DC Universe Online


DC Universe Online (DCUO) is a free to play 3D action MMORPG from Sony Online Entertainment. Players can create their own legendary superhero, or villain, and join forces with their favorite DC Comics characters, including Batman, Superman and the Joker to either save or destroy the planet.

The game combines the ability to explore legendary DC Comics environments pulled from the pages of the comic books, popular movies and animated series and fascinating story arcs with fast-paced, physics-based combat, allowing players to pick up buses and other objects in the environment, fly into the air and throw them at enemies; run up the sides of buildings to engage in melee brawls while shooting flames of fire from their hands; or cling to the side of buildings while using a grappling hook to pull flying opponents out of the sky – all while fighting alongside or against the legendary characters of DC Comics and building their own legacy as they embark on their own path to legendary.

New players now have free access to the base game content in DC Universe Online, including Gotham City, Metropolis, and all current raids and alerts outside of DLC packs. Free Access provides players with the ability to create two characters, join a League and many other benefits. Free level players can also purchase DLC packs, additional character slots, and more in-game.

Disclosure: MMOBomb works closely with publishers and developers to offer a free and rewarding experience. In order to keep everything free to use we may sometimes earn a small commission from some partners. Find more info in our FAQ page.

Additional Information

Title

DC Universe Online

Developer
Daybreak Games
Publisher
Daybreak Games
Release Date
January 11, 2011
Genre
MMORPG
Platform
Windows (Client)
Please note this free-to-play game may or may not offer optional in-game purchases.

Latest Updates

Minimum System Requirements (Windows)

OS

Windows XP 32-bit

Memory

1GB RAM

Storage

30 GB of Free Hard Drive Space

Processor

P4 3.0GHz or AMD equivalent

Graphics

NVIDIA 7800GTX+ or ATI 1950+ Video Card

Additional Notes

Specifications may change during development

All material on this page is copyrighted by ©Daybreak Games and their respective licensors. All other trademarks are the property of their respective owners.
See All

Games like DC Universe Online

Entropia Universe - Entropia Universe is free to play 3D Sci-Fi MMORPG with interesting economic and social features. MindArk’s virtual economy universe is known by many names depending on when you started playing the game and what planet was the key planet at the time.
Loading...
Revelation Online - Soar over a vast and colorful world in Revelation Online, NetEase and My.com
Loading...
Elsword - Elsword is a free to play 3D non-stop side-scrolling MMORPG set in a colorful comic book style world with anime-style graphics and RPG elements. Experienced gamers as well as casual players can immediately jump into the game and pick-up the intuitive controls to defeat enemies or string together combos to deal devastating damage.
Loading...
FREE

Elsword

User Reviews (44)

Do you recommend this game?
MMO Gamer 4 years ago
This is a Pay to win. The power Creep is huge in this one.

Was this review helpful?
Tenou 5 years ago
Game is Really good, it's ages ahead of champions online (where you have to pay if you wanna fly/superspeed) I reached level 27... but then I saw that my only chance to progress after lvl 30 was paying expansion packas, but those who pay and those who doesn't play in the same server... something I see as a mistake imho, because those who can't afford to spend real money in online games can feel powerless and abandoned and leave, as I did

Was this review helpful?
Review 5 years ago
DC Universe Online (Review)
(+Pro)
+ 8 Classes
+ Superheroes character Comic
+ Good Combat System
+ Good Storyline
+ Costume
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
(-Con)
- Small Community
- Heavy Grind
- Energy bar system
- Pay to Progress
- No balance PVP
- Repeated Quest
- UI Maps issue
- Hacker can ruin the game
- Lack of option menu
- No balance Pve

Was this review helpful?
eltun 5 years ago
b,mfd/.m

Was this review helpful?
john 6 years ago
i tried to download it but i left it downloading for a day and it was only 0.4% complete. why? i have a good internet speed. this should have completely downloaded in an hour and a half

Was this review helpful?
Sara 6 years ago
Hi, I'm Sara, and YOU are WRONG!!

Why?

Because you think that this game is entirely F2P! Guess again!

