second life (6)

second life (5)

second life (4)

second life (3)

second life (2)

second life (1)

PLAY NOW

About the game:
Title: Second Life
Status: Released Graphics: 3D
Genre: Social
Developer: Linden Labs
Publisher: Linden Labs

Explosive Features:

  • Vast Game World
  • Immense Playerbase
  • Extreme Customization

Second Life is one of the most famous, if not the most famous free online virtual world games ever created. From the moment you step into the world designed by Linden Lab, you’ll find a place where there are opportunities to do everything you want to. Meet new people, entertain yourself, explore the vast world, participate in several activities, find or create a job and trade virtual items and services with the other residents. Second Life is aimed at players above eighteen, since there is a lot of freedom.

Since launching in 2003, Second Life has seen its population grow explosively and reach over 20 million registered accounts as of 2011. A huge number of real-life franchises have locations in the game, and some events have a strong connection with our everyday life.

There is a deep customization system so that no avatar looks the same, and the world is constantly evolving, always full of life thanks to the immense player base that inhabits it. The Second Life marketplace moves millions of dollars monthly, with a lot of players making a living out of Linden dollars, that can be converted to US dollars.

Featured Video

System requirements

Second Life Minimum System Requirements:
OS: Windows XP / 2000 / Vista / 7
Processor: P3 800 MHz
Memory Ram: 512MB
Hard Disk Space: At least 900MB of free Space
Video Card: Nvidia 6600+ / ATI Radeon 9250+

Read related news

Edit Game Report Problem

52 User Reviews

Leave Your Review
  1. xTheLostKINGx on May 6, 2011

    Nice Game
    But it is hard for newbies to learn everything in it fast
    I would appreciate seeing tutorials here for this game :)

    (1)
    • Errick Jupiter on June 14, 2014

      There are tons of tutorials on YouTube .. .and many welcome centers all over SL.
      The best thing to remember is: NOT everyone loves you to start with … so …
      Keep your ears open – mouth shut .. .and .. only ask intelligent questions.
      (& look out for griefers)

      (1)
  2. Shu on March 17, 2011

    I been on SL for 5 years and love it!! Have lots friends in SL as for RL worlds. xD creative, build, own store, and so many thing is awesome. Right now I am doing my own studio artist since, I love doing art works for peoples. o/ Not hurt to try this trust me, hehe. Yes, you can have gf or bf in sl ever in rl too if meet. I have 2 friends who met on SL end up met in RL and got marrieds. Can be anything!! Best of luck, *hugs*

    (0)
  3. HYPER Stevie on March 19, 2011

    In second life you can meet people and hang out and more! But theres more too it then that u can be anything u want to be in sl! they have ANIME AVATARS,ANIMAL AVATARS,MONSTER AVATARS, RAVER AVATARS AND MORE! They have all types of places of all things u can think off! u can shoot ,fight, fly have Powers and more!

    They have Clubs with real music and live music! They have movie base places and anime worlds! You can even Make items and skins and avatars or clothing and more! what ever items u make in sl u can sell for money! so u can earn money for selling items u make!

    THE MONEY U MAKE IN SL ISNT JUST TO BUY COOL ITEMS! IF U HAVE A STORE IN SL AND SELL ITEMS AND MAKE LOTS OF MONEY U CAN PUT THE MONEY IN YOUR BANK ACCOUNT! SO U CAN EARN REAL MONEY!

    YOU CAN MAKE MONEY FOR DOING WHAT U LIKE! ITS COOL TO MAKE MONEY WHEN U CREATE ITEMS OR OWN ANY TYPE OF BUSINESS IN SL !

