Free to Play Cast: Dauntless Alpha Review, Going F2P with Stealth, and Closers Online Ep 232

On this week's show we dig into some Dauntless alpha and give our reviews so far, chat about games closing and others going F2P (with stealth!), and wrap it up with En Masse news by way of Closers Online and TERA Hacks (still..) All that and more on this week's Free to Play Cast!

Discussion Timestamps:

02:01 Dauntless Alpha Review
26:00 Going to F2P with Stealth/Skysaga Shutting Down
37:27 En Masse: Closers Online and TERA Hacks
42:27 Weekly Bombs (DA-Bomb / A-Bomb)
52:19 Questions and Answers of the Week

If you have submissions for the show's Weekly Bombs, have questions for the panel (nothing is off limits!), or just ideas for what you want covered you can now send them to magicman@mmobomb.com. You can also be a guest in the show, just send us why you want to host, and what topic or game you would like to cover.

Free-To-Play Cast is the official podcast (and videocast) of MMOBomb.com about free to play multiplayer online games. Free-To-Play Cast takes on the week's biggest news with plenty of opinion, weekly bombs, community feedback, guests, laughs thrown in for good measure and much more. Have fun and expect a new episode next week!

Share this Video:

Discussion (3)

Pennlion 5 years ago
I am actual familiar with the Strat-O-Matic line of sports board games from the 70s. Never played any myself but did play a lot of Avalon Hill games and still have quite a few. I have never owned a game console, to many PC games to play.

ElusiveXTreasure 5 years ago
Da-Bomb to RIFT... again... or rather to new beginnings on it. I did something insane even for me. As you all know, I'm known to delete max level characters to re-level them because I enjoy the leveling experience far more than endgame. The hubby and I did that x100... deleted and re-created two accounts worth of characters to re-start because we decided to kick WoW to the curb and make RIFT our game. We had been dabbling in several MMOs including RIFT, and we will probably still dabble in TSW, but the truth was we needed one to call home and RIFT fit the bill. This was a long time coming and I'm having a blast.

Nesogra 5 years ago
A dabomb to Anet for the Path of Fire elite specs and a MASSIVE DABOMB to Anet for how they implemented mounts.

Most of the new elite specs have more flavor and new mechanics to play with than their Heart of Thorn's counter parts. It would have been nice to have more time to test them but the expack will be here soon enough.

When I first heard about mounts through the leaks I was actually dreading their addition. There are so many games (like Breath of the Wild) that make mounts a boring movement speed boost at the cost of the more interesting movement mechanics like platforming, climbing, gliding, etc. that make exploration far more fun. Since the primary reason Gw2 stuck with me was the platforming and exploration seeing that Anet gave each mount movement abilities and built platforming content around those abilities has completely changed my mind on them. Mounts in Gw2 are AMAZING!

P.S. to Troy: For most elite specs the new weapon is designed to complement the spec but isn't actually the meat of the spec so not only can you play the spec with a different weapon often older weapons are more effective. Most of the new skills and mechanics (the meat) you get with Soulbeast actually comes from absorbing your pet which lets you cast their skills using the function keys.

P.P.S. to Mike: Bearbow ranger (longbow ranger using a tanky pet like the bear) is the Gw2 pve equivalent of playing a pvp game against bots. ;)


You May Enjoy

Dysterra Gameplay - A Dystopian First Look (B2P)

Dysterra Gameplay - A Dystopian First Look (B2P)

Early access has started but with low player counts, does the game get a fair shake?

By Anthony Jones - 16 hours ago
Call of Duty: Warzone 2 - A Sequel's First Look (F2P)

Call of Duty: Warzone 2 - A Sequel's First Look (F2P)

Was it worth releasing a sequel or should updates just have continued on the original?

By Michael Byrne - 1 day ago
Kingshunt Gameplay - A "Paragon-y" First Look (F2P)

Kingshunt Gameplay - A "Paragon-y" First Look (F2P)

Trying to set itself up to succeed where Paragon didn't, Kingshunt pushes into early access.

By Anthony Jones - 3 weeks ago
Galahad 3093 Gameplay - A Mech-y First Look (F2P)

Galahad 3093 Gameplay - A Mech-y First Look (F2P)

Mech players are underserved right now, but is a new entry in the genre always a good thing?

By Anthony Jones - 4 weeks ago
Always Online Podcast: Blue Protocol, ArcheAge 2, and Other New MMORPGs, Dual Universe Thoughts, And Blizz In China Ep 455

Always Online Podcast: Blue Protocol, ArcheAge 2, and Other New MMORPGs, Dual Universe Thoughts, And Blizz In China Ep 455

It's kind of unbelievable how many MMORPGs are in development right now.

By Michael Byrne - 2 weeks ago
Always Online Podcast: Kakao Games' Rough Quarter, Hotel May Sue Activision, & Should MMORPGs Invest All Content? Ep 454

Always Online Podcast: Kakao Games' Rough Quarter, Hotel May Sue Activision, & Should MMORPGs Invest All Content? Ep 454

Is it worth the time and money that MMORPGs put into high-end difficulty content?

By Michael Byrne - 1 month ago