Uncharted Waters Online (8)

Uncharted Waters Online (7)

Uncharted Waters Online (6)

Uncharted Waters Online (5)

Uncharted Waters Online (4)

Uncharted Waters Online (3)

Uncharted Waters Online (2)

Uncharted Waters Online (1)

PLAY NOW

About the game:
Title: Uncharted Waters Online
Status: Released Graphics: 3D
Genre: MMORPG
Developer: Tecmo Koei Games
Publisher: Netmarble

Explosive Features:

  • Battle on land and sea
  • 100 VS 100 PVP SeaFight
  • More than 75 professions and more than 100 skills to master

Uncharted Waters Online is a 3D historical MMORPG (massively multi-player online role-playing game) developed by Tecmo Koei Games.

Set between the fifteenth and seventeenth centuries, Uncharted Waters Online players will have the chance to conquer hundreds of neutral cities to ensure that their nation becomes the world’s leading power. Sailors can choose to fly the flag of one of six nations: England, The Netherlands, France, Spain, Portugal or Venice, buying or building ships to ready for battle, trade routes or exploration of new worlds. Featuring nearly endless lands to visit, thousands of artifacts to discover and more than 75 professions and 100 skills to master, Uncharted Waters Online offers ample game play for core and casual players alike.

Featured Video

[tubepress video=”znSBLmLSE8g” uploaded=”false”]

System requirements

Uncharted Waters Online Minimum System Requirements:
OS: Windows XP, Vista, 7, or 8
Processor: Pentium 3 800MHz
Memory Ram: 256MB
Hard Disk Space: At least 9GB of free Space
Video Card: Any 3D Accelerator Card with 32mb

Each game profile contains useful information about the game, gameplay videos, user reviews, gameplay screenshots, system requirements and more!

Read related news

Edit Game Report Problem

More MMORPGs Like This

51 User Reviews

Leave Your Review
  1. Pay2Win on June 28, 2018

    2018 – this game is pay to win. At first, you may like it because of the trade, exploration, and maritime activities you can do. Once you hit mid level and travel outside of Europe, you are basically fodder for player pirates who want to farm you 4 or 5 times. Not only will you be shipped wreck, lose your gold, and cargo which could have taken you an hour to go to East Asia, but you could lose crafted items that took you weeks or months to gather the materials to craft. The game publisher and developer are greedy and don’t give 2 cents about the adventurer/traders, they cater to the few whales who have time to grind, buy the cash shop items to overpower you. The chat is either silent or toxic (trolling) because the publishers and developers cater to the pay to win player pirates so they can farm you as much as possible. That is why this game has low population and is dying like most games where it is pay to win pvp at mid and late game. You cannot opt of of pvp. You have to buy the blue flag immunity which you have to pay and it only last for 24 hours. You have been warned. Miker2 and those that leave positive reviews are either company agents or player pirates trying to recruit fresh meat. 😀

  2. Not on steam anymore on April 13, 2018

    Uwo used to be on steam, but Ogplanet closed and Papaya doesnt run on it anymore. I guess they dont care enough to bring it back to Steam.

    • MikeR2 on April 23, 2018

      Stop knocking the new company, Papaya Play. I thank them every day for continuing to develop this game, and now they have added a Player Council to help them improve the game even further. If you want great games, then support them, don’t bad mouth every change that happens. If you want to see it get better, help it to change in the right direction by offering suggestions for improvement.
      Bad reviews (which aren’t deserved), without suggestions for improvement, are a discouragement to new players, who will love this game once they give it a try.

      • OldPlayerofUWO on April 25, 2018

        @Miker2: A review can be good or bad, but is definitely not the correct platform to make suggestions for improvement. Don’t make UWO look even worse. Period.

        From a player with neutral views about UWO

  3. Uwo player on April 13, 2018

    Good MMO based on the Uncharted Waters/New Horizons, but very small community.

    The global server was recently wiped by a greedy company called Papaya, which lied about the reasons for doing it, and ruined 7+ years of a developed server, and made many dedicated players quit, just after the previous company called Ogplanet milked its players dry with its cash shop lottery, after promising that they would keep running the game..

    If you just want to adventure/trade, not interested in being competitive or dont care about the game community, and is willing to grind a looooot, you might like this old game. Enjoy it while it lasts.

    But if you want to be competitive, to fight, to invest, then prepare yourself to spend a lot of money with a greedy company called Papaya, as all relevant gears are now cash shop related, and then spend even more as most gears will be obsolete again soon; be ready to exploit the game by running with multiple accounts at the same time, grind/grind/grind/grind non stop.

    And we dont really know if Papaya will keep the game for long; GM Sheebs, who worked for the previous company, is used to lying, and will tell whatever the players want to hear just to manipulate them.

