get to the bottom of the issue and got nowhere. I’m including a copy of my experience for others to see before they too get suckered into the game and possibly suffer what I did.

    scrubbyjimbob2013-12-14 06:59:30

    I just received a block due to suspected bot/script activity. I am really unsure how this could have been presumed as I have never used either in any world of Grepolis that I have played. I did get a captcha code request a few minutes prior to being booted off of the server and got a message that it was answered correctly. Your assistance in this matter would be greatly appreciated.

    IcedDragon2013-12-14 08:55:18

    Hello scrubbyjimbob,

    Our support tools have detected your account to be using an automated bot, or script, that performs ingame actions, perhaps whilst you are sleeping or otherwise not physically playing. Please note that these are completely forbidden in Grepolis. There is a list of pre-approved game-scripts that can be found here.

    The evidence gathered is fully conclusive, and no details of our findings can be revealed at any time in the interests of keeping our methods secure from those who wish to cheat. The rules clearly state that this is forbidden, and as a result of this we have no choice but to temporarily exclude you from the server. Please note that if we catch you using an unapproved script or bot in the future, you risk further punishments.

    Sincerely,

    IcedDragon
    Senior Moderator

    scrubbyjimbob2013-12-14 09:49:32

    What specifically am I being accused of using? I was awake the entire time and present at my PC from the time I first entered Eubea. What exactly was deemed “wrong” that flagged me for this offense? I used no scripts or bots and did all of my in game actions with my own presence and intent. I don’t appreciate being accused of cheating when I haven’t been. Might this be some sort of error possibly resulting from either the island quest rewards or one of the Christmas rewards or something wrong in the recent update? It’s hard to appeal an unsubstantiated claim without even being given a clue what happened to bring you to this conclusion. Also without knowing what I’ve supposedly done that’s wrong, how am I suppose to correct the action? As far as future punishment I can assure you that if this isn’t resolved I have absolutely no intention of returning, again I don’t appreciate being called a cheater when I haven’t. Once again your assistance in resolving this would be appreciated.

    IcedDragon2013-12-14 18:06:52

    I have consulted with another senior member of the team, and we are in agreement that the ban was placed correctly.

    I would recommend you uninstall whatever script, add on, or extension you have enabled to prevent this from happening again.

    Sincerely,

    IcedDragon
    Senior Moderator

    scrubbyjimbob2013-12-14 19:22:00

    Without knowing what the problem is, how do I know what to uninstall? I haven’t installed any scripts/add ons/extensions that to my knowledge affect this game or how it’s played. This lack of feedback is disturbing and rather one sided. It would seem that a moderator can just label a player a “cheater” without any real proof or evidence under the simple assumption that they are right and don’t have to explain how they are. This evidence is suppose to be “fully conclusive” yet that is hard to believe that this is the case when you can’t even tell me what I’ve done wrong. Is this because I was 5 minute farming the entire time I was logged in? Did I click through my farms too quickly, seemingly inhumanly fast? Did my growth seem out of the ordinary in your eyes? It just seems strange that I’m being labeled as a cheater when I was merely keeping pace with the other active players on my island. Grepolis moderators have developed a reputation for bias and questionable bans like this. They are recruited ingame and have ties with other ingame players. In the past I’ve always attributed it to dishonest people making excuses, but I’m beginning to see some truth in the statements I’ve read in my time in the game. I’d still like to give the mod team the benefit of the doubt mostly because it’s hard to believe I could have been viewed as much of a threat after only about 15 hours in a new world without any ties or alliance. I’m not asking for “trade secrets” that will undermine your ability to catch actual cheaters. All I’m asking for is an explanation of what I actually did wrong beyond a vague response like “uninstall whatever script, add on, or extension you have enabled “. Without knowing what the problem is I have no idea how to go about trying to fix the issue. Like I’ve stated numerous times I have not been using a bot/script to cheat in this game and if some other add on that is in Chrome can mimic such activity I don’t have the slightest way of knowing what it is or how to remove it. I’m not a programmer or computer guru. I haven’t even used the “approved scripts” as they seem kind of pointless and lazy. The only 3rd party site I even use is grepointel for maps to see the layout of alliances, etc. As a returning player who was a paying customer it doesn’t seem too much to ask for a real explanation on what I did so I can take steps to prevent it. Without knowing what I did wrong what is to stop this from happening again?

