Star Trek Online (1)

Star Trek Online (4)

Star Trek Online (3)

Star Trek Online (2)

PLAY NOW

About the game:
Title: Star Trek Online
Status: Released Graphics: 3D
Genre: MMORPG
Developer: Cryptic Studios
Publisher: Perfect World Entertainment

Explosive Features:

  • Based on the popular Star Trek series
  • Space and ground combat
  • Great Customization

Star Trek Online (STO) is a free to play 3D Sci-Fi MMORPG based on the popular Star Trek series. In this massively multiplayer online game from Cryptic Studios, players can pioneer their own destiny as Captain of a Federation starship or they can become a Klingon Warlord and expand the Empire to the far reaches of the galaxy. Journey to strange new worlds, create brand new missions and take part in epic ground and space missions.

Players will have the opportunity to visit iconic locations from the popular Star Trek fiction (Starfleet Academy, Deep Space Nine, The First City of Qo’noS and more), reach out to unexplored star systems, and make contact with new alien species. Players can also design and create their own content to share with their friends and the entire Star Trek Online community using The Foundry toolset.

Featured Video

System requirements

Star Trek Online Minimum System Requirements:
OS: Windows XP, Vista, 7, or 8
Processor: Intel dual-core 1.8 GHz or AMD Athlon X2 + 3800
Memory Ram: 1GB
Hard Disk Space: At least 10GB of free Space
Video Card: ATI Radeon X1800 or NVIDIA GeForce 7950

Read related news

Edit Game Report Problem

More MMORPGs Like This

22 User Reviews

Leave Your Review
  1. Ghost on February 2, 2012

    Downloaded a few days ago when I heard it was f2p, and I gotta say so far this is the best MMO I’ve ever played, although I might be a little biased as a Trekkie. You can pilot your ship around in space, or beam down and control your character on land. The land part is pretty much like any other MMO you run around, shoot people, examine things, collect items, etc. The space part is quite awesome, you can take your ship all over the galaxy exploring, or battling; (think “Encounters”, only better). PVP is pretty amazing too, a standard ground-based tdm type game as well as ship battles in space. Community events all the time, although they can get a bit repetitive. Leveling system and interface is nice. All in all it’s amazing, and I’m thinking about paying for a lifetime membership now that I’ve experienced it.

    (0)
    • Hawk on January 13, 2013

      Obviously you didn’t play STO for the fact that its PvP sucks balls. and btw, EVE Online is the best /space/ MMO out there on earth.

      I give STO about a 9.5/10 on my personal choice list, this is coming from a dude who generally dislikes star trek. THis game is fun and so awesome once you hit Commander and above. My one major issue of the game is the fact that it’s way too damn easy to hit the level cap of 50, c’mon cryptic RAISE THE CAP TO LIKE IDK! 100 OR SOMETHING, and also do something to attract a lot more NEW players like f2p ones because like everyone is max lvl, it doesn’t make pvp exciting when EVERY BODY is all equal…

      (-3)
      • Really? on October 12, 2014

        “it doesn’t make pvp exciting when EVERY BODY is all equal…”

        Yeah cause who wants to win in a fair fight? Obviously you got your azz kicked more times than you care to count in PvP (If you even made it to level 50), because while it’s fairly easy to make level 50, you also have 5 different reputation lines to invest in, are able to max each one of them, and each tier in each rep line unlocks not only new equipment for your ship and crew, but also passive abilities for both ground and space combat. Not to mention they are about to release their second expansion, FREE OF CHARGE, which raises the level cap to 60, opens up the Delta Quadrant, and offers new races and new rep lines. Not bad for a F2P.

        BTW, EVE Online, while a great game, is still a P2P, and even if you choose something safe, like mining in hisec space, you still run the risk of having your ship legally destroyed by douchelords who do nothing but hunt ‘grass eaters’

        (1)
  2. anatema on March 25, 2013

    # 1 BUG: Fabricate Prototype Console from Alien Artifact
    03-25-2012, 03:18 PM

    Response Customer Support via Email

    03/25/2013 11:36 AM

    Hello,

    Based on the information you’ve provided your issue may be
    the result of a currently unknown game play bug. While we understand
    you would like us to be able to resolve your issue quickly, some issues
    require further development from departments outside our control and
    cannot be resolved by a GM.