    • MikeR2 on April 23, 2018

      I have been playing this game for years, and it is a wonderful game. Very addictive, and yes you have to grind a lot to level up, but that’s what is great about this game as well as all the players in the game willing to help you whenever you need help. Tell your friends, invite new players to try it out. If they enjoy a game where effort is rewarded, then UWO is for you.

  4. WasAntiWind on April 10, 2018

    Greatest game ever in its category, undeniably. The only problem is, too many changes to originality were done leaving big big repercussions. Recuperation levels are slow mainly due to bad decision making of what to sell in the cash shop.

    3 classes here, ADV, Trade and Maritime.
    The 1st is still fun and highly adventurous. Trade is dying slowly due to highly OP equipments you can acquire for extreme returns killing skills and the economy.
    Maritime, oh amagad – dont need to grind skills as the firepower is enough to kill anybody a mile away and i dont even want to mention about the parts placed on ships and equipment used, lol no. If you find that fun, come play.

  5. onebittersailer on April 6, 2018

    Uncharted waters is one of the best sailing games produced by koei, however the game commuity itself wasnt as nice as you expected, with scammers , racists etc. ofc there is still minor nice people u can mix friends with. However due to the wipeout by Papaya server, most player is gone. and only few is back. The game is no longer fun for what it is. Because the lack of population in game. Plus it a real grindy game, if you have the whole life time playing the game and dont mind getting wipe this game is suitable for u. If not better find another game for more interesting pleasure.

    • MikeR2 on April 23, 2018

      Why knock a great game. Ok, so you had to start over. So what, that is what anyone has to do with any new game, but this game is one that is really fun if you don’t mind a bit of grinding to get to the level you want. Lets keep the comments positive, because if you want any game to grow, it needs new players, I bet anyone can come up with negative comments about any game out there, even if those comments are deserved.

      • OldPlayerofUWO on April 25, 2018

        Quote1: “So what, that is what anyone has to do with any new game”
        Reply1: To keep my reply short, UWO is not a new game and very very few MMOs have resorted to a complete wipe.

        Quote2: “Lets keep the comments positive… I bet anyone can come up with negative comments about any game out there, even if those comments are deserved.”
        Reply 2: As I have replied to one of your earlier post, this is for players to post reviews, be it good or bad. We have noted your point that you enjoy UWO, and that you want more players to play the game.

        From a player with neutral views about UWO

  6. Salty on April 6, 2018

    Brilliant game

  7. UWO player on April 6, 2018

    Uncharted waters online is now with papayaplay, it’s still a unique game, yes a reset happend, yes there was corruption in the past with admins, but that is now and should be left in the past.

    People are still salty over the reset and vow never to come back, YET some of those that have left those type of reviews came back. Simply because nothing beats UWO.

    • Coco-Puff on April 6, 2018

      Agreed I came back to the game even

    • OldPlayerofUWO on April 10, 2018

      (1) True that “nothing beats UWO”, but I will only consider returning if another trust-able host (definitely not Papaya Play) takes over the game.

      (2) “…that is now and should be left in the past.” Yes, you are right, but you are not quite right either. The remainder of this comment is to support my reasoning, and is not to deter or support anyone from trying UWO out.

      (2a) A wipe is a decision big enough to warrant one to keep that in mind when deciding whether to continue playing the game, regardless of one’s love for it.

      (2b) Lies from Papaya Play, the current host, are another big issue that they should have addressed way back then, such as, server opening with the Age of Reason. However, they chose to keep quiet and allowed this mistrust. If someone had made a very big lie to a rational person, he would still keep that in mind even if he continues to support that someone.

  8. Guillermo on April 5, 2018

    Ahoy mates! Come join the new UWO on PapayaPlay – it’s better than ever and all cash shop items are fully tradeable in game – you can get cash shop items without paying by buying from other players with in game currency. The new UWO is growing constantly, and there are lots of people playing, including a lot of old timers, but also many newcomers – come join us!

  9. UWO player on December 29, 2017

    UWO is a unique game which offers something for everybody, you go at your own pace, you hit levels you want to reach, it’s not a race to level up quickly, just kick back and relax atmosphere.
    .
    Unfortunatly there are a lot of trolls ingame and on this review site that have the only goal but to see the game fail. The game is fun for everyone. Focus on adv battle or trade, or a mix of all three, the choice is yours to choose your characters path.

    JUST IGNORE THE TROLLS AND YOU WILL BE FINE.

  10. old uwo player on November 4, 2017

    after years of playing the server get wiped by the new publisher and theres no guarantee that this wipe will happen again in the future, we lost all skills , ships and equipment that were earned the hard way , the only purpose of the wipe is so they can milk more money from the players , its a very grindy game and take a long time before you can pvp , and its pay to win !!

    • OldFurre on December 23, 2017

      Gamers in UWO, liked the game quite a lot…
      The New Server, for players, apparently cared NOT!
      Money was why, no more players a’pleasing,
      Greedy they were – No one quite knows the reason.
      It could be their head wasn’t screwed on just right.
      It could be, perhaps, that their money was tight.
      But I think that the most likely reason of all,
      May have been that their heart was two sizes too small.