    IcedDragon2013-12-15 06:16:35

    I am very sorry, but I can not disclose what information we look for to catch rule breaking.
    As I said, the evidence has been looked at by multiple parties and we are in agreement that the ban was placed correctly.

    Sincerely,

    IcedDragon
    Senior Moderator

    scrubbyjimbob2013-12-15 08:05:29

    Sadly your condolences do little to ease the indignation that I feel toward this situation. It still boils down to being told I’ve done something wrong and then not being told what it was so I can insure I don’t do it again. This farce of an appeal system has only shown me beyond a doubt that the rumors of the authoritarian efforts of the team that is suppose to help make the game better place for their customers is merely a sham to help themselves and their chosen by bending and creating their own rules to their advantage. Rest assured I’ll never play this or any other Innogame again and will do my best to warn other prospective customers through social media outlets(I’ve kept a copy of these correspondences) before they too get suckered into this sham the same way I was. Enjoy your pittance of free gold that Inno gives you to unbalance their game(in lieu of actually paying a real support staff) while they waste money on advertising… it will eventually all crumble around all your heads the way things are ran now.

    (1)
    • macander on January 24, 2014

      Hi, Scrubby.

      Remember RYW alliance and Marathon server. :)

      You rocked. :)

      (0)
  31. Shibakin on August 12, 2013

    This game is crap. Playing with your little brother/sister, playing at college or public internet results in being banned. Support team takes day’s and even weeks to reply back with some stupid copy-and-paste answer that usually doesn’t even explain or relate to the problem. The game isn’t even free. You get the bare basics, but if you put in $5-$10 you can speed everything up and completely overwhelm a new guy who just came off beginner’s protection. I’ve also seen people use racism, sexism and even death threats, but reporting them does virtually nothing, as they never get banned. But if you love snail-based gameplay, horrible people and idiot support team then I say this is the game for you.

    (1)
    • browny on October 10, 2013

      that is completly true

      (1)
    • Riekert on May 10, 2014

      Ag please, do not be like that because you lost. If you play with other people and not share the connection but support each other etc you will get banned. Think

      (-1)
      • name on August 23, 2014

        if you read the other comments, you’d notice he isn’t the only one being treated like crap by the staff behind Grepolis

        so
        are you one of the staff, or are you just deluded?

        (0)
  32. Evan on August 3, 2013

    Been playing for 3 years. This game is all about time management, diplomatic skills (personal and group), great patience and making friends. Most people just don’t ‘get’ the idea, thinking you can enter the game and play solo like other MMOs. It just doesn’t work that way.

    Expect almost zero graphics, huge time commitment and little reward from end-game.
    But, at least it HAS an end-game. Try explaining ‘end-game’ to people who play WOW.
    Expect being attacked when you are off-line. Deal with it. If I can figure out when you (yes, you) go to sleep, expect my horses to be plowing into your sorry behind. This is a game that takes the entire globe into account, if I find out where you live, when you work, I will use it to smash you.
    It’s quite easy to ‘win’ without paying a penny, if you choose wisely with whom you make friends.

    -A brutal, unremitting, slug-fest of a game… In extreme slow-motion.
    -Your real-life schedule is taken into account. And may take a year or more.
    -Real cash helps first few weeks, then becomes nearly useless. Yes, useless.
    -Can’t win alone, or even with a small elite group.
    -If you die, you lose everything.
    -Not for the faint of heart.