    (0)
    • Mike on January 21, 2012

      I use to love it but WHAT THE HELL HAPPENED ?! Graphics suck…the music shuts off. I signed up fall of 2010 and everything was seamless. Then 3 months later problems? I researched it and two items came up: Graphics card was one and the other was Linden Labs was developing a newer version of its viewer. Today I learn that top management left 12-18 months ago and “not-for-profits” ie. educatioal institutions left because they had to pay higher fees?! AND …some marketing whiz decided to allow a person’s AVATARS to move from other virtual worlds to SL and back without changing. They may have just moved off. Loss of revenue means loss of servers means PROBLEMS. Clouds on the horizon!

      (0)
  4. N8(Evolution) on May 13, 2011

    Ive never played,But does this game come up in Window?

    (0)
  5. themannliche on May 22, 2011

    if u wanna blow tons of money this is ur game lmao i been on sl 5 yrs

    (0)
    • Tori on December 15, 2013

      yes, to do anything fun in this game you have to use real money, i played for a year and i quit. i just don’t have that kind of cash just laying around …

      (0)
      • Maddi on March 13, 2014

        I’ve done tons of fun stuff on SL and have never used real cash for anything, there are far too many easy ways to make Linden and turn around and spend it, but really the only thing that costs is buying stuff for your avatar, going around and doing stuff is free o.O

        (0)
        • Fran on April 3, 2014

          Same here. I have never spent a single penny into Second Life, but I make plenty of money in return, because I make and sell things. Of course, it definitely helps to have friends who can help you out. I started selling things only because a friend offered me a free shop space in their mall. XD
          SL is where I have met most of my closest friends. I just can’t meet people in other online games who I end up bonding with as well as in SL, because people in MMOs rush all the time and aren’t as interested in friendship, I guess.

          (0)
          • Nathan on July 19, 2014

            Not true, there’s a game called spiral knights that’s extremely friendly. At the beginning it’s kinda rough, but you make more friends as you go along and thats what keeps most of the players playing.

            (0)
  6. Critic on May 25, 2011

    Never, have I ever decided to see what is with all the hub bub, of any Virtual Social World game. I play all kinds off MMO’s from RPG’s to FPS’s to Browser RPG’s, and FPS’s. From pay to play MMO’s to free to play MMO’s, for many years. I BETA tested just about every MMORPG/FPS out their. It never once crossed my mind of Social games. Doesn’t these Virtual Worlds get boring after awhile?

    Me and the ole been togeather for 10+ years now. I moved to the state she lived in her whole life for about that time, and all my friends are still left behind in my old state that I lived in, We been thinking about a Social game like this for some time, to meet new friends my and my ole ladies age, All’s her and I do is work sleep, work sleep.

    Are these Social game more like a singles mingle? If not, is second Life the “IT” game to jump in to meet some friends? I know their are a few of these games, like Socialtrain, red Light center, and untropia universe, to name a few. Is SL the best out of the others?

    (0)
  7. CraZyKiDzzz on August 2, 2011

    Tried It and Hated It Laggy Boring And Takes Forever To load I Say Its A Really Bad Game H8 It