    With that said, we would like to
    encourage you to submit a Bug Report, with your findings, directly to
    our QA team. This may be done by selecting ‘Bug Report’ from the list of
    available help options. Do note that Bug Reports are reviewed by
    members of the QA team, however you will not be able to edit or view any
    reported bugs. Additionally, Bug Reports do not receive personalized
    responses.

    Please rest assured that our developers work to resolve all bugs as quickly as possible.

    In
    the future, to help us provide the highest quality service to our
    players, please use the “Report a Bug” button in the Help and Support
    menu, rather than “Request GM Help”, when reporting possible bugs that
    may not require immediate intervention by a GM.

    Regards,
    GM Sideiron

    let everyone decide for themselves

    (-1)
  3. Night on October 14, 2012

    This game is OK over all BUT you will find that thy are big with the Lock Boxs and begging you to buy the keys for the lock box.

    You will find the Box every place you go it will be on all maps and you see them a lot after blowing up stuff.
    Oh yes its a nice game ones you get use to the BOXs Out of a scale of 1 throw 10 I give this game a 3 because of the BOXS it would have gotten a 8 with out the BOXS but sice it has the BOXS it got a 3 and thinking about it some more I think a 2 would be better because of the F/ING BOXS

    (0)
    • Rinake on November 19, 2012

      oh good, i love a game with a lot of boxes.

      (-1)
  4. Davi on May 17, 2014

    Hi all just wanted to update my exp of sto so far for season nine……..they did allot to stop the power creep but they allso took allot away….. forums have became more social and find info on everything better the change the moderation’s systems and i think it helps. lets start off bye saying spaced is filled with romulans still. But with the limited aux too bat build and limtied traits the game feels better over all….. The graphics upgrade looks killer but older machine’s beware makes my quad core machine 8 gig ram laptop gaming graphics card bleed…… The game pvp revamp hasnt never happen some of the content added was awesome like the feature episode for season nine just a work of art honestly…… over all i was shocked and a lil impressed……. hoping to see what the rest of the season content looks like in a couple months sigh do i say i have hope…… btw less grind then ever before its getting better….. just wish they had better turn around time tickets times basically they listen they even made on better the sci class i hope they stick with it not hype us up for a fail well everyone i telling worth playing again if u have a newer machine and a lil patient it one point we all get mad

    (0)
  5. robert on March 26, 2014

    Well i cant agree more David, Honestly you are right the level of trolls on sto forums is horrid.
    And further more they rape all humans cap just to sale ships pvp is a joke lol. Conjento is giving them hell and the lag is allays there specially in pvp…… truly sad that this great game idea is in the hand of devs that dont listen to there customer’s something else i been playing over 2 years and think the romulan faction has kill Klingon faction who want to be a romulan the only reason people even use them is because of there damage bonus that. its sad i pug a que and saw 8 roms all using the same skills no use’s there own build ne more they all use same set of skills there is no diversity in space wtf.. there is no originals in space when this happens is game over lol….. allso with season 9 i expect the learning cure to get worse so its going to be harder for new players specially with the forums being controlled bye a set group

    (0)
  6. David on March 24, 2014

    I have been a player since before f2p. I also been around to watch poor pvp go to worse. They have killed the Klingon faction heart and sole of pvp in sto.. For what a op faction just to sale ships…… legacy of romulous was a death sentence for grind and more grind.

    At the beginning fleets became away we could hang now they become gangs of hip flying around controlling zones and ruining players exp…. Like yesterday spawn camped over 4 hour couldn’t leave zone or evade. These same fleets use their size like nova core group and other elder fleets in game. To control game forums if u post something in there u will be trolled out…… or made fun of to the point its not a game no more……
    At the end of the service ticket sums it up a truly great game idea but cryptic seems not to care about player security, and providing a game exp with out harassment. and honestly with smaller numbers of players large fleets just became a problem for pug pvp. also further more all u see ne more in pvp is romulan. I don’t play star trek to be a romulan sorry the game Is jacked I have spent thousands and have allot of regrets the devs just don’t care even….. seriously tip don’t post on forums u will get jumped bye six people and all the do is insult…… some who use’s insult to get a message across is lame

    (0)
  7. Robert on February 19, 2014

    2 HUGE THUMBS UP FOR STAR TREK ONLINE!!!B

    (0)
  8. yudhistira on June 13, 2013

    it’s an amazing game

    (0)
  9. Random on January 22, 2013

    Played the game for bout 3 months as full F2P now. Several in-game currencies are used to purchase ships/gear/officers etc. All are obtainable to F2P. Its just time dependant; some have it in more abundance then others.