    (0)
  33. Greg on July 9, 2013

    Although it is advertised as a free game, it is not. You receive the basic features to start. However, to actually play/run your empire, you must pay for the premium features. This can be quite expensive. In fact, if you pay, it will easily add up to much more than you would pay for better games like WoW per month. This is a major flaw and forces people to leave when they realize that they actually have to pay quite a bit to play. No one likes to be tricked.

    One must also devote a tremendous amount of time to this game. Based on real world time, you can be attacked at any time of the day or night. Thus, you could be hit at 2 am or 2 pm. You have a limited window to respond. If you do not, you simply lose. It actively takes advantage of sleep patterns. This is a problem. It is yet another reason people will not stay.

    It is also noteworthy to mention. If you started when the world opens, you will ALWAYS be ahead of people that do not start at the beginning. This is an game of accretion. Anyone starting early will have more opportunities and resources. Late joiners will likely not succeed. So, why bother?

    Likewise, as mentioned by others, this game has a real issue with its moderators. They are unpaid and also play this game. They can be quite petty. As such, they take action against those that have harmed them and seek out reasons to punish. Banishment is a viable option and rampant. You will receive NO warning. They do not care because they are the ones that banished you. Thus, the game is also a game of kissing tail in that you must stay on the good side of moderators or be punished for some transgression at a later time. Not to mention, their rules on shared connections. Even if you have different devices, they will claim entire areas cannot be shared and banish accordingly. At any given time, large numbers of players are under banishment proceedings. Oftentimes, the islands on this game are made up more of vacant spots than real players.

    These issues are real problems for this game. It is why very few people stay. They start, quickly realize this game is not very good, and they leave. If they stay, they will likely be banished at a later point.

    Overall. Cool concept. VERY poor delivery, application and administration. I give this game 2 of 10 ratings. I do NOT recommend it. It is a very poor choice.

    (1)
    • Riekert on May 10, 2014

      You can play grepolis and not use Gold

      (0)
      • Eric on September 29, 2014

        Yes, you can play and not use gold. However, gold use can be a great advantage in the game. This is especially important in slow worlds where some of the deepest pockets can have a large advantage. I played in En65 and En68 worlds and En65 was dominated by gold users, because of the world settings being so slow. En68 was better suited to the none gold playing person, but you are still at a disadvantage. If you are new to the game and are not introduced to the game by a veteran player good luck. It is very difficult to go far without someone teaching you the strategy of the game. Also, so many worlds have existing alliances from other worlds it makes it difficult to win. Plus, Grepo stats.com kills any strategy as it make it easy to know when you enemies or soon to be enemies are not online to stop attacks. This game is not a single player or lone wolf type game. You need alliance mates and ones that have played the game. I am thankful to several players that took the time to teach me the intricacies of the game.

        After all this is said, I did enjoy the game a lot, but had to stop playing as it takes a ton of time. It became very addicting and took away from real life time. En68 WW stage ended with the two biggest alliances merging and making a deal to win. Two biggest dogs did not want to fight it out. That really sucked and made WW stage fairly boring really quick.

        (0)
  34. Meh on April 1, 2013

    Have to agree about the crazy support staff.

    I asked to take over someone else’s account and after they told me I could do it, I got banned for “co-playing” because the other player came back before I could change the password.

    (1)
  35. nick on March 29, 2013

    the game is average and the support staff are crazy jobsworths

    (1)
  36. James Savik on August 27, 2012

    Looks good but its a terrible disappointment. As soon as you come out from under new user protection, you get swarmed by established players that want to farm you. Every time you get hit, you lose your entire army + resources so you can never build a defense. Just hit yourself in the head with a hammer. You’ll have more fun in the long run.

