Dota 2


Dota 2 is a 3D MOBA published by Valve. The official remake of the original Dota mod, Dota 2 brings over 100 original heroes from the original. Each game of Dota 2 pits 5 players versus 5 other players in head to head PvP action! Players can choose participate in practice matches versus bots, engage in friendly matches with friends, or form a clan and compete against other teams.

In Dota 2 players choose a hero to enter battle with. Once in game, players must work together to level up and defeat the enemy teams base by destroying it. To do this players must kill the enemy teams "minions" which spawn in waves throughout the entire game. These minions drop gold which players can then use to purchase items in order to become stronger.

At the end of each match whether your team wins or looses, random players are awarded items which they can use to customize the appearance of their favorite heroes!

Disclosure: MMOBomb works closely with publishers and developers to offer a free and rewarding experience. In order to keep everything free to use we may sometimes earn a small commission from some partners. Find more info in our FAQ page.

Additional Information

Title

Dota 2

Developer
Valve
Publisher
Valve
Release Date
July 09, 2013
Genre
MOBA
Platform
Windows (Client)
Please note this free-to-play game may or may not offer optional in-game purchases.

Latest Updates

Minimum System Requirements (Windows)

OS

Windows 7

Memory

4 GB RAM

Storage

8 GB available space

Processor

Dual core from Intel or AMD at 2.8 GHz

Graphics

nVidia GeForce 8600/9600GT, ATI/AMD Radeon HD2600/3600

Additional Notes

Specifications may change during development

All material on this page is copyrighted by ©Valve and their respective licensors. All other trademarks are the property of their respective owners.
See All

Games like Dota 2

Heroes of Newerth - Heroes of Newerth (HoN) is a free to play Team based arena style action RPG that is very similar to DotA (Defense of the Ancients - a Warcraft 3 Mod). In Heroes of Newerth two teams of up to five players each take on the role of special Hero units.
Loading...
Paladins - Paladins: Champions of the Realm is Hi-Rez Studios
Loading...
FREE

Paladins

Battlerite - From the same dev team that brought you Bloodline Champions comes Battlerite, a free-to-play MOBA with a cast of colorful characters and a focus on skill-based gameplay. With a focus on short matches and fast action, Battlerite plays at a frenetic pace and offers spectator mode so you can cheer on your favorite players.
Loading...
FREE

Battlerite

User Reviews (95)

Do you recommend this game?
FoookenL 5 years ago
so i hope you know after the fall of the first dota game the makers left and started riot and made league so realisticly dota 2 copied league of legends because they obtained the rights to the graphics engin

Was this review helpful?
View 1 reply
I dont like 5 years ago
I hate it I don't like the controls or the view you get and how you must press space for the camera to move with you.

Was this review helpful?
View 1 reply
RIPMOBAGAMES 6 years ago
As my name states: Rest in Peace every MOBA game! It was nice playing with you all, these games were great, but it is time for them to die. The good old balance is no longer here... The good ideas were turned into s**t and parodies of themselves. The three of the greatest MOBAS: DotA2, League of Legends, and SMITE are soon to die, and don't say that the games are alive, they are dead. Only noobs or people who wasted so much money onto these games. It all started with one idea: "Aeon of Strife, a Starcraft 2 mod. After it came Defence of the Ancients, or DotA1 if you may call it, a Warcraft 3 mod. Then these three games began to develop." After a few years of running, it is time to put these games to rest. They were the three kings of the MOBA market, but now the market is about to die. It will remain for some time, because the developers still want their games to live, but they no longer succeed in doing so. DotA2 Reborn is horrible now, it is unbalanced, and it no longer have that perfect meta of 2013 before the TI3. League of Legends' developers are just trying to survive, because the game is no longer appealing. and SMITE, were always horrible, good idea, but it followed the Pay To Truly Play of the League, so not a lot of people wanted to get into the game. I have played all 3 games, for a good amount of time, but it is sad to realize that these games which started the new generation of MOBA games, the three kings, are soon will be dead. I am off to the DotA1 and Aeon of Strife! Just let these games to die, they are no longer worth your time!

Was this review helpful?
View 3 replies
kubasang 6 years ago
whoever says this game sucks are real life noobs. Had to admit, learning curve in this game is unfortunately very steep but once u get a grasp of the basics, well, you will be stuck on your monitor and wont play any other MOBA games ever!
Graphics are wow, and most of all strategy is the key and community is somewhat amusing except russians (kappa)...

Was this review helpful?
WONTONS 6 years ago
I honestly think dota 2 is better, and if you just did the tutorial of course you don't know how the real dota 2 is like. And if you're calling it for creepy people then you're probably just bad at it.

Was this review helpful?
DOTA2 6 years ago
DOTA 2 is the best and always be the best!

Was this review helpful?
TVvirus 6 years ago
I have to say that after playing LoL, Smite, and various other MOBAs out there that Dota 2 is easily the best I have played. I mean sure when I first tried it I didn't like it because of the difficulty of the whole thing in general, but after I learned the ropes it became a much better experience overall.