      You’re a mean one, PapayaPlay,
      You really are a heel!
      You’re as cuddly as a cactus,
      You’re as charming as an eel, PapayaPlay.
      Years of Grinding, did your Greedy selves steal!! ♫

      Whatever the reason, the heart or the cash,
      They thought of a plan, a scheme they would hash,
      Staring over the Ledger, a C.P.A Clown,
      Though of more money, that might be New-found.
      They saw the Nanbanners, their ships full of stuff,
      and decided Certificates, and blue flags weren’t enough.

      You’re a monster, PapayaPlay.
      You took our Improved hole!
      Your Barca’s full of Rodents,
      Your Platform needs to fold, PapayaPlay.
      I wouldn’t touch you with a thirty-nine-and-a-half foot Polaca! ♫

      “100 attack weapons, they keep them so near!”
      “and Modified Ships!”, they snarled with a sneer,
      “Soon is the Transfer, It’s practically here!”
      And they groaned, on the Calculator, noisily clacking,
      “We must find a way for more funds to happen!”

      You’re a vile one, PapayaPlay.
      You have termites in your smile!
      You have all the tender sweetness
      Of a seasick crocodile, PapayaPlay.
      Given the choice between the two of you
      I’d take the seasick crocodile! ♫

      “For all of these happy, sailing girls and boys,”
      “Will just keep on playing, with all their old toys!”
      “All those grinded for toys, those discovered toys”
      “TOYS TOYS TOYS TOYS”
      “We must find a way, to sell them more toys!”
      “For they all, young and old, will play on this game.”
      “PLAY PLAY PLAY PLAY, but our profits the same.”

      You’re a foul one, Papaya Play.
      You’re a nasty wasty skunk!
      Your rudder’s filled with Algae,
      Your soul is full of gunk, PapayaPlay.
      The three words that best describe you are as follows,
      and I quote: “Stink! Stank! Sunk!” ♫

      “They will make their own foods, and”
      “FEAST! FEAST! FEAST! FEAST!”
      “They have their own recipes”
      “To cook the Roast Beast”
      “Not buying from us.” – (liked it not in the least.)
      “They’ll feast on Oyster Omelette; food that they make.”
      “and Seafood pizza, Tuna Olive Steak!”
      And THEN They’d do something they liked least of all!
      Everyone in Seville, the tall and the small,
      Would sit close together, Their Aides would Bazaar.
      They’d come to buy, and sail from afar
      and no ducats will go, in OUR cookie jar!”
      “Why, for many years, they were buying, but now,”
      “they must buy MORE, the question is: HOW?”

      Then they got an idea! . . . An awful idea!
      PAPAYA GOT A WONDERFUL, AWFUL IDEA!

      “We know what to do with the Data they send!”
      “We’ll tell them we lost it, start over again!’
      And they chuckled, and clucked, “What a great money plan!”
      “to make them buy ship parts, and lottos again”

      You’re a Liar, PapayaPlay
      Fixes were what was told;
      But everything’s more expensive
      than even the days of old, PapayaPlay
      And now in chat they even advertise again
      for you to purchase Gold. ♫

      “But will we keep players?”, they searched all around;
      “This game is unique, none like it was found.”
      Will vets leave? “No!” PapayaPlay simply said,
      “We’ll tell them the game would be otherwise DEAD.”
      “They’ll be willing to play; again they shall sail,”
      “like they kept on with running their race in LaTale!”
      “We’re Heros; we saved it” We’ll say in a thread!”

      You’re a rotter, PapayaPlay.
      You’re the king of wiped-out slots!
      Your vigor food is splotched
      With moldy purple spots, PapayaPlay.
      Your “Rewards” are a pittance that will
      never replace ships that sped at many knots! ♫

      “We’ll take all their ducats, we’ll take all their Billions,”
      “and make them be grateful, to get a few millions!”
      “And tutorials, and schools they’ll have to redo,”
      “They’ll click click through Andrea, and even Mutu.”

      The players awaited, excitement in air.
      Dreamed of the new server, without even a care.
      Some used all their earnings, in the Captain’s Chest,
      In case they don’t transfer, with all the rest.
      Some even bought Astros, more space for their things,
      Some bought some more skills, for when playing again.
      They made sure they were early, to not get left out;
      they made sure to register, to “transfer” accounts.