    (2)
    • OsirisOTS on September 2, 2012

      Oh how true this is, was farmed in tribal wars and evony (ragequit both times lmao) but in caesary i didnt get farmed and that was for the whole time i played it which was a little over a year. The only thing that helps u not being farmed is to A.) pick the newest server out and B.) if the game lets u pick a spot to start ur city/castle or w/e, always pick the region with the least amount of players. Simple reasoning says less players means less chance to get farmed when u come out of the protection and since u started on the newest server (hoping ppl actually took the time to look at the server list) means ull last longer although it doesnt mean ull be top dog lol

      (1)
  37. hans on July 15, 2014

    To play the game ad work with a lot of cities you definitely need to use the advisers. This cost you a considerable amount of money.

    As a paying customer you might expect a fair game. Player can (and do) buy almost unlimited benefits in the game.

    Winning the game is not a matter of strategy but is for the player who pays most.

    Not recommended

    (2)
    • bultaurus on August 5, 2014

      think, they are helping coiners and some of the moderators are helping members or play the game themselves. got ban for multi accounts or co-playing, since we declared shared connections with my 2 mates from common firm, right after I report a player for foul language. never occurred to me that this player can be a moderator but that’s quite possible. in that case the whole alliances can have advantage or disadvantage. it’s even worst if they are at war like in our case. never received proper answer for 5 days already, just empty talks. when asked for proofs, so called moderator stopped answering me.

      (1)
      • Lilith on August 21, 2014

        This is true. My daughter was given an account from a former alliance mate on Pi, he asked Grepo support if he could give the account away and he was informed on how he could. My daughter took the account, followed what the support team told her to do, changed password, email, and set up the shared connection cause I too played on that world. The other day a rival messaged her asking if she owned another account, she felt he was accusing her and she brought him out in the open about it. His last message to her was rude and unacceptable behavior towards a minor and violated InnoGames rules and regulations. She reported him, I had her sign out so I could sign in and messaged the player. He apologized to me for it then later that night while my daughter was playing, more attacks from that same alliance came in then both of our accounts were banned. The Moderator stated they feel that either I or her were multi accounting because they found we had the same passwords and would log in one after the other. I explained to them that I did not know she used my password, which is the same password to her school and email. The moderator was of no help so I asked to speak to someone else about it. I was not getting a reply in a timely manner so I went to the forums and sent a personal message to the Lead Moderator who later replied to my appeal ticket very rudely and threatened that if I submit another ticket that he would be forced to take further action. I was offered for the ban on the accounts to be switched so I could play instead of my daughter but the Lead Moderator said he would not do that and I would not be compensated for the money I spent on the game. All of what happened to us was reported to the international version of the Better Business Bureau and I am still waiting a response from them, it was also reported to InnoGames HR Department. I informed everyone that the accounts were listed as a shared connection, I also read and re-read their rules and regulations and nowhere does it state that a player has to wait so long before longing in after another player logged out, nor does is state that players cannot have the same password. The password policy is players cannot share passwords and I did not know my daughter would use her school password, nor did she know I had used that password either. Both the Moderators refused to believe me, they persisted that I was lying and treated me like pure garbage. I had been playing Grepolis for over a year and have been on several different servers and asked them, why would I only multi account on 1 server. They never answered that question. Well, upon the Lead Moderators reply, about him being forced to go further if I filed another ticket, I went ahead and filed another ticket to report him. He waved his powers of Moderator and had my account perma banned globally. I contacted HR again and went to InnoGames facebook and reported the incident to them. They claim to be looking in the matter but I doubt it. Do NOT play grepolis if you have to link a shared connection with someone.

        (1)
        • Daniel on August 23, 2014

          This is almost exactly what happened to me and my friend I got hooked up on the game, both of us spent lots of money and BAM, 5 weeks later I get a ban and asks why, gets accused for multi which I’ve never done in any game, and I explain the situation, that both of us are PAYING costumers who spent MONEY on the game, and none of us had violated ANY rules, all they did was referring to §1 and being rude like hell, making threats of perm bans etc.

          The Grepolis team is a bunch of thieves, and I advice EVERYONE to STAY AWAY from the game, it just isn’t worth it.

          (1)

Leave your review!