About the game:
Title: MechWarrior Online
Status: Released Graphics: 3D
Developer: Infinite Game Publishing
Publisher: Piranha Games

Explosive Features:

  • Impressive visuals powered by CryEngine 3.
  • Highly Customizable BattleMechs.
  • Impressive Combat Depth.

MechWarrior Online is a free to play 3D simulation style multiplayer FPS mech game that captures the feeling of piloting a gigantic BattleMech. Players take control of one of a variety of towering Mechs which weight dozens of tons. Players are able to choose from various mech weight classes, each with their own unique strengths and weaknesses. For example the heavier the mech, the more weapons and armor it can carry but the slower it moves and turns.

Outside of the PvP matches, players can purchase new BattleMech types and equip them with a dizzying amount of unique weapons and attachments. Players must choose a balance between armor and weapons since their is a finite amount of space and weight available for both the weapons and their accompanying ammo types.

Fans of slower simulation games will enjoy MechWarrior Online. The mechs move slowly and the FPS focuses heavily on team coordination and communication in order to achieve victory.

Featured Video

System requirements

MechWarrior Online Minimum System Requirements:
OS: Vista, Windows 7, 8 64-Bit
Processor: Intel Core i3-2500 — AMD Athlon II X4 650
Memory Ram: 4 GB
Hard Disk Space: 4 GB of free disk space
Video Card: Nvidia GeForce GTX 285 — AMD Radeon HD 5830

Read related news

Edit Game Report Problem

More Shooters Like This

36 User Reviews

Leave Your Review
  1. Hawken on August 8, 2013

    Hawken is muck better than this crap

  2. Achellies on September 20, 2013

    MechWarrior Online is a very shallow imitation of what the older PC MechWarrior games were there is very little content game modes or even Community warfare. I would rate it a 2 out of 10 as far as MechWarrior games go. Without private matches leagues and even savable mech configurations in mechlab its a play a few matches and forget you ever installed the game. Then there are so many bugs and crashes its a nightmare to stay playing its to bad it had real promise until the devs moved away from true a MechWarrior and made it a World Of Tanks Clone.

    • Neocron on September 23, 2013

      “””Without private matches leagues and even savable mech configurations in mechlab”””
      UMMMM there is and ummm there is….and
      YOU can Save mechs You have to Own them first…..Why not try and play it for more then 2 games and not just write a review about something you know little about

      But Your right its a bit buggy at times….
      BUT its not a WOT clone by far……..MWO is waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay better the WOT in options YOU obviously Didnt take the time to look at the cuxtomzation is Way larger then WOT…….

      please play it more before writing a bad review.

      • Andrew on August 30, 2015

        No there isn’t. he is not referring to thabiltiy to change your mech, he’s referring tot he ability to have 3 or 4 setup presets of one mech without having to either buy 3 or 4 mechs or manually change them every time you want to use a different setup.

        Private matches are premium only, which is no issue for me buy I compltely understand why it would be issue for some.

        • Andrew on August 30, 2015

          And the customisation being a lot bigger than WOT is exactly why its astounding that this game will not allow you to save different configurations.

  3. Shadooby on May 11, 2015

    It’s a really really good game that’s well made and well balanced. This is pretty much a fact.
    What’s objective is whether or not you will be into this kind of game.
    If games like War Thunder, World of Tanks, or STEEL BATALLION, or Armored Core have ever excited you, than you’ll probably love this game. If you’ve ever dreamed of stomping around in gigantic robots than this could be for you.
    The game is F2P and cash money has no real effect on gameplay. New content is released about every month or 2. Mech-building is fun and addictive. Teamwork has a real effect on the outcome of the game, but lone-wolfs can still turn a battle by themselves if they play well enough.
    I definitely would recommend this game.

    • A dissapointed founder on August 12, 2015

      I definitely would not reccommend this game.

      Pay mechs litter the meta play. there’s 3 game modes and buggy maps, hitboxes, servers.

      a horrible UI and New player experience.

      Matchmaker will throw your basic mech against fully upgraded vets all the time and the economy will leave you grinding for weeks to master anything.

      It’s an unfinished broken game surviving off addicted nerds stomping people into the ground with their wallets, ballance? I’ll never understand the heat on weapons, the ghost heat that’s arbitary values and then quirks that change stuff AGAIN! and the devs are always changng these values year after year invalidating your purchases and creating horrble metas to feul their lates $100 mech packs.

      It’s a stupid game stay away or play the much more fair and detaled older mechwarrior games.

  4. Marc on August 20, 2014

    For people saying it’s a simulator, JUST STOP ALREADY.. You can’t simulate what doesn’t exist.. A simulator imitates the reality, you can’t imitate something that doesn’t exist.

    • Wolfe on September 12, 2014

      Wrong. I’m working for a industrial technologies company, where simulation IS part of testing design hypotheses BEFORE they construct the real thing. Mind you, hypotheses. As in UNPROVEN THEORIES. Testing non-existing things before they roll out of the factory.