      And then to their horror, it did come to light:
      “Your info is gone! We had to do Wipe!”
      “But, do not despair, we’ll help Vets with the cost,”
      “Based on thier levels, with the info we “lost”.
      They gave players weeks, to mull over this,
      and while they debated, and some said they’d quit,

      They erased the colonies, rescinded port permits,
      They emptied the stores, and took all the ships.
      They took all the farms, they took all the ore
      They took all the levels, and skills to get more.
      They took all the vessels, all the cargo much big,
      Put on a school cap, in place of afro wig.
      The 100 attack Rapier Sword was just bought,
      they took it away, with Swordplay, but they ought
      to not have taken the 100 attack Breech Loader
      one of two gifted, that sat on the shoulder.
      The Circumnavigation Dress, in the missing quarters
      would have to be earned, by doing it all over.
      They took the Live Fish, pet food that was needed,
      By an ex-Tortoise shell cat; the food that it eated.
      They took all the factories, they took all the cans,
      They took all the recipies to make honey and jam.

      “We’ll give them ship parts, which they cannot use,
      “tell them it’s replacements, for things they did lose”
      and the Players searched long, and they searched hard
      for an R20 Builder, with no ships they could Mod.
      Nothing to Auction; C.P.Chick Who tried that,
      Who could Not Do; with disconnected Merchant Chat.

      The Pie Rats rejoiced, sang “O Happy Day!”
      “We’ll take what they get, and make them all pay,
      and play the game RIGHT, they’ll do it our way!”
      “They’ll find out about cash shop item Plunder”
      “Well steal the Rare Finds, and put them asunder.
      “They’re just waking up! We know just what they’ll do!”
      “Their mouths will hang open a minute or two,
      Then the Traders and Avdenturers will all cry “BooHoo!”
      “That’s a noise,” grinned the Rats, “we simply MUST hear!”
      So they paused. And the rats put their hands to their ear.

      But all was quiet, no cries, could it be?
      For this was not Pirates, Of The Burning Sea
      The Toll Booths they set up, amid greedy drool.
      Were actually empty; they expected them full.
      “They’re all epic seafood, to plunder and mame,
      and if they don’t like it, then find a new game!” –

      Some took that advice, for they thought of the grind,
      They now had a life, and they didn’t have time,
      to play 24/7, and they’d fall well behind
      to a Mom’s Basement Kid, with nothing to do,
      but be Slappy Spacebar, and PEW PEW PEW PEW.
      And thinking quite rationally, and weighing the fact
      that they were decieved . . . They would only come back,
      if their stuff, skills and levels, were returned intact.
      Returned all the tags! And the tinsel! The trimmings!
      Returned all the stats from the great battle winnings.
      Return all the ribbons! return all the tags!”
      Return all the packages, boxes and bags!”
      Return all the stuff that we all had before!
      Give back our Colony, and exhibits in Store.”
      and give back the toys! And the food for the Feast
      And Recipe Books . . . yes, to cook the Roast Beast

      You nauseate me, PapayaPlay,
      With a nauseous super “naus!”
      You’re a crooked dirty server
      that wiped years without a cause, PapayaPlay.
      You’re a three-decker sauerkraut and toadstool sandwich with arsenic and Oyster sauce! ♫

      But, that will not happen, the Sheeple bent over,
      to let them take all, with nothing to show for,
      the years of the skills, the levels, the grind,
      and even in cash shops, the sheeple is buying,
      But this who will not Do, no, not this who Who
      Who will not grind again, and completely redo.
      To have years of accomplishments taken away
      Thinking Who is so weak, to once again Pay . . .
      Now Who’s fun’s reading forums; done everyday.
      So I bid Who the best, to all Whos I say “bye,”
      “Merry Chistmas to all, and PapayaPlay: DIE!”

      • Godric on December 30, 2017

        Wow, you are quite the poet! 🙂

      • Guillermo on April 5, 2018

        I could grind my sb skill to 16 in the time is takes to read this, much less write it.

  11. ragin1311 on October 4, 2017

    its a dead game jim!

    papaya play is whiping the server and lots of players dont plan to come back!

    • Drysyn on October 16, 2017

      Just because a lot of people aren’t going back doesn’t mean it’s dead they will generate new playerbase to replace the old

    • Cocoa-Puff on November 13, 2017

      That’s my friend, who is devastated that I am not returning. After 7 years of miserable grinding and achieving top levels and skills, with many top ships, the new server wiped the game. We were told they lost our character info, the economy would be fixed, they were adding new content – but it was all lies. Now player pirates can pick you clean and take your irreplaceable gear. I hear inflation is 10 times worse now. When I started 7 years ago, a new player had a chance and could buy decent ships at bazaars; not anymore. I wish Papaya Play dies a horrible death for ruining a game I was just starting to enjoy and spent money on, earned by 7 years of miserable long hours of grinding and leveling.

  12. Waddledoodle on August 25, 2017

    I have been playing this game for a few years now and it’s still fun. Graphics are a tad outdated but the game runs just fine on my Toshiba Satellite and rather than mess things up with new graphics I’d prefer keeping things the way they are. I’ve heard complaints of other players having stability issues, lag etc.. but that has never been a problem for me.

