On this week’s show, we talk about Team Fortress 2 entering the competitive arena and maybe getting into virtual reality, Daybreak Games Studio undergoing changes and what the future looks like, and we get down and dirty with our candid thoughts on Echo of Soul from Aeria Games. All that and more on this week’s Free to Play Cast!

Discussion Timestamps:

01:16 Team Fortress 2
11:50 Daybreak Games Company
24:30 Echo of Soul Review
39:37 Weekly Bombs (DA-Bomb / A-Bomb)
48:37 Questions and Answers of the Week

If you have submissions for the show’s Weekly Bombs, have questions for the panel (nothing is off limits!), or just ideas for what you want covered you can now send them to [email protected] You can also be a guest in the show, just send us why you want to host, and what topic or game you would like to cover.

Free-To-Play Cast is the official podcast (and videocast) of MMOBomb.com about free to play multiplayer online games. Free-To-Play Cast takes on the week’s biggest news with plenty of opinion, weekly bombs, community feedback, guests, laughs thrown in for good measure and much more. Have fun and expect a new episode next week!

Don´t forget to subscribe to Free to Play Cast via Youtube.

the author

Mike "Magicman" Byrne has been a part of the MMOBomb family for years and serves as the site's current Editor-in-Chief. His love for MMOs and gaming in general has led him to covering games for numerous websites including Gamebreaker TV and XIV Nation where he proudly displays his fanboy flag for FFXIV:ARR.

12 Readers Commented

Join discussion
  1. G3k on May 15, 2015

    CB Key! Use it wisely :p

    AU-PNWP-MXM5-RGMT-456K

  2. japansfreak on May 10, 2015

    They dont make money of e Esports? mr Jason Winter you are soo wrong
    they make tons of money out of advertising on streams and serious cash….

  3. Kakaballzinmouth on May 8, 2015

    1) TF2 is a horrible game. There is a reason there are no “solid” direct shot guns in the game (assault rifles). It is because they failed at strategy and tactics and replaced it with chaos and P2W kids that think its the best game. No ideaw why that solid turd is in a competition before games like Battlefield…oh yeah..steam + investment cash.
    2) Day Break is a PoS fincance firm. Good luck with any dihareah cash model they have in place. Already playing one of their abandon ware games on a better publisher (Dragons prophet EU is better off than SONY US)
    3) Echo of Fail.

  4. Lagwin1980 on May 8, 2015

    For the question of the week i’d have though 5 would have been a better score, anything lower has people automaticaly thinking it’s garbage when it’s not it’s just not good/great

  5. Deadnstien on May 7, 2015

    I think your 4 on Echo of Souls looks about right. The graphics looked dated, though the animations didn’t look to bad and the game play looked juts kinda meh. The thing I can’t get past though is the really dated looking interface. It looks like a something from a generic 90s single player RPG. The interface has to be the cheapest and easiest thing to keep looking good and up to date, if a company can’t do something as simple as that then I have no faith that the game will be any better.

    • Deadnstien on May 7, 2015

      Wish we could edit these. I always miss the damn juts/just typo, chrome’s spell check doesn’t catch it because it’s an actual word…

  6. BigChang on May 7, 2015

    i agree with u . Echo of Soul is total crap .

    • Lagwin1980 on May 8, 2015

      Yeahhhh…he didn’t say it was crap though.

      • Kakaballzinmouth on May 8, 2015

        He is a sold out bound by contract to shut his mouht. If not contract, this site takes interviews etc… which are carefully hand selected by people knowing they will get the bumhole licked well. Any “critic” points are always as generic as their games and covered over quickly. You can actually see the evolution when this hit mmobomb. They started getting REAL and pushing REAL topics with a REAL team. The last straw was calling out Perfect World as P2W, and then backing off the comment, and then the entire team just abandon ship (not because of that, but sure it was one of many “fuk it” moments). Then the new re-organization. All play it safe and critic where everyone on reditt critics…that way no risks taken, no loss.
        I;e. Balless reviews.

        • Lagwin1980 on May 8, 2015

          The tinfoil is strong with this one

          • kakabawlzinurface on May 11, 2015

            4G networks are banned here in EU because it causes brain retardation (banned in hospitals, schools, and nurserys), now think why you like crap games, and what the future generation will like: “Derp, its F2P, but it costs 1 hundurd dollar billz tew play….Well…Ill slide the ckrdit kardz”

        • Magicman on May 12, 2015

          Interesting. I said the game was dated, generic, and still was concerned about Aeria Games since their cash shops suck and there was nothing to review in it yet to see if this game would be any different, then closed by giving the game a “4.” If I had contracts to shut my mouth, I’m sure this episode would have blown that contract out of the water lol.

          Incidentally, Perfect World is P2W in my opinion, always has been, and unless major changes are made, always will be 🙂
          -Magicman

HAVE SOMETHING TO SAY?