Free to Play Cast: Rift, Nexon and NCSoft Financials, and Revelation Online Review Ep 201

On this week's show we break down the financial Q3 reports for both NCSoft and Nexon, dabble in Rift's new Starfall Prophecy expansion, and give brief reviews of both Revelation Online and Versus: Battle of the Gladiator. All that and more on this week's Free to Play Cast!

Discussion Timestamps:

01:26 NCSoft and Nexon Financials
17:44 Rift's Starfall Prophecy
28:11 Revelation Online and Versus Review
36:07 Weekly Bombs (DA-Bomb / A-Bomb)
45:14 Questions and Answers of the Week

If you have submissions for the show's Weekly Bombs, have questions for the panel (nothing is off limits!), or just ideas for what you want covered you can now send them to magicman@mmobomb.com. You can also be a guest in the show, just send us why you want to host, and what topic or game you would like to cover.

Free-To-Play Cast is the official podcast (and videocast) of MMOBomb.com about free to play multiplayer online games. Free-To-Play Cast takes on the week's biggest news with plenty of opinion, weekly bombs, community feedback, guests, laughs thrown in for good measure and much more. Have fun and expect a new episode next week!

Share this Video:

Discussion (7)

Turkey 5 years ago
Team fortress 2 is nice example. Free to try out not free to play really. I think that there should be a another new words for those that come out.

Pie 5 years ago
I'm guessing the damage is being done. it can't be repaired anymore.

Hellsworth 5 years ago
Ok this is a big one (feel free to cut where you need to if you want to mention something), so about Rift, my aproach on this is quite unique because generally when someone says "free to play" I actually expect to play something for free and either would have to trade in currency at some point and either by trading, supporting the game, queueing up for stuff, answering to major chat questions that I know the answers to, or even posting my ideas or bug reports and generally be active in a game while having fun with my time while knowing that a company is proffiting on this "MY TIME" (after all time is... well). I don't consider GW2 or now RIFT as F2P because these games shut content out for a price and that for me is actually borderline hypocritical because there is no "trade in game currency" that you can make to actually buy the content without banking it in (hence not free as advertised, BUT be mindful I have NOTHING against it being B2P it's a GOOD thing especially when it's advertised upfront not the other way around).
About Revelation Online and hype trains that hit walls, I recall saying that (in a realistic non-cynical or without being called Mr. Winters) my foot was back there on the other room and it seems I might've been right... again :) .
Da-Bombs for Mr. J. Winters as he absolutely has a great set of .../whistles... to show his address online and for Mr. Byrne's podcast edit skills and of course an A-Bomb for tobacco and lung cancer get rid of THAT.
As for the question of the week I'm a "play to get it" kind of guy I don't mind that other people pay to get content ahead of me provided I get the oportunity to play the game my way, sometimes I don't mind to wait as needed in order to craft some "keys" to open some "gates" to get some "content", or even farm or grind some currency to trade-in to partially pay for something I need to get as I delve further and further into the game. I find this engaging and intelectually stimulating and afterwords it'll get to be an achievement or even a badge of honor for me, especially if it's well done with the "store" in a more "roleplay" kind of way, all in all it can be a unique experience where everyone can win and not a "forceful capitalistic micronagging" endeavour. Now is this enough to sustain a game? Well the size of it's community needs to dictate I guess but when you look at certain games that make it you can't expect other games that do NOT do it to NOT do it. As examples are Warframe, Path of Exile, Marvel Heroes, Dota 2, LOL, HOTS, Smite, Paladins, Paragon, insert random TCGs, even Star Trek Online or DDO have in-game currencies that you can trade in to get Store Currency so you can more or less work your way through over time.

craig eyears 5 years ago
i played skyforge for a long time i made up 8 different people in different classes to god mode and was having fun. they did a major update and i went {what the hell} they changed ever thing it was like playing a new game.i would have had to find every thing again tried to for a couple of hours and went no so i stopped playing it

voydd 5 years ago
Guys, I think you should bring different guests to the show from time to time. Youtubers who play other f2p mmos regularly like Bog Otter (Jason's good mate from gw2), AkaMikeb or other. I would love you even moar!

View 1 reply

You May Enjoy

Top 5 Free To Play Weekly Stories - Overwatch 2 Goes Free To Play, New Warzone Coming Ep 514

Top 5 Free To Play Weekly Stories - Overwatch 2 Goes Free To Play, New Warzone Coming Ep 514

Game Pass hits the F2P world in a big way with a new partnership with Riot Games.

By Michael Byrne - 1 week ago
Top 5 Free to Play Weekly Stories - Diablo Immortal Gets Destroyed By Reviewing Players Ep 513

Top 5 Free to Play Weekly Stories - Diablo Immortal Gets Destroyed By Reviewing Players Ep 513

Yeah...turns out that if you don't do monetization right the reviews may suffer.

By Michael Byrne - 2 weeks ago
Is Star Trek Online Worth Playing in 2022? - Wilfredo Reviews

Is Star Trek Online Worth Playing in 2022? - Wilfredo Reviews

In Wilfredo's first dive into full video creation on the site, he takes to space to figure out if this aged MMORPG is still worth getting into today.

By Michael Byrne - 1 month ago
Top 5 Free to Play Weekly Stories - League of Legends New Champ And A New Gaming Union! Ep 511

Top 5 Free to Play Weekly Stories - League of Legends New Champ And A New Gaming Union! Ep 511

The votes were counted, now negotiation will begin.

By Michael Byrne - 1 month ago
Always Online Podcast: Peeking At Starkeepers, Exoprimal, ReVerse, Texas Chainsaw, & Is XBox Game Pass A Good Thing? Ep 436

Always Online Podcast: Peeking At Starkeepers, Exoprimal, ReVerse, Texas Chainsaw, & Is XBox Game Pass A Good Thing? Ep 436

The game reveals just keep coming so let's look at things we want to try out soon!

By Michael Byrne - 1 week ago
Top 5 Free to Play Weekly Stories - This Is What That Marvel MMO Would've Looked Like, Yikes! Ep 512

Top 5 Free to Play Weekly Stories - This Is What That Marvel MMO Would've Looked Like, Yikes! Ep 512

Maybe getting the axe was the best thing for the game as this looked more Pixar than Marvel.

By Michael Byrne - 3 weeks ago