    The community if full of helpful people. There’s the usually assortment of jackholes but in my experience this community is better than most.

    My only complaint is that recently they began selling power in the form of special tools that will give your weapons more power. I find this disturbing as it means pvp is going to be affected by how much you can spend. The good news is that it is limited in the scope of it’s affect but my concern is that this is a warning about what the future may hold. If this is a one time only thing maybe it won’t be so bad but if not and this turns out to be a continuing trend I may have to re-evaluate playing the game, at least the pvp portion of it.

  13. Hamish on January 24, 2017

    I have played this game for 16 months now, over 40 hours a week. Yes i do a lot of not-grinding while chatting with my company or other friends, but I still havent hit the level cap in any of the 3 classes. This is not your average ” i got to the end of the game in a week, now you want me to stay and do the same things over and over again? ” kind of game.

    Bored sailing back and forth to asia to make huge profits trading? Change ships and hunt some pirates. Or use maps and quest along the way to find some of the more than 2400 different discoveries in the game. There are so many different things to do in this game, you will constantly find yourself saying “I’ve been playing for HOW long ?” .

    If a world of possiblilities on the open sea is what you are looking for, you just found it.

  14. GT on January 24, 2017

    I’ve played this game on and off for a few years now and am glad it’s come to Steam, if a bit late. Comparing it to other mmorpgs, I’d say the difficulty level is a little more challenging than most. KOEI is known for making historically accurate games and this one is no exception. While it was released to asian markets only for the first several years, it has been available for the rest of the world for the past several. It’s as old as Word of Warcraft, but is free-to-play. Also something to note, it is *not* pay-to-win, like some f2p games are. Some of the best items/ships are potentially/statistically superior, it isn’t such a noticable difference, unless in the hands of an unskilled/inexperienced player. And there are a LOT of ships to suit your playstyle.

    Concerning playstyles, there are 3 major ways to play the game, and you can change it up as you see fit without too much hassle. Adventuring, Trading, and Battling. Adventurers have probably the closest to a single-player experience as you can get on an mmo, and won’t be disappointed with the historical discoveries, locations and treasures that come from diligence. Trading is probably one of the easiest tasks, and is practiced by every player-type. Many different trade goods from various regions of the world and a very deep economic structure that changes prices of goods depending on supply/demand and trading tendencies of other players. Maritime (sea battles) is one of the more appealing features to newcomers and seasoned players alike, and UWO has probably the best sea-battle gameplay around.

    PVP exists in the majority of sea zones throughout the world but only the truly skilled maritimers can benefit from a life of piracy on the high seas. I’ve been pirated only a handful of times in the years I’ve played and it should be noted that it isn’t something to deter you from going where you want to go. There is a healthy balance to all things.

    As for the community of players, some of the nicest and most helpful players abound here! There are so many intricacies to the gameplay, I still learn something new daily, and nearly everyone has an answer or an idea to help you along. We’re really all in it together! Instead of “guilds” like other mmorpgs of a historical era, there are Companies. Each is a maximum of 50 players. This is a great way to keep the members tight with each other, and promotes a feeling of having an ‘extended family’ instead of just other gamers.

    If you are a fan of ridiculous amounts of loot and items, then you will be disappointed. There are a ton of items in the game, but space is always your enemy.. or friend? You gotta know what to keep and what to sell/discard. It’s good to keep that greed in check.

    Pros: Great community of players. Deep and challenging gameplay. Developers did their homework when it comes to history and facts. Educational and relaxing, solid variety in all things, in-game achievements (memorial album/challenge missions). Prioritization is an optional skill you involuntarily acquire that is helpful in life. :D. Locations, player models/outfits, ships, sailing, and even the music(which I mute to listen to radio) still has a unique charm.

    Cons: Grinds (it’s a game created by Asians!). Somewhat frustrating interfaces that seems to have a higher learning curve. Only 1 message window for all information in game, be it chat, announcements, crafting, battle…everything. I still gripe about wanting another window to keep conversations separate from everything else. Graphics are a bit dated, if that is important to you.

    I could go into much more detail about specifics, but this is already longer than I intended. So, as far as free-to-play mmorpgs go, and even comparing it to subscription mmorpgs and the multitude of games I’ve played throughout my existence on this planet, I’m going to rate it a solid 7/10.

    I hope to see some of you there.

  15. tigertail on January 24, 2017

    Unchartered Waters works and I have Windows 10.
    At first glance this game appears simplistic, even somewhat basic. Having played it for months, then months off and now months of being back into it… I feel it is one of the most enjoyable games out there.
    If you want battle all the time- you got it. If you want to take it easy and strategize- you got it. If you want to learn how to trade and make money (ducats) in a somewhat realistic fashion- you got it. Just when you think things are simple you find multiple layers of skills and storylines that you never knew were there.
    Management throws in ship races, trivia, etc. to add to the enjoyment.
    Now you are not going to pay to skill up quickly, so this is the real challange and admiration for those who have. Mature players will love or grow to love this game and the many members of its community. Great game!