If you want access to awesome content, and you want your combat rating to be among the best of the best, you have to purchase DLC packs to get it! And don't forget the endless popup reminders to purchase DLC packs or become a premium subscriber!

If you think you can see all there is to see in DCUO, without paying a dime, then YOU are WRONG!

Was this review helpful?
o-o 7 years ago
oh and daily update sizes are 10gb 5gb

Was this review helpful?
o-o 7 years ago
the game is 30gb download 1gb then install 20gb then download patch 30gb

Was this review helpful?
Ishant 7 years ago
what is the size of this game

Was this review helpful?
Kahetabi 8 years ago
I had days of fun with this but it's dominated by DLC :P even in-game money is limited for 15k i think, so you need to spend real money to increase maximum limit.

Was this review helpful?
Ozram 8 years ago
I'm totally addicted and just on the free to play. Hint, the game begins at level 30. Anything below that is just training.

Was this review helpful?
View 1 reply
DestroyYourEgo 8 years ago
What can I say about DCUO?

It's fan-freakin'-tastic. Now, I'll admit, I'm a HUGE Champions fan. I kinda like DC (not EVERY hero), so it was only natural that I gave this game a shot.

it's really cool, highly addictive, and the combat is very fluid. There are also cool bounties to take part in, as well as a hefty amount of Instances and such.

My downfall with this game? I felt that I leveled too quickly- and once I was doe... I was done. I understand that you can continue to level your character through better gear (gotta talk about the gear). I just got kinda bored with it. I plan on going back, as the new DLC's coming out look to only further the value of this game.

The last DLC, the hideouts- I just wasn't too impressed with it. I felt Champions had a better Hideout layout- and even City of Heroes is one that should be looked at in comparison, as that was a REAL hideout layout.

Now, the gear in this game is sweet. Even though there isn't as many options in customization as Champions, there's a decent amount. And you can keep the style locked but still upgrade your gear with new armor. It's the MOST PERFECT GEAR SYSTEM I have ever witnessed. I won't lie, I'm the kind that will take the hit in defense for style- i.e., in Fallout: New Vegas, I ran around that piece in a Prostitute outfit.

Anyways, I highly recommend this game to the Hero fan, or the action enthusiast. It appears to only be getting better, so I suggest hopping in now if you aren't already a part of the community!

Was this review helpful?
jkris 8 years ago
The Best Game Ever...you will never get bored with this game!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful?
villcon 8 years ago
This game is my favorite. I cant stop playing. The f2p does have its limits but all in all i didnt think it was rediculous at all. being f2p Doesnt have any effect on your powers compared to legendary. Being legendary offers being able to play the 5 dlc packs without purchasing, up to 16 characters, creating a league (you can still join as f2p), more inventory slots and legendary tokens( able to change weapon, power, body, name etc. & vault tickets), replay badges isnt essential until your lvl 30 (cap) anyways. Replay badges let you replay instances over and over once your level 30 and keep getting marks each time. Marks are then used for stronger weapons and the iconic armor ( steel, batman etc.) Also a nice thing was that if one thing bothered you in f2p like not enough characters or inventory slots you can pay 5$ and have them forever without a sub. Really is a great game. And for the comment above i always played pve servers till i got to 30 and still do now at 30 just because personally its more enjoyable than the guys trolling. Theres lots of ppl who will join groups and help. Just check the chat box. i play ps3 and anyone who wants to feel free to add me im a villain and my names llxViLLcoN357xll

Was this review helpful?
RandomGuy 8 years ago
Somebody help me! I can't seem to find a way to play it on the PS3 i went to PS store and it didn't show up! Help please!

Was this review helpful?
View 1 reply
PlaskMuppen 8 years ago
I played this on PS3 and it was really good. Nice graphics, Fun characters and lots of customization. Can only imagine the fun on a computer =D
Sadly i only have a small laptop =*(

Was this review helpful?
Kess 8 years ago
I played DCU a while back and don't remember everything in detail, but I'll try to be as accurate in this review as possible.

