Free to Play Cast: Tree of Savior Review, EA Nickels and Dimes Ep. 162

Total War: Arena and Tree of Savior get reviewed, we chat about EA nickel and diming customers, and finish it of with some SWTOR companions chat. All that and more on this week's Free to Play Cast!

Discussion Timestamps:

02:07 Total War: Arena and Tree of Savior Review
22:47 EA Nickel and Diming
33:45 SWTOR Companions
38:35 Weekly Bombs (DA-Bomb / A-Bomb)
48:51 Questions and Answers of the Week

If you have submissions for the show's Weekly Bombs, have questions for the panel (nothing is off limits!), or just ideas for what you want covered you can now send them to magicman@mmobomb.com. You can also be a guest in the show, just send us why you want to host, and what topic or game you would like to cover.

Free-To-Play Cast is the official podcast (and videocast) of MMOBomb.com about free to play multiplayer online games. Free-To-Play Cast takes on the week's biggest news with plenty of opinion, weekly bombs, community feedback, guests, laughs thrown in for good measure and much more. Have fun and expect a new episode next week!

Don´t forget to subscribe to Free to Play Cast via Youtube.

Share this Video:

Discussion (12)

Pennlion 6 years ago
Believe it or not I think Fate would be good MMO. It is by Wildtangent, was translated into over a dozen different langauges and sold millions of copies. I think it was the true inspiration for Torchlight, there were no pets in Diablo. Give it a third person perspective some nice costumes and it would be great for kids. I did spend over 100 hours on the game and all my kids played it.

ElusiveXTreasure 6 years ago
*Flips keyboard* ... dang thing errored out on me twice! Anywho...the single player game series I'd like to see as an MMO is Disgaea. I love the art style and the way they do storytelling with hiding depth behind silliness then hitting you in the gut with a serious moment when it counts. It already has a multi-verse, several races, classes, and progression options out the wazoo. The tricky part is making a turn-based strategy game multiplayer. My only thought on that front is how the hubby and I make it "two-player". Since the total characters you can have on the map is 10, we each create 5 and operate our 5 as its own "unit". We either take turns going through the maps with only our unit, or on more difficult endeavors, each operate our units independently on the same map to kill certain mobs or take care of objectives (i.e. geos, chests, etc.). Overall, I think it would be a good way to expose people not familiar with the series or style of gameplay even to a game that is just a lot of fun and has fun with itself.

chrisbaker55 6 years ago
Well if you know me I loooove my wuxia/martial arts games ,and I've always wanted to see some sort of sequel to Biowares RPG of 2005 Jade Empire. I would be nice to see Bioware revive one of their older IP's even if I highly doubt Jade Empire would fair well under the MMO format...

Especially under Biowares Free to play format... (opps)

huehuehue 6 years ago
dis is y i feel nothing wen i pirate & get the latest updates too hueheuhue

noobs

Deathloche 6 years ago
I would actually want a Ghost Recon MMO. I think it would have the makings of a really good one. for the simple fact that pvp is already solid in all of those games. With the amount of tech skills weapon mod and equipment you can have would make for a really good experience in my opinion. I'm think as far as the world goes I would want it to be instanced based, kind of like Vindictus or Warframe, with the areas being twice the size of what Warframe has to offer. I like Warframe cash shop because its basically optional. Mostly everything in that game can be crafted so I really like that. I would try my best to keep UbiSoft hand away from my the cash shop especially since Ghost Recon Phantoms cash shop is completely pay to win.

View 1 reply
tolshortte 6 years ago
Q of the week: Transformers. should have happened already. build your bot, level your bot, gear your bot, destroy your enemy.

Lagwin1980 6 years ago
I like the looks of tree of savior.
EA...you don't want to Nickel and Dime?, change your free to play model on swtor...i have stuff i cant use now because i choose not to pay despite having a boxed copy.

multiple bombs for Path of exile.
A bomb(yes an a bomb) for their initial supporters packs, and i hate to do that since it's to support them in future development BUT the pack was lackluster to say the least, price wise you got more for that money over the previous supporters packs. you got more for that tier of pack...what it would consist of for quite a few people was points and a forum tag (the pet and social frame not everyone use)

Da-Bomb for them listening to the players on the above issue, within a few hours they updated the announcement to tell the players that there would be a new portal effect for the bottom two tiers of supporters pack and weapon effects for all of them to be added once they were done.

Also a Da-Bomb for the ascendancy "expansion" coming early next year, the labyrinth looks fun and the sub classes look ridiculously over powered and to me would open op many options on how to play a specific build.

Lagwin1980 6 years ago
I like the looks of tree of savior.
EA...you don't want to Nickel and Dime?, change your free to play model on swtor...i have shit i cant use now because i choose not to pay despite having a boxed copy.

multiple bombs for Path of exile.
A bomb(yes an a bomb) for their initial supporters packs, and i hate to do that since it's to support them in future development BUT the pack was lackluster to say the least, price wise you got more for that money over the previous supporters packs. you got more for that tier of pack...what it would consist of for quite a few people was points and a forum tag (the pet and social frame not everyone use)

Da-Bomb for them listening to the players on the above issue, within a few hours they updated the announcement to tell the players that there would be a new portal effect for the bottom two tiers of supporters pack and weapon effects for all of them to be added once they were done.

Also a Da-Bomb for the ascendancy "expansion" coming early next year, the labyrinth looks fun and the sub classes look ridiculously over powered and to me would open op many options on how to play a specific build.

View 1 reply

You May Enjoy

Top 5 Free to Play Weekly Stories - League of Legends New Champ And A New Gaming Union! Ep 511

Top 5 Free to Play Weekly Stories - League of Legends New Champ And A New Gaming Union! Ep 511

The votes were counted, now negotiation will begin.

By Michael Byrne - 1 month ago
Top 5 Free to Play Weekly Stories - Valorant Will Be Listening To Your Mic And Tower of Fantasy Release Ep 515

Top 5 Free to Play Weekly Stories - Valorant Will Be Listening To Your Mic And Tower of Fantasy Release Ep 515

Yep...and chat will be recorded for use in player reporting.

By Michael Byrne - 4 days ago
Top 5 Free to Play Weekly Stories - Diablo Immortal Gets Destroyed By Reviewing Players Ep 513

Top 5 Free to Play Weekly Stories - Diablo Immortal Gets Destroyed By Reviewing Players Ep 513

Yeah...turns out that if you don't do monetization right the reviews may suffer.

By Michael Byrne - 3 weeks ago
Roller Champions Gameplay - A High Speed First Look (F2P)

Roller Champions Gameplay - A High Speed First Look (F2P)

Get your butt around the arena and score points...but will the other team just let you?

By Michael Byrne - 4 weeks ago
Always Online Podcast: Peeking At Starkeepers, Exoprimal, ReVerse, Texas Chainsaw, & Is XBox Game Pass A Good Thing? Ep 436

Always Online Podcast: Peeking At Starkeepers, Exoprimal, ReVerse, Texas Chainsaw, & Is XBox Game Pass A Good Thing? Ep 436

The game reveals just keep coming so let's look at things we want to try out soon!

By Michael Byrne - 2 weeks ago
Always Online Podcast: FFXIV Patch 6.15, Sony's State of Play, Roller Champions, And Very Early Thoughts on LEAP Ep 434

Always Online Podcast: FFXIV Patch 6.15, Sony's State of Play, Roller Champions, And Very Early Thoughts on LEAP Ep 434

Getting down and dirty with some games coming up and some that are leaving us!

By Michael Byrne - 4 weeks ago