  16. mehere on November 10, 2016

    UWO is a very good game but a certain idiot GM that is all ban happy ruining it for everyone. People don’t waste your hard earned money on this game.

  17. TRUTHHURTS on November 9, 2016

    To the people “all of a sudden” leaving positive reviews LYING and attempting to cover up and mislead people on what GM Coolwind is doing to this game SHAME ON YOU! You truly have no backbones. Instead of covering up for him why don’t you talk to Saul and get him to undo his wrongs or are you too afraid he will ban you? you tell me? Because ALLLLLLL these people complaining across many game review sites are NOT gold sellers believe that! Since you want to lie for SaulCaine aka GM Coolwind for what ever bonus or GM perks hes giving you in game. I’m going to post PROOF of his abuse in game.

    Explain this suspending a player for reporting Bugs in game and when he was too lazy to troubleshoot it he was banned and threatened not to post more bug reports or get perma banned.
    imgur. com/a/7E6lG (removes spaces to see)

    Explain… also I have many more screenshots of people complaining of sinking Saul in game and being banned later as well as other having their toons DELETED for getting in arguments with saul one person even threatened with a ban for making an auction site ( NOT third party Real money trade either) for fear he MIGHT allow real money trade which was just a front because he doesn’t like that particular player’s company members.

    I know UWO is an amazing game and your’re trying to help the dwindling server population (Caused by Coolwind antics I might add) I get it but Im not going to sit here and have you LIE to people coming in and have them spend money and have them get F’ed out of their hard earned money by Saul and his power trip. You want to help fix the problem stop kissing Sauls butt be REAL with him and have him stop his nonsense because the more GM power abuses he does in game the more bad reviews the game gets and the more people will be FEARFUL to join.

    SHRIMP Talk to him or all your efforts to revive the game will be for nothing.

  18. OJ_Shrimpson on November 3, 2016

    This game is a real diamond in the rough. While graphically it’s not the most amazing game I’ve ever played, it is certainly the most addictive. The possibilities are endless and the depth is amazing.

    Make money as a trader by taking specialty goods to faraway lands, braving pirate infested waters to do so. Or develop one of many production skills and sell products, equipment, ship parts, or build ships to sell to other players.

    Trade isn’t your thing? Hit the seas in search of adventure then. Embark on thousands of gripping quests, brave dungeons in search of treasure, or discover new wonders in remote areas of the world.

    If neither of those “Float your boat”, train to become one of the world’s best naval commanders. You can almost taste the salt and sulfur in the air during the Epic Sea Feud, a multinational battle event held each month. Fight in a large scale battle for territory, forming an aliance with other nations to assert your military dominance over the opposition. The winners will increase the influence of their nation, and the losers will find themselves to have less influence in the world.

    Perhaps you are more prone to a darker way of life? Terrorize traders and plunder their booty as a pirate! Or become a bounty hunter, seeking out those who loot and pillage and keeping the seas safe for everyone!

    The game has so much to offer and is truly remarkable for a F2P RPG. Hundreds of ships are available, each with unique stats and skills that you can select when you build them. Events for players of all nations are held frequently, and the game’s community is quite welcoming for new players, featuring “schools” for each class to teach the basics and provide new ships and rewards for new players.

    Come join our adventures as we celebrate a more civilized age in Uncharted Waters Online!

  19. anon on November 2, 2016

    Great game, Ive tried my fair share of MMORPGs, but theres something about this game that keeps me hooked on it. That feeling … you have the whole world (well most of it) to explore and endless horizons, you can engage in trading exploring or in combat. Ship combat is pretty fun. Not sure if it gets repetitive for some people. There are large amounts of skills for you to learn and master. Of course the graphics (especially the land locations) are a bit dated and can be a turn off at times, but looking beyond that you’ll find is a great game.
    The quest and story line dialogue are done very well, better than other mmorpgs. So if you’re looking for a new game to play and don’t mind the graphics or the historic setting, then be sure to give Uncharted Waters Online a try.

  20. Renbau on November 2, 2016

    Great fun sailing game, never seen a game like this 10/10. You won’t have any issue as long as you don’t hack or buy gold from sellers. I heard they cracked down on gold sellers and banned a bunch of them, I know someone in my company got banned for buying gold from rolegold.com so they are leaving bad reviews for the management to get revenge.

  21. FormerUWOplayer on October 5, 2016

    This game was great before it’s developer leased it to a corrupt little Korean owned company based in Vancouver Canada (OGP) They put a player as a GM (GM Coolwind) who has dedicated his life (literally) to banning all the players who sunk him before he became a GM, They will ban anyone who talks about this as well. If you don’t mind a completely corrupt game where you can be banned at anytime for almost any reason, this game is for you.

    • Guillermo on April 5, 2018

      that issue has been resolved, you should try the new server.

  22. Anti-Wind on August 29, 2016

    GM CoolWind messing up the game by being bias, power crazy and totally un-reasonable. OGP and Koei should rethink their dumb idea of putting a player as their GM.

    Been playing for more than 4 years now, absolute love the game and there’s nothing out there like it, yet, but sad to see the game running aground coz of a player GM calling the shots at his wimps and fancies.

  23. Dustin on August 8, 2016

    Rampant and extreme GM/Mod corruption, the worst I’ve ever seen from any mmo I’ve ever played. I don’t recommend this game’s publisher OGP or their choice of GMs.

    • Guillermo on April 5, 2018

      the GM coolwind situation was really just a temporary issue – he’s long gone, and the game is even on a new server. All is well in the UWO world now!

  24. Spartaman on February 26, 2016

    The stuff in this game are from real history or folklore. I played this game for over a year, it’s definitely not tailored for the modern MMORPG players who just like click here for quest, go there, kill stuff, report, no thinking needed.
    This game is very challenging that you feel accomplished when you get your new ships, leveled up. Very old school MMO, you can only appreciate it if you are older. I think the people playing this probably average 25-35 years old. I met people as old as 65 playing it, haha.
    You don’t get this kind of game in North America because it is made with subscription model in mind in Japan, it’s never intended to be free to play. They simply made it into free to play when they port it out of Japan.
    The free to play games we got here made with cash shop sales in mind when they make the game play. I get access to everything in game and there is no energy bar or running dungeon consume some coin etc crap, I never felt the need to pay for it.
    You should definitely try to see even if you aren’t interested in the theme, just to see what real mmo should be like when they are made with monthly subscription in mind.

  25. Former4YearVeteran on December 23, 2015

    I quit this game not because the game is bad because the game is amazing and very unique but because the current GM the company has put in charge is absolutely overbearing, rude, unprofessional and dishonest to the point many multi year veterans are quitting the game due to his antics and power trip. This GM is a former player which is a terrible decision and currently has nobody overseeing his activity and has many players fearfully avoiding forums and chat just to avoid him banning. I want to recommend this game but while GM Coolwind is there I think you should look elsewhere for a game experience and this hurts me a lot to say since I enjoyed the game so much but I can’t in good consciousness tell anyone to come until he is replaced. UWO is the perfect example where one bad GM can ruin a perfect game.

  26. oh dear on February 22, 2015

    ip block :I

  27. Joe on July 28, 2013

    Do yourself a BIG FAVOR and don’t waste your time with this piece of crap! At one time I would have highly recommended this game but not any more. The GM”s are terrible and go to great lengths to reinforce the huge power trip they are all on. They seem to go out of their way to make the game bad for anyone who even remotely disagrees with their terrible management of the game. They lie to the customer base and have ran off almost all the long time players. The turn over rate of the people starting the game is huge. It is very sad to invest the huge amount of time and money the game requires only to have the rug pulled out from under you by the very people who you are paying their wages. Sure you can play for free…… you can also walk a hundred miles but most people drive. Same thing here. To get anywhere you almost have to spend real money. The game isn’t cheap! Expect to spend at least $30.00 a month. I used to but not anymore! I had it with their greed, lies, intimidation, lack of any kind of fair play. Like I said at the start. Don’t waste your time!

    • Jazzmin on August 7, 2013

      It is a good game for those who don’t mind grinding. I have played it for over 2 years.
      The above post is made by a hater who doesn’t like the fact he had to work for stuff.
      IGN Jazzmin

      • Joe on August 15, 2013

        I played the game sense it was out in Beta. Longer than you did. I never minded the grinding and reached level 51/67/63 before I got fed up with their bullshit! Hater… yes .. I guess you could say that. I had over three years and lots of real money invested in my toon only to watch as time after time they lied about fixing the many problems that the dungeons caused. Watched as all the work I put into my toon was ruined cause dungeon crawlers (your probably one) took over the game. If you only been playing for 2 years then you don’t have a clue of what a great game it had been before the developers themselves ruined it!

        • Guillermo on April 5, 2018

          Geez, I’ve got higher levels than that, and the new server has only been open a few months. But, why not give it a try? no more GM problems!

  28. shawn on May 19, 2013

    its run by atleast half a dozen companys, the main one having its CEO arrested for selling game gold lol.poorly maintained,economy destroyed and poor managment.they basically sell everything made or gotten in game.look at the forums,world chat and play for a day you wont be back.

    • dave on May 27, 2013

      Yeah, well, it’s a now 8 years old game where they screwed up the localization and the UI. So obviously only smaller companies would want to host it, and have to try to milk money from it to pay for server rent (and more importantly, server admin’s wages).

      On the plus side, this means 75% discounts off all the old booster packs.
      On the minus side, there are many fewer players than there used to be.

      [I play this one mainly because I need a break from Eve Online for a while.]