      Good game for an FP2, no pay-to-win. People might say “don’t be an idiot, buy Clan mechs and it’s P2W.” I’d say no, it’s just you lacking skills. Anyway, with the recent changes (PGI buying out the game from IGP), the community’s hoping for a better future in this game. We’ll see… If not, then, we can kiss MWO good bye.

  5. iBLade on July 9, 2013

    Why this game when hawken is available?

    • danny on July 26, 2013

      because this game is totally different… Hawken FPS (only with robots), MW – “simulator”

  6. MrLoLMan on April 15, 2013

    You need patience to play this game as unlike hawken, Mechwarrior is geared more towards a simulator than an FPS. It starts off slow and it takes awhile till you can buy your first mech, but it really picks up after that. So far it’s not pay to win in any way and holds a lot of promise. Community is also nice if you ever get on the forums.

    • Marc on August 20, 2014

      What’s it simulating genius? The battlemechs the army’s been hiding? Not pay to win? Really? Might want to check that

      I’ve played ALL prior incarnations of Mechwarrior, and this one is an abomination. Need patience… No, you need to overlook half the game physics and the pay to win/look cool..

  7. Dagamed on March 2, 2013

    Takes forever to even get ok gear but gets fun after a little after that

  8. Krutejbalvan on November 15, 2015

    Hi all…about MWO….its hard to review this game…it is using good engine, in a wrong way..i was not playing it for a long time, but i was kinda adiccted to it before years…but it was really testing my cpu, with look like much older games..i will play it again maybe, because i am curious if they optimized it..if you compare it with hawken…it was worse graphics with higher requirements…but hawken held me only for few hours…mechwarrior for weeks…hawken is more like unreal tournament, and MWo is more like World of must be tactical player to stay on battlefield….so gameplay is awesome, challenging, and offers you a hours of fun…but there is everywhere the same problems like with graphics…some bugs, and not really easy system of mech loadout….you can buy your weapons, put them on…but first will make it just bad like me…i ruined lot of game money for crap mechs which are not usefull to battle….you will find first grey hair on your head before you will learn ho to ballance it…weapons are heating your mech, what will leave you turned off in the middle of fight. so you need to ballance how much heating sings, how much weapons, how much armor, and what engine you will use….this combination can lead to slowest mech ever, or something what can shoot only once before overheat….or just crapy weak mech…i builded few mechs before i did one just good, but it was not better than mech you can choose from offered mechs…so….if there is a plenty of working mechs you dont even need to make yourself new one…also controls was not easy to handle from start, you will fire all your weapons in one time, you can make changes, but i was freaking from that…it was not so intuitive as it could be….i hope they changed the lot, but i am not sure…i will see after i install again….also they had the sam eproblem like Tribes ascend….start with nice good maps, and after that they was adding only crap maps, stupid and ugly…exactly like Tribes ascend…so after months of play i just tried another game, and never came back to it….my fps problems was maybe only my problem, because i found that i had not turned second core in system, but still i was playing better games on full details, and this one was hard to play even on low…so this game is not bad, it was a fresh air to freeplay multiplayer games for me, like a promise of golden age, and really,..after this game warthunder comes..but the biggest problem of free to play games are their developers..they will never hold on working version, and still remade somethink working instead of hunting bugs…thats the reason i never bought some platinum acount for any game i like..because all games i liked are different today..even tribes, even warthunder, even Lol, Dota 2, and all of that games which was awesome at start…At MWO they just added new mechs, but my cpu was still freezing, my mech was stopping by any stupid little object, and on some maps textures was just melting down to weird black look…so it was like if you were on best fun race ever with broken car… i could enjoy it but never be good at it…after i test it again i wil make new review for it, because this game deserves attention, ( or deserved, it is old now:-)) but it deserved even lot of work….if you are looking for neverending multiplayer fun, with surprize in every update, just buy yourself Rust….i am kinda veteran of multiplayer gaming, i played everything good you can find on mmobomb, and more, (without mmorpg, i played them when i was younger, then it became to be the same around and around…)..i played even roboraft a lot, and tried absulutely everythink..soem games here will not even start, you will install them, and them some bug let you be unable to start it…like gunz2, which i could not play…and more…some game will make you happy, like warthunder, and after months it will be ruined by update, fps drops, graphic changes, whole system remade, and more…free to play gaming is good way to have fun when you cant find good game on sale on steam..but if you can..just do it, spend few euros and buy yourself somethink finished, somethink that will not change, and enjoy it…or buy rust, which is changing in good ways, and have so much servers, so you can find yourself a server with features you like…if you will spend your time on games like this, you will miss the gold for copper…best Free2play was deffinitelly Warthunder, and it is weirder and weider by the time, world of tanks is loosing gamers too…warships?? no way…tribes ascend …was one of best too…and now? weird…so i bet this game is only weirder too…robocraft?? they made a moba from it….not really bad choice, but still..weird…all games i loved became weird…i bought CS:go..and it is weird, not so good as cs 1.6…Loadout was pretty funny game, but it is only stupid shooter..survarium looks awesome but still nor so good, and..little weird…heroes and generals?? good..weird….i spend 1 euro for Battlefield 3..and it is really not weird..its fucking awesome…so we should stop be weird, and sometimes just spent some money for really tested finished games, which are awesome, and stop crying for bugs at free games…All games here, even MWo can offer you hours of fun, but you will pay for it with your patience…

  9. Nobody on October 19, 2015

    MWO is utter trash

  10. Yuzu on October 18, 2014

    HAWKEN is much better than this game,in my opinoin.
    But it takes long time to get new weapons and mechs though.