    (0)
  8. TheUnion on August 30, 2011

    SL is without competition in a number of aspects, & it is laggy if your computer is not set up for gaming….but what games will allow an ‘intel graphics chipset’ to play any online MMORPG? Probably not many…maybe tetris..or pac-man plus…
    SL is what the people have created it to be. It can be anything you want. If you enter with an “i hate it already’ attitude cause the first thing you see is someone who looks 10 times cooler & badder than your default avatar, then you probably hate it. However, you can either decide at the point of entry: do i want to log off & say i hate that game, do i want to do all I can to look that that guy/girl & starting getting into the game, or do i want to make that guy/girl look like a scrub & start figuring out how things work so it can happen….
    I too was at the delima at one point in time & I chose the last of the mentioned options. Few ‘games’ online offer the individual the ability to get rich if they put their minds to it. Second Life is filled with opportunity & it can be miserable if that is what you are looking for, or it can be a poweful & adventure filled event that can pretty much shock you on a daily basis with the ability to do about anything you ever dreamed of doing in an online game.
    I would suggest this MMORPG to anyone who has an open mind & is looking for the worlds biggest & best online free roam MMORPG that has NO LIMITS….
    With anything in life, know your own limits & these stories about losing all you own to SL or some other game is a choice you make as an idividual. Anything in excess can be damaging. The only way I could see losing everything would be if you lost your account & all creations in it. Few games have an economy of 60Million Plus a year in the creations sold/built by the players, & If i am going to get to pick between playing GTA for 50 hours & maybe solving a mission some guy made up somewhere, that really many others have solved before me, or playing 50 hours at a game that I can learn things from & might possibly even come up with a million dollar idea that turns into a ‘have to have’ item for all the other players; you can probably tell which one I would choose. I am not into ‘wasting time’ in my life & unless my activities can not somehow increase my real life, then I am not much interested. I have learned a ton of stuff in SL from 3D modeling, teture mapping, scipting codes, & even world culture. I would suggest this game to anyone looking for something more than what 99.9% of online MMORPGs can offer a person, but as the reviews show proof, results will vary & it will be exactly what you make it. (in more than one way).
    *any spelling error is intentional as i do not care. thank you.

    (0)
  9. KillerX on September 8, 2011

    Stupid game, and a waste of money get a real life instead of a second one -_-

    (0)
  10. Chantel Hammer on April 2, 2012

    Second Life is for people who can not get a partner in real life, let it be because they are insecure, or just too ugly to find a partner in real life. I mean really, having cybersex with an animated man/women. Really, what are these low life people thinking. Oh yea, I would rather use my hand then be with someone in real life. Like Jeannie Burke from Louisiana. She get into Second Life. It is a joke, the people are not real lol

    (0)
    • Glanecia Varriale on April 6, 2013

      I agree that a lot of people use Second Life for cybersex, but I’d like to say that’s not what brought me to Second Life (I’m happily married and with real life friends too, ty very much lol). I was listening to Live Ireland (a radio station broadcasting from Ireland) and they advertised their sim with live DJs. I was really interested, so I logged on and was completely hooked on the idea of being able to talk to the DJ, request songs, and hang out in a place totally Irish themed. Then, what kept me there, was discovering that Second Life is filled with role play sims (and not necessarily for cybersex lol – in fact on many sims, you’d get banned for doing that). I was (and still am) into Harry Potter and Wheel of Time (Robert Jordan). I spent hours on SL after discovering the sims there with those themes (and of course joined the role play — Mischeif Managed is the latest HP sim there, and the Hogwarts Express, Hogwarts itself, the entire sim is completely beautiful). After a while, I decided I’d like to try my hand at DJing. My friends (yes online friends) and I started a club, I learned how to use the software (SAM) for DJing, and I started making money on tips — which is a good thing considering how much I want to buy on Second Life — there are some great designers on SL — and a lot of crappy ones too lol …. what else, I also really enjoy the breedable animals — basically because they’re cute and adorable and I’m a girl who likes that sort of thing … PLUS … after my cats, horses, meeroos, bunnies, etc mate and have a baby … I can sell them too …. and if you didn’t know, you can take the money you earn in SL and transfer it into real money. One more bit of info about SL, and this may not be of interest to many people …. but they have tons of religious sims. I’m the first to admit that I love it when Atheists and Christians get into a debate … not to mention the Wiccans, Satanists, Buddhists, etc … the most popular Christian sim there is House of Prayer …. they think I’m a troll …. I’m not …. honest … mostly honest …. but it’s fascinating visiting their sim … they have worship service, bible study, etc … and a pastoral staff … they’re quite serious about saving souls for Jesus …. so if you’re into watching that sort of thing, I think you’d love it.

      (0)
  11. ILL Nick on April 8, 2012

    i prefer MY FIRST LIFE…NLP GUYS

    (0)
  12. Kate J on September 1, 2012

    I try it, it’s really boring and just confusing, Who ever paid for these virtual world game doesn’t really have a real life. Better to stick with reality than a fake one!