DCU is a fun game. It really, really is. I played F2P, which has limited options of powers and style, but I had a blast. I chose to be a villain mentalist, CC type and didn't quite hit the level cap, but was close. Running free around the various cities and doing a ton of terrible deeds and messing up Superman was crazy fun. The only thing I was disappointed at, predictably, was the restriction to F2P players. I couldn't earn as much money, store as many items, unlock as many styles and powers, etc... BUT, this is entirely understandable to me, and nearly caused me to purchase a subscription so I could have all these fantastic features. The only reason I didn't was that I fell out of the game over time.

Maybe superhero-themed games aren't really your niche, but trust me when I say that you'll enjoy this game. It's filled with characters from the DC universe and you'll always have something to do.

Was this review helpful?
KenTazz 8 years ago
The Game say it needs 30Gb but when i check it, it only "eat" 20Gb of my HDD..

Was this review helpful?
Allelujah 8 years ago
whats the game file size?

Was this review helpful?
qwerty 8 years ago
well this sucks is these free or i need to pay if free this game does not sucks

Was this review helpful?
View 1 reply
Hamzy1996 9 years ago
Why am i not getting the e-mail verification from them??

Was this review helpful?
Rich 9 years ago
Even as a f2p mmo they give lots of customization options to make a unique character.And plenty of content to play through.But the community in the game isn't the best.If your a pvp server you will never get things done cause it is just capped players attacking low lvs as they login or exit a building.And on pve servers your pretty much going to go through the game solo.

Was this review helpful?
The_Punisher 9 years ago
Nice game

Was this review helpful?
hamo25 9 years ago
oh wow

Was this review helpful?
game killer 9 years ago
that happend to mee to

Was this review helpful?
mert 9 years ago
when i downloaded it it keept on freezing the hole computer

Was this review helpful?
GamerSole 9 years ago
In 2011, I saw this game, sadly, it was for PS3. Now, look at it, it's free and it's on PC!

Was this review helpful?
View 1 reply
plenciukas 9 years ago
Good game u can fly over the world XD

Was this review helpful?
View 1 reply
theyaN 9 years ago
This is an awesome game, and the pay system is quite fair as well. Subscribing or 1 time payments will not give players any advantage in PvP and will only unlock new content in PvE or some unique styles. If you're interested in a face-paced MMORPG that is NOT pay to win and has a decent company behind it, don't hesitate from checking this thing out. The only flaw I could find is a lack of tutorials and guides ingame. PvP is very complex and interesting but it isn't explained at all. I had to do my study on the forums and once I got the hang of it, it all became 3 times more fun. You will not find yourself disappointed if you check this game out.

Was this review helpful?
Derek McCauley 9 years ago
DC released this as a pay monthly and now is play for free but can pay for bouses i find this is the great game at the same time was it the smartest move i do not know, all in all gaming good voice acting shocking thrilling after awhile abit old or lessen, The Fighting typical MMORPG hack an slash but with a modern flare,

Derek McCauley

Was this review helpful?
MrKein 9 years ago
i dont like it cause its so restricted with F2P users about the content :((

Was this review helpful?
View 1 reply
Nya 9 years ago
THIS game is like tots awesome lawlz

Was this review helpful?
Stefan 9 years ago
Not only the best F2P but one of the best MMOrpgs out there, definitely worth checking out!

Was this review helpful?
kevin 9 years ago
is this game now for free on pc ?

Was this review helpful?
View 1 reply
Bored 9 years ago
I played this for 1 month on the PS3. This game is almost entirely PvP based and the PvP system was very well built in my opinion. I didn't like using the joypad to play this game because my character was flying all over the place and I am more used to using mouse and keyboard to play this type of game.

Was this review helpful?
Essedess 9 years ago
I like the whole "Style" system and how it works . once you unlock a certain "style" from a piece of gear it is yours forever and you can use these styles to change your appearance anytime you want :). My only Gripe is i wish the hotkey bar had more than 6 slots.

Was this review helpful?
Vlad 9 years ago
Epic game is epic. I get bored fast with MMOs but this one got me hooked.

Was this review helpful?