  11. Corvin on October 4, 2013

    Fantastic game. Definitely not pay to win. Tough learning curve. Thinking mans shooter.

    It’s free to try. 60 bucks will take you quite far. Wait for sales if your short on cash.

    Super fun when you start getting into better optimized mechs and gear.

  12. jay dee teeaychohemmayess on September 2, 2013

    Good game, pretty true to the old school MechWarrior franchise. There is a bit of a learning curve, and some room for improvement, but for a free game, NOT PAY TO WIN, this is a solid effort and a worthwhile time sink.

  13. maen on July 31, 2013

    how to download this game? help me guys plss iwant to play this game..

  14. maen on July 31, 2013

    how to download mech? help me plss ..? i want to play this game..

  15. Neocron on May 30, 2013

    The Customer support for this game is non-existent , they the game and nothing works crashes to desktop constantly, and their community managers are just @ssholes….Shame I love this game. But with all the crashes and non-fixing of….and their community teams are just incompetent….Looking at you staff moderator DESTINED

  16. ADDERGOOLE on May 12, 2013

    Hey people of MWO… just insatlling game files and gonna try it out.
    Haven’t fired a C5 mech in a long time…

  17. ugurano on May 11, 2013

    not pay to win good game

  18. Quinid on April 20, 2013

    If you have never played a Mechwarrior on PC before, you probably wont get it. It’s a simulator. They are giant robots and guess what, 90 tons of metal takes a bit of time to get up to speed or turn. It’s a very fun game, atleast was. Initially they were trying to keep a balance between the same old Mechwarrior simulator and the BattleTech board game rules. The developer has begun to make changes to gear toward the general public to give it a more arcade feel alienating the diehard Mechwarrior and BattleTech players. As someone playing Mechwarrior since Mecharrior II for DOS that came free with my father’s PC purchase, I prefer the simulator feel. I admit, I do not like the changes, but what are ya gonna do.

    • Salsa on November 28, 2013

      10-100 ton Mechs. 😀

  19. PcPro on April 9, 2013

    Try Hawken it looks like this.. just better.

    • Riri on May 5, 2013

      Hawken is an FPS game with fast-paced low curve learning action type sort of thing, even if it has something similar to mechwarrior as in the robots I don’t think its wise comparing both since hawken has no simulation feel at all, its just a typical fps shooter like any other,just fitted with robots and stuff, so both games are totally different.

  20. Mech on January 23, 2013


  21. Grassturtle on January 21, 2015

    I have played both Battletech and Mechwarrior … Mechwarrior online is nothing like the mechwarrior series … Battletech is the pvp setting for Mechwarrior … Mechwarrior is the RPG setting …
    I have many hours of play with MWO … If you like WoT … you will like MWO … If you do not like WoT … you will not like MWO … You can get some fairly good mechs without paying any money … However if you want the top of the line stuff … you will have to pay money …

    It is partially about skill / partially about the amount of money you spend … and mostly about whether or not you have good clan mates …

    good luck … I dont play this dissapointment any more … if they make it like Mechwarrior is supposed to be … then I would play in a heart beat …

  22. Smithson on September 23, 2013

    Great Game. Completely free to try & play. Everything in game can be bought for the grind, cash just helps speed it up.

    Oh, and a bunch of angry trolls & goon squad guys from Eve that are trying to crash the party.

    Try it for yourself. Definitely worth the free download. Gameplay is amazing, and content coming in looks very exciting.

  23. Cassivellaunus on December 8, 2013

    The thing is, it’s just a shooter. You get a mech and go fight other mechs. The MechWarrior universe has a great story behind it. I don’t see any of that incorporated into this game. It could have been a great game but instead it’s just a time killer and I can do that grinding in STO.

  24. Moobin on November 11, 2013

    Really a waste of time this game. im not a troll nor am i going to sit here telling you not to play it. it is free it does have a MC shop. The server is in canada only if your Eu or East europe inc russia forget playing it your will lag out bad you go through USA and then into Canada on the backbone routers. If you like lag in your games then this is for you.

    • Judge on November 16, 2013

      It seems you have a bad internet….
      I’ve got loads of friends who play and no one had that much lag problems…
      Game is long awaited child of older Mechwarrior games, Devs do tend to make mistakes more than often, but still it gave us some awesome gameplay time…

  25. Codejack on January 29, 2013

    I’ve had root canals that were more fun than this game.


Leave your review!