    Upon launch of S7 the main player sources of loot which could be converted to Dilithium (dil) was nerfd and prices requiring it increased. Each toon can refine 8k dil per day. Using the player controlled/responsive market the dil can then be converted to the games c-store currency (zen). Prices of dil per zen fluctuate and visa versa. Multi-tooning and making a profit from the dil-zen market are the only ways to pass this daily cap.

    The leveling in game is super quick. Max rank 50 in a couple of days especially if timed in with the x2 or w/e exp mirror event at specific times. You can also lvl in/out of game bit like EvE by doing Duty Officer assignments (from lvl 7 onwards) which can grant exp, dil and more.

    Reputation system: Character specific in progression. Same requirements for all toons though. Is a time/resource sink and is now mandatory to unlock end game gear sets that are not dropd from mobs. Easy to complete, just a set time roughly a month, longer depending when u log on to start the next project. Not required but does grant some passive/active skills at tiers which can be used in pve and pvp.

    PVE: Lots to do. Space and ground. All worth it/required? No. Fun but repetative at end game. Does get content updates.

    PVP: Great potential. lots of fun but no where near lively enough imo. However its due a massive revamp.

    Lockboxes: Yes they drop Alot, yes u need to purchase keys to unlock them. Yes they can have awesome ships in them or near trash items. Boxes and keys are available to buy in the A/H..broker..normal exchange for Energy credits (ec) which is earnt by near all actions, vendoring/selling stuff, albeit a bit pricey but they are a low set % in success and some ppl spend real money on the keys.

    Community: Some of the most loyal and dedicated fan base, the STO community is a very helpful one. Trolls in every game as expected, not alot here tho. Fleet orientated. Fleet paticipation is encouraged it also rewards Fleet specific loot to purchase when Starbase and Embassy is upgraded etc. near all content can be solo’d/pug’d though.

    Overall: A Very good game maintained by a smallish team. Can/should get better. Truely F2P IF you want. 9/10 just because pvp requires revitilising and ques CAN be long.

    (0)
  10. SuperDarke on September 1, 2012

    to bad its t

    (0)
  11. Submaze on May 17, 2012

    wanna burf

    (0)
  12. Khaylor on May 17, 2012

    It’s a bit grindy at end-game currently, as the model just went from sub to F2P in January. I have had good luck with customer service, others have complained otherwise.

    The crafting system is ok, the combat is fun, though a bit repetative. Much is supposed to change in the coming months that will make this game VERY special, if it goes as planned.

    Give it a try, if nothing else. It’s worth it.

    (0)
  13. maybird on May 10, 2012

    This game is great for a F2P MMO. I am a recruiting officer in the fleet United Federation. There end game content is STF and you play with 5 and work together in ground and space. hen you get in to a Fleet the game gets better because you have friends to play with. I love star trek and understand the game. If you like Space MMO get it and you can learn along with others about STO and Star Trek

    (0)
  14. Tina on January 18, 2012

    I just downloaded the free online version and halfway thru installation it is asking for a product key to activate this game. Where does this key come from? I did not get anything in my email after registering and have checked the FAQ(it seems they have not updated it to include the free online downloads) I would appreciate someone pointing me in the correct direction. Also I did not purchase this game, I thought this version was supposed to be free as of the 17th and today is the 18th. Thanks

    (0)
  15. MrKein on January 18, 2012

    hope that the expansions are cheap( future expansions) or hope to be free:D

    (0)
    • RossyOs on April 2, 2013

      Expansion is on his way and it wil be F2P (mostly :-P)

      KDF full faction … and Romulan Mini Faction .. so take your warbirds out @ 21-5-2013

      See you all ingame

      ps voor diegene die dit kunnen lezen en schrijven :-P … VerenigingvanVloten staat open voor iedere casual player (little sentence for my Dutch friends)

      (0)
    • Epicness on May 26, 2013

      Well, so far, the only expansion is Legacy of Romulus (Which made it my favorite game, previously second to SWTOR), which is completely free.

      (0)
  16. MrKein on January 18, 2012

    pretty cool game i liked star trek series hope to like this too
    i playing right now and all seems to be right where it need to bee :D:D:D

    (0)
  17. blabla on March 21, 2014

    got me hooked up, currently lvl 21, captain rank.

    Not a star trek fan, but it seems like im turnign into one, awesome story!@!@!@!

    (1)

Leave your review!