    (0)
  13. jazzy on September 2, 2012

    is it weird if my mom plays this game XD

    (0)
    • Fly on April 4, 2013

      VERY! I hope u don’t play or you might accidentally hook up with her…blurrr weird!!!

      (0)
  14. Gonzo B on September 3, 2012

    not my cup of tea. you might like it but buggy graphics and lack of online players turned me away from this somewhat promising title. and i can say i tried SL

    (0)
  15. thesimp on October 22, 2012

    Terrible game, try Vside instead.

    (0)
  16. darkspartan665 on November 2, 2012

    Why do people play these kind of games, is it for people that failed in the first life or something?!

    (0)
  17. vikutaa on December 17, 2012

    this game sucks, really. first of all, the object in the game just take so long to load. worst social game i ever played. player so less,no1 to chat to meet. god dam. felt like a ghost running around doing nothing. close-uninstall hpm :D

    (0)
  18. Nickmbb on January 15, 2013

    First of all SL is not a game – it is a simulation. Everything you see is made by other accounts – Linden Labs only make the land-water and air and they give you the tools to be able to make almost any 3D object you can imagine. If you are expecting to make a character and level them, this isn’t what happens (although player made games within the simulation can achieve leveling if thats what you want to do).

    Secondly – SL is EXTEMELY adult. I would not have my 12 year old – or even my 16 year old – partake in SL. Linden Labs gives eveyone the tools to flag their areas as adult preventing underaged accounts – but their are may ways around this.

    Third – inn SL you can make a lot of real life money. I use to pull in about $400 US bucks a month selling avatar tatoos. Other make a lot more with land sales. Its what you put into the simulation with your creativity where the rewards come from. SL is an artist dream when it comes to making amazing 3D designs. The tools are very easy to understand – and if you get stuck you can search for the very many player made TUTORIALS to learn.

    (0)
  19. Doktor Wirefly on January 27, 2013

    After reading the above reviews I decided there is a need here for some inteligent and positive input so with that in mind the first thing I would like to point ot is that you need a (way above average) computer and internet connection to run SecondLife if you want a high quality experience. They both will put you back a pretty penny. Secondly. Allthough it is free to open an account and enter the virtual word. If you want to own or rent land and look awesome, then you will need to invest more money. Land in Seconlife is very expensive to buy or rent. Objects like property, clothes, avatar accessories and general items will very in price and not allways reflect quality. Assumeing you are comfortable with all the above and you want to explore SeconLife. The first problem you will have will be finding your way around the viewer controls. There are a lot of controls and settings to master and just to get used to the basics is going to take weeks or even months of your time. There are 2 kinds of viewers mostly in use at the moment. They are generally refered to as version 1 and version 2. The default Lindon Labs viewer is a version 2 viewer and heavier on computer resources than version 1. There are a few third party viewers to be had but they all have the same problem when it comes to learning your way around the controls and settings. There seems to be some confusion about wether Secondlife is a game or not? I would say that primarily it is not a game as it has more in common with a social network than a game. You can however take part in RPG’s and other games like Greedy and slot machines that you will find dotted about on the sims. Every single avatar has a real person sat at the controls with home you may interact with directly just as in real life so from that point of view it is not a game either. I could go on for ever about the details of Secondlife but I think you will find that most of what I have said is not only true but also critical. I have had a couple of accounts (avatars) for about 5 years so I hope I have some idea of what it is about.

    (0)
    • Glanecia Varriale on April 6, 2013

      I agree with just about everything you said … but wanted to add that if you know someone who knows which stores have the best Lucky Boards (free outfits … like at Delirium) … and someone who can hook you up with some GOOD freebies … and if you visit a few clubs and win some L (some places, all you have to do is wear the right tag and you’ll win random L) … then you could manage to rent a small bit of space, and look good without spending any real life money … but if you’re new to SL … you’re not gonna know that.

