Free to Play Cast: Open Betas Galore and World of Warships Review Ep. 145

So many open betas, not enough time! This week we chat about open beta (and launches!) of World of Warships, CABAL 2, Skyforge, Path of Exile: The Awakening, Trove, and more! Get all that and more on this week's Free to Play Cast!

Discussion Timestamps:

01:34 Open Betas and World of Warships Review
15:50 Trion Worlds and Trove
21:47 Marvel Heroes 2015 Giving Away Cash
25:21 Weekly Bombs (DA-Bomb / A-Bomb)
40:24 Questions and Answers of the Week

If you have submissions for the show's Weekly Bombs, have questions for the panel (nothing is off limits!), or just ideas for what you want covered you can now send them to magicman@mmobomb.com. You can also be a guest in the show, just send us why you want to host, and what topic or game you would like to cover.

Free-To-Play Cast is the official podcast (and videocast) of MMOBomb.com about free to play multiplayer online games. Free-To-Play Cast takes on the week's biggest news with plenty of opinion, weekly bombs, community feedback, guests, laughs thrown in for good measure and much more. Have fun and expect a new episode next week!

Don´t forget to subscribe to Free to Play Cast via Youtube.

Share this Video:

Discussion (12)

ElusiveXTreasure 6 years ago
I've got to give a DA-Bomb to Skyforge. My husband and have been enjoying early access, and believe it will become our new 'anti-social MMO', in other words, something we can duo when we're tired of jerks on other games. Action combat is kind of a scary thing for me since I have some control loss in my right hand (and I am very right handed) so I was glad to see the controls were user-friendly enough for me to handle with some degree of competency while still posing a challenge. I used to be an Allods player, quite some time ago, so I had mixed feelings on this one, but so far I like what I see.

teppic 6 years ago
Mike, re the comments you made about my opinion on Trion, I can see exactly what you mean. I guess my point is that you aren't going to get a negative opinion of the game from anyone still playing it after all the crap they've put people through, so it's really worth no more than the scathing opinions of ex players who were burnt by the company (who at least have a genuine issue). A reputation has to be earned, and I don't think Trion has done anything in that regard. They continue to exploit people with RNG boxes and pay to win elements, and they never acknowledged responsibility for all of the blatant lies, retroactive site editing and general unethical crap they pulled with ArcheAge. They've seen that their methods still rake in the cash, so I don't see things changing.

whyaname 6 years ago
Hey magicman. If you are still there waiting to when you can end your boycott, then im here to tell you that the boycott should newer end based on why you started it anyways. As someone mentioned on the show they fk d up and refused to refond anything really and thoes who got founders packs will newer see that money again. Pluss Trove is a nice game and again they have issues with login queues witch last up to 45 mins and i only got in once without a queue and evrytime there is atleast a 10 min queue witch last 20 mins atleast so yeah. Rift is gonna have to wait an eternety for you.

View 1 reply
teppic 6 years ago
Regarding gender locked classes and Jason's comment, Dwarves in lotro are kind of genderless; you can't select male or female in the character creation. Lore wise, I believe Tolkien said that only Dwarves could tell the difference between the sexes. The game's cosmetics are not gender locked, so players who want female dwarves can wear dresses, etc. if they want to. I'd also say that a gender locked race is something very different from a class, as you could have mythical races that have one, two or more genders.

Judarian 6 years ago
as for skyforge. i will not support any of my.games decisions and games anymore. the open beta. is really a closed beta for people who want to throw $20 to $70 into the game to get in to what they are calling an open beta.. i downloaded launcher and game which is 10 gigs. just to find out i get error 438. this beta is for founder pack users only. so really its closed pay to play beta.

View 2 replies
Freshundead 6 years ago
I've been playing marvel heroes 2015 as my main game for a little over a year now and I think its great that Gazzilion is doin the giveaway, the are a great company that gives back to its players a ton just in the last couple months ive got a couple free heroes, 1 free skin, 1 free team up and a free pet. I think they are one of the companies doin a great job with there community and the game is constantly adding content.

LeetDude 6 years ago
Jason im not bashing on you but can buy a new mic because everytime you talk i tend to skip it or it annoys the heck out of me it must just be me but please change it because u sound like ur mumbling and i know u say some interesting stuff its just that i dont understand it.

View 1 reply
Bratwurst 6 years ago
Hey guys THE Bratwurst here! :D (SMILEY FACE)
First of all love the show... and you guys... no homo. To answer your question, I am not sure which game would be nice to have that sort of cash giveaway event as Marvel Heroes seems to be the only one I have seen to be have actually done this.
It would be an interesting thing to do though, currently I just got hooked on World of Warships and just three days of playing I got my Waifu Kongo-desu! (You can blame Jingles for getting me attached to Kantai Collection)
Games that are heavy on PVE would do well with this since PVP would just turn into an actually battleground fighting for money.
To answer that question... THAT is a really good question to be honest and it is not an easy one to answer. Path of Exile would do well with this I believe, and possibly every other Diablo clone out there.


You May Enjoy

Always Online Podcast: Riders Of Icarus And NFTs, PalWorld's New Trailer, Star Trek Online, & Other Dumb Gaming News Ep 433

Always Online Podcast: Riders Of Icarus And NFTs, PalWorld's New Trailer, Star Trek Online, & Other Dumb Gaming News Ep 433

The multiplayer gaming news world was wild this week with some really dumb decisions.

By Michael Byrne - 4 weeks ago
Top 5 Free to Play Weekly Stories - MultiVersus Fighting Game Looks Kind Of Amazing Ep 510

Top 5 Free to Play Weekly Stories - MultiVersus Fighting Game Looks Kind Of Amazing Ep 510

We love the art style in MultiVersus and Konami did well...all that and more!

By Michael Byrne - 1 month ago
Always Online Podcast: Summer Game Fest Multiplayer Games, Stormgate, Warhammer 40K Darktide, And "Apparently" Ep 435

Always Online Podcast: Summer Game Fest Multiplayer Games, Stormgate, Warhammer 40K Darktide, And "Apparently" Ep 435

Breaking down what we thought of the Summer Game Fest keynote and, specifically, all the multiplayer titles!

By Michael Byrne - 2 weeks ago
Top 5 Free To Play Weekly Stories - Overwatch 2 Goes Free To Play, New Warzone Coming Ep 514

Top 5 Free To Play Weekly Stories - Overwatch 2 Goes Free To Play, New Warzone Coming Ep 514

Game Pass hits the F2P world in a big way with a new partnership with Riot Games.

By Michael Byrne - 1 week ago
Top 5 Free to Play Weekly Stories - League of Legends New Champ And A New Gaming Union! Ep 511

Top 5 Free to Play Weekly Stories - League of Legends New Champ And A New Gaming Union! Ep 511

The votes were counted, now negotiation will begin.

By Michael Byrne - 1 month ago
Is Star Trek Online Worth Playing in 2022? - Wilfredo Reviews

Is Star Trek Online Worth Playing in 2022? - Wilfredo Reviews

In Wilfredo's first dive into full video creation on the site, he takes to space to figure out if this aged MMORPG is still worth getting into today.

By Michael Byrne - 4 weeks ago