Was this review helpful?
Worst Game Ever 6 years ago
Dota is one of the worst MOBA's ever made. Stop saying LoL copied them, LoL is more active and more popular then this trash game.

Was this review helpful?
Epsilion 6 years ago
Dota2 will and always will be better than League of Legends.

Well, for all those idiots out there who think LoL copied Dota2, if anything it's the opposite.
Dota was the ORIGINAL MOBA. And I should know because my brother was a BETA tester for Dota2.

Now, what's also good about Dota2? All heroes are free. Sure, you can buy skins but that isn't necessary for gameplay and won't give you any advantage over any players. Oh, did I mention it's also free to play?

Some people don't play Dota2 because, honestly, it is more difficult that LoL. You can deny towers and creeps which adds a whole new level of gameplay to the genre of gaming we call a MOBA. So, all you noobs who think it's too hard, every game is hard at the beginning.

Tell me one reason League of Legends is better and please don't make it a crappy one.

Was this review helpful?
CoolFranczesca 6 years ago
I think )̲̅ζo)̲̅ζ is BETTER than DOTA 2

Was this review helpful?
View 1 reply
MobaReviewer 6 years ago
Dota 2 is the best moba in my opinion , if you compare this to another moba out there ,because dota has diverse meta to play.

Was this review helpful?
daWanted 6 years ago
DOTA2 must fit on any list of top 5 F2p MMO...After you learning the basics you will never play another MOBA...
haterz gonna hate

Was this review helpful?
LOLFANBOY 7 years ago
LoL is better.

Was this review helpful?
View 1 reply
Nedim 7 years ago
This game takes much skills and graphics are amazing,unlike some other MOBA's like LoL which has kid's graphics and takes no skills.

Was this review helpful?
tobian serpent 7 years ago
Having played Warcraft 3 dots from the start I transitioned into hon beta and then to dota 2 which I am still playing. I've also played a handful of hours of infinite crysis and LoL. For my money dota2 is the go with a huge community, constant tournaments and updates and a reasonably good ui to boot. They all have flaws but I believe dota 2 will have the longest reign in the Mona world.

Was this review helpful?
pavekkcz 7 years ago
this is good game and fun :D

Was this review helpful?
asd 7 years ago
rly nice game

Was this review helpful?
Falcon333 7 years ago
Hey, if anyone is interested in a Dota 2 key for the beta I got 15 when I activated mine (cause Valve is like that), if anyone wants one I will email them my steam account.

Was this review helpful?
View 1 reply
empty 7 years ago
dota 2 is the best in the world moba game is the best game in the world like that lol looollll not very pleasant game the graphics and gameplay STYLE is VERY

Was this review helpful?
Dee Dee 7 years ago
I personally hate this game and I believe that idiots play this creepy game lol, I just played tutorial that's all, I'll recommend to play 'smite' or wait and try upcoming 'Total War: Arena'.

Was this review helpful?
View 1 reply
James 7 years ago
I praised Dota 2 for the beautiful graphics with the Source engine. Although it can be confusing when it comes to managing your account, it remains its Zero-sum genre and offers wide range of customization (Store) . Well too bad, it is not recommended for low-end PCs as it requires heavy resources. I played it 3 times daily.

Verdict: 8.5/10

Was this review helpful?
C000L 7 years ago
Hi everyone I downlowd the game but it ask me for KEY .. can if you pls guys if any have key for that game send it to me and will be so happy ...........

Was this review helpful?
Gamer 7 years ago
I´ve love this game now is Dota 2 free to play so try it !. but for old players is this so bad beacuse this game play so many Russians players what means Russian language so you can hear sh**. I leave this game R.I.P this good game.

Was this review helpful?
Wrcrft1 8 years ago
Just goto steam store . there select free 2 play category and search the game there and download

Was this review helpful?
Sky 8 years ago
how to dondload dis?

Was this review helpful?
malcom 8 years ago
horrible graphics

Was this review helpful?
View 4 replies
mustkill8 8 years ago
can someone please give me a dota 2 key or gift for me on steam my steam is jabbowakee

Was this review helpful?
View 1 reply
oryakove01 8 years ago
im sealling a copy f some one want add me to steam we will find a price :)

Was this review helpful?
Green5570 8 years ago
Awesome tower deff:D

Was this review helpful?
zuees101 8 years ago
I know im super lat ebut if there are any leftover keys out there and you want to be a good person please send JUST 1 key and I would be forever grateful my steam is zuees101 and thank you

Was this review helpful?
FD_Stalker 8 years ago
I got physiological defect on RTS games and Fighting games.I cant even defeat the easy AI.

Was this review helpful?
Best MOBA ever 8 years ago
This is THE BEST MOBA available to play!And it's free to play!What more can you ask for?

Was this review helpful?
Leon 8 years ago
Who ever wants a dota 2 key add me on steam my id is:flash7862003 it will say joker on the pr0file

Was this review helpful?
OvertLord 