      (0)
  20. gamesisboss on January 27, 2013

    i dont want to download this game im realy scary from the ppl say:stupid game

    (0)
  21. Bender Ender on April 21, 2013

    All I can say, is read all of these reviews and decide for yourself if it is the type of experience for you. Also you will want to browse YouTube for player made videos. The official videos show dated, default character models and objects. I have had an account for over 6 1/2 years, and I can say that it is not a game, and it is not for everyone. It can be moving, shocking, inspirational, Fun, agrovating, educational, heartbreaking, elating and powerful. Just like your first life, It’s what you make it.

    (0)
  22. K9 on May 9, 2013

    I love the idea of SL. I love how you can practically do anything without limits. However, the graphics arent as good as they could be and the server always crashes. The people on there don’t seem to be friendly towards new people either which seems a bit odd as they were also new once..

    (0)
    • Kurenai Jun on May 11, 2013

      Those ‚people’ are most likely regular users who are stucked in the game too long, and forgetting that they are still newbies every time they log in. You have these types of users in every game. for example, the screaming choirboys on their xbox headsets while you play a shootergame, the annoying 12 year old in your party doing instances and claiming he has played the game since beta, or in real life, the all-knowing-intelligent but not smart classmate who drowns you, your classmates and himself in the sh*tload of bullcr*p useless information and facts he or she likes to share.

      More motivating i would say is to use the search option and find places where you want to be instead of being engulfed with the bad aura that radiates from these ‚regulars’

      (0)
  23. Kurenai Jun on May 11, 2013

    DOWNLOAD AND PLAY THIS GAME IF YOU ARE
    A) Curious why idiotic people play this game and state it is not a game
    B) Curious to see people who fail in socializing in the real life but act as a big shot online
    C) Perverted, mentally ill, disturbed, socially handicapped in real life or etc

    Other than that, perhaps this

    D) In need to understand the mentality of how people are in a business (commerce, estates, sales, money etc)
    E) In need to extend your network of artistic expression (Photography, Video and 3D Modelling) by a bit.
    F) In need to have a visualisation of a meeting in real life and applying it online.
    G) Curious to try out something a little bit limited and at the same time expanding then your usual MMO

    I love this game and i hate it. Do not try to correct me that this is not a game. It is a game. It is entertaining and sometimes educational at the same time. You see I’m using my in-world name with last name.
    Perhaps for new users this type of game is not the right game you expect it to be, or maybe it is.
    The tip i would give to new users is: Do not read the reviews or comments on different forums of people stating that this is a virtual world rather then a game. That info doesn’t work out well because they are not helping you as a new user out and rather drown in their own pride of disability ending up that you probably still don’t understand what the game is about. As matter of fact, there is no need to read even my advises written above.

    just download the game (program or how they like to call, viewer) and look for yourself what you think of it.

    (0)
  24. Reych on June 9, 2013

    Hmmmm ?

    (0)
  25. Assunta Draggoo on July 25, 2013

    Vertel me alsjeblieft dat je gaat dit houden! Het is zo uitstekend en zo belangrijk. Ik kan niet wachten om te lezen extra van je. Ik heb gewoon het gevoel dat je zo wezenlijk kennen en weten hoe je mensen luisteren naar wat je hebt te zeggen. Deze blog is gewoon te cool om te worden gemist. Geweldig spul, serieus. Alsjeblieft, alsjeblieft ga zo door!

    (0)
  26. Angel on July 30, 2013

    nice game love it

    (0)
  27. ugurano on August 3, 2013

    Pedo game

    (0)
  28. Lady Lenzie on August 4, 2013

    Well can anyone give me any tips on this game? Im new to SL and i need/want tips. (Help) I hear good things and bad things about it

    (0)
  29. Freak on August 4, 2013

    @Lady Lenzie, Cant help ya. Im a newbie too. :/

    (0)
  30. Lady Lenzie on August 4, 2013

    So far its activating my account and taking forever!

