Free to Play Cast: Dauntless Alpha Review, Going F2P with Stealth, and Closers Online Ep 232

On this week's show we dig into some Dauntless alpha and give our reviews so far, chat about games closing and others going F2P (with stealth!), and wrap it up with En Masse news by way of Closers Online and TERA Hacks (still..) All that and more on this week's Free to Play Cast!

Discussion Timestamps:

02:01 Dauntless Alpha Review
26:00 Going to F2P with Stealth/Skysaga Shutting Down
37:27 En Masse: Closers Online and TERA Hacks
42:27 Weekly Bombs (DA-Bomb / A-Bomb)
52:19 Questions and Answers of the Week

If you have submissions for the show's Weekly Bombs, have questions for the panel (nothing is off limits!), or just ideas for what you want covered you can now send them to magicman@mmobomb.com. You can also be a guest in the show, just send us why you want to host, and what topic or game you would like to cover.

Free-To-Play Cast is the official podcast (and videocast) of MMOBomb.com about free to play multiplayer online games. Free-To-Play Cast takes on the week's biggest news with plenty of opinion, weekly bombs, community feedback, guests, laughs thrown in for good measure and much more. Have fun and expect a new episode next week!

Share this Video:

Discussion (3)

Pennlion 4 years ago
I am actual familiar with the Strat-O-Matic line of sports board games from the 70s. Never played any myself but did play a lot of Avalon Hill games and still have quite a few. I have never owned a game console, to many PC games to play.

ElusiveXTreasure 4 years ago
Da-Bomb to RIFT... again... or rather to new beginnings on it. I did something insane even for me. As you all know, I'm known to delete max level characters to re-level them because I enjoy the leveling experience far more than endgame. The hubby and I did that x100... deleted and re-created two accounts worth of characters to re-start because we decided to kick WoW to the curb and make RIFT our game. We had been dabbling in several MMOs including RIFT, and we will probably still dabble in TSW, but the truth was we needed one to call home and RIFT fit the bill. This was a long time coming and I'm having a blast.

Nesogra 4 years ago
A dabomb to Anet for the Path of Fire elite specs and a MASSIVE DABOMB to Anet for how they implemented mounts.

Most of the new elite specs have more flavor and new mechanics to play with than their Heart of Thorn's counter parts. It would have been nice to have more time to test them but the expack will be here soon enough.

When I first heard about mounts through the leaks I was actually dreading their addition. There are so many games (like Breath of the Wild) that make mounts a boring movement speed boost at the cost of the more interesting movement mechanics like platforming, climbing, gliding, etc. that make exploration far more fun. Since the primary reason Gw2 stuck with me was the platforming and exploration seeing that Anet gave each mount movement abilities and built platforming content around those abilities has completely changed my mind on them. Mounts in Gw2 are AMAZING!

P.S. to Troy: For most elite specs the new weapon is designed to complement the spec but isn't actually the meat of the spec so not only can you play the spec with a different weapon often older weapons are more effective. Most of the new skills and mechanics (the meat) you get with Soulbeast actually comes from absorbing your pet which lets you cast their skills using the function keys.

P.P.S. to Mike: Bearbow ranger (longbow ranger using a tanky pet like the bear) is the Gw2 pve equivalent of playing a pvp game against bots. ;)


You May Enjoy

Always Online Podcast: Peeking At Starkeepers, Exoprimal, ReVerse, Texas Chainsaw, & Is XBox Game Pass A Good Thing? Ep 436

Always Online Podcast: Peeking At Starkeepers, Exoprimal, ReVerse, Texas Chainsaw, & Is XBox Game Pass A Good Thing? Ep 436

The game reveals just keep coming so let's look at things we want to try out soon!

By Michael Byrne - 1 week ago
Always Online Podcast: Riders Of Icarus And NFTs, PalWorld's New Trailer, Star Trek Online, & Other Dumb Gaming News Ep 433

Always Online Podcast: Riders Of Icarus And NFTs, PalWorld's New Trailer, Star Trek Online, & Other Dumb Gaming News Ep 433

The multiplayer gaming news world was wild this week with some really dumb decisions.

By Michael Byrne - 1 month ago
Is Star Trek Online Worth Playing in 2022? - Wilfredo Reviews

Is Star Trek Online Worth Playing in 2022? - Wilfredo Reviews

In Wilfredo's first dive into full video creation on the site, he takes to space to figure out if this aged MMORPG is still worth getting into today.

By Michael Byrne - 1 month ago
Top 5 Free To Play Weekly Stories - Overwatch 2 Goes Free To Play, New Warzone Coming Ep 514

Top 5 Free To Play Weekly Stories - Overwatch 2 Goes Free To Play, New Warzone Coming Ep 514

Game Pass hits the F2P world in a big way with a new partnership with Riot Games.

By Michael Byrne - 2 weeks ago
Top 5 Free to Play Weekly Stories - Valorant Will Be Listening To Your Mic And Tower of Fantasy Release Ep 515

Top 5 Free to Play Weekly Stories - Valorant Will Be Listening To Your Mic And Tower of Fantasy Release Ep 515

Yep...and chat will be recorded for use in player reporting.

By Michael Byrne - 2 days ago
Always Online Podcast: FFXIV Patch 6.15, Sony's State of Play, Roller Champions, And Very Early Thoughts on LEAP Ep 434

Always Online Podcast: FFXIV Patch 6.15, Sony's State of Play, Roller Champions, And Very Early Thoughts on LEAP Ep 434

Getting down and dirty with some games coming up and some that are leaving us!

By Michael Byrne - 3 weeks ago