  29. mu on April 6, 2013

    im downloading it right now it looks realy cool

  30. Anon on January 26, 2013

    Great game, Ive tried my fair share of MMORPGs, but theres something about this game that keeps me hooked on it. That feeling … you have the whole world (well most of it) to explore and endless horizons, you can engage in trading exploring or in combat. Ship combat is pretty fun. Not sure if it gets repetitive for some people. There are large amounts of skills for you to learn and master. Of course the graphics (especially the land locations) are a bit dated and can be a turn off at times, but looking beyond that you’ll find is a great game.

    The quest and story line dialogue are done very well, better than other mmorpgs. So if you’re looking for a new game to play and don’t mind the graphics or the historic setting, then be sure to give Uncharted Waters Online a try.

  31. Zerynthia on August 29, 2011

    I loved Uncharted Waters 2 on the SNES, so I went into this game full of hope. I’d heard lots of things about the game as it’s been out for yonks in Korea. I didnt listen to any of the cries of how bad the game was, I was determined to love/like the game.
    So I went in head first, knowing whats what about UCW 2 I thought I’d have a good handle on the game, I couldnt be more wrong. Let Me say right from the off, the game boasts YEARS of playing time, which is true, only because it so sodding grind based. You have to grind so much, in fact I dont think I’ve every grinded in a game as much as I have in this. Its a piss poor game, it really is, its boring, its ugly, it runs like a bag of shite even on a monster pc. Its just all around a bit of a pisser. Yes this is an angry review as I loved the games as a child (fond memories of fun), which oddly enough, fun is sorely lacking from this game, clearly the dev team missed the point of fun school eh. Speaking of school, thats the start of the game, and by christ do you have to put sometime in to pass the school. It would be easier and more fun to actually back to school lol.
    I could rant on for ages about this game being a right arse, but I wont bother, if you like it (you do?) then pass this review off as crap. If you have never played this game but think you might like to try, I’d say dont bother as its beyond hope.

    • michael_458392 on May 8, 2012

      liar, itis an awesome game i love it 10 out of 10 i am maritime (the ones that need to grind the most) and it is tons of fun if you are smart about how you play you will do well i have been playing since september 2010 it is now april 2012 and i dont plan on stopping there is a bit of shortage on character costomizations, aka you are limited in attire but the ships are costomizable to the exterme and there are hundreds of different types the classes there are 3 main types and if you play well you can master all three (i have completed all tutorials for maritime am on my final exam for the final tutorial on trad and have completed the first adventure tutorial and working on the intermediate) if you do something similar to what i do you can get any combo of skills you need
      (hint; get shipwright you will lose millions but then you can gain billions once you get to a high enough level)

  32. ign:Nvenom on April 18, 2011

    So ill make this simple for people reading (not really)

    The game includes 3 roles that all work within eachother that you can switch out or change anytime you want

    Meritime: basically your average soldier – There hard to play because the movement system takes a second to register and they make 1/10 what other roles make although they are alot more fun and keep things edgy,

    Adventurer: basically a treasure hunter – go figure they make tons of money, how ever it takes alot of time to find anything good, but when you do it is rewarding. they also get stuck venturing onto dry land.. it will get you lost very easly as they made the mini map by a 3 year olds standards based on how a map would have looked in the 1500’s (i feel as though it was a bad move on there part) u do get a bunch of skills to help you navigate that minefield though so it does balance out.

    Trader: so you like going in a straight line with nothing around you for hours (real time) than is this the class for you starting out you will go about 10 mins into the sea to make roughly 500$ profit ingame were as level 50 traders can do it and make 15 million… seems odd i know but if ur lucky one will just walk up and give you a ton of money but be carefull this class is all about spending money to make money, spend it wrong and you are broke. basically this class depends on lots of gold and a good ship so dont choose it starting out!!!!!!!!!!! its epic fail!!!!!!!!! switch to it once you got tons of money and by tons i mean like 2-5mil

    the tutorial is HUGE and will take you about 3-5 days to complete (real time) although u arent limited to it you can just go off and explore the world if you choose.

    if you are wondering you can be a pirate you just need to have high maritime like lvl80 and than start killing players you will get a bounty and you can put skulls on your flags and etc.. etc..

    as for the game world it is even bigger than you can imagine it really is the key point of this game
    imagine walking from here to the moon.. that’s what it feels like sailing in that vast ocean with over
    2000 little land spots to explore and all the city’s you can imagine. in a way its kinda sad because there is only about 300 different pieces of attire combined, and that is reallly small compared to how far you will go.

    basically if you play it right and manage your money its a 10/10 game
    if you start off a trader and go all willy nilly like i did you will be stuck at a port in the middle of nowere with no cash on you at all and see the fatal words in your mind -GAME OVER-
    so for me its was about a 3/10 experience anyway’s good luck with it

Leave your review!