    (0)
  31. Prince on August 24, 2013

    Is Second Life like the Second Life in 1/2 Prince or Royal Road in LMS at all?

    (0)
  32. fasf on August 30, 2013

    gruesome game

    (0)
  33. Photoliv on December 4, 2013

    Lady Lenzie, I have played SL for over 6 yrs. If you’re able to log in, contact me in-world & I’d be happy to help you when I’m online. My SL name is Spritelee Resident. I used to own both a photography business and an image consulting business, so maybe I can help you.

    (0)
    • Gabbagool on December 4, 2013

      Photo….Your full of shit. Having the last name “Resident” tells me you’ve been on SL for less than 2 years…

      (0)
  34. Wandy on December 22, 2013

    I found there was too much drama there…..
    If you avoid it, it chases you!
    I liked to build and make clothing, small items just for the fun of it, but I was hounded by someone merely for talking to her ‘partner’…. banned from large areas… it was insane!
    There are too many emotional retards in there…. no, not all of you.
    But it is not the place to get yourself immersed in.
    I still go now and again to explore, build and listen to music, but rarely interact with anyone.
    I have 4 friends on my list now after over 6 years there in total.
    My real life is just fine and I don’t need a substitute.
    Having said that, this is down to the people and not the virtual world which is pretty cool.
    If you can avoid the people, you can enjoy it there!

    (0)
  35. what on January 6, 2014

    must you be a girl

    (0)
  36. ..wtf on January 10, 2014

    This game is 50000 Gb

    WHAT THE F***

    I MEAN REALLY it takes 50 bandwidth per month…someone said it hes folder is 900Gb and hes runing out of space…. while playing..

    damm this cache bandwidth sucking game!!

    ONLY RICH PEEPS CAN PLAY THIS GAME

    (0)
  37. Jumpman Lane on January 14, 2014

    Im famous or infamous in Second Life. I nearly drove a pervert sex bed maker (Stroker Serpentine) to a messy suicide in real life. My lawyers suggested I lay low for a time. Im coming back though…SOON! Hehehehe

    (0)
  38. khatlyn on February 26, 2014

    ah

    (0)
  39. Fran on April 3, 2014

    This is by far the most advanced metaverse in existence. If you’re looking for a game where you can make friends easily, play dress up, or start a business(game artist, real estate, etc), this is it.

    It started off simple, and has grown so much since the first release, adding many new things like rigged mesh uploading support, bump-mapping, and other advanced graphics options for creators to make much nicer-looking clothes and stuff.
    Back when SL first started, you would see really ugly stuff, but now, you can find things that are on par to realistic video game cutscene models’ quality.

    There’s countless communities within SL, so it doesn’t matter what you are into, you will likely find others who feel the same. Like anime? Video games? There’s growing communities specifically for fans of that, and avatars created in those graphic styles(great if you don’t like the realistic human avatars). Want to be an animal? A ghost? A titan? A tree? There are avatars of those too.
    Pretty much everything you can think of exists, and what doesn’t, you can easily create yourself.

    Gestures may be one of my favorite things in SL. You can upload sound clips, animations, text, and combine them to trigger upon a keyword or command, and share them with friends.
    You could fart rainbows if you wanted to.

    (0)
  40. Lilly65 on April 27, 2014

    Its still downloading but im so excited..and i know its fun LOL :)

    (0)
  41. eythan on May 13, 2014

    that “game” is recommended for designers, musicians, djs, art lovers, smart people, drama people, adults, role players etc. Its a 3d editor, chat room, user created, has events, schools, environments, you can create your personal place, has many free items, u can meet people easy…

    (0)
1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars

Leave your review!

Notify me of followup comments via e-mail. You can also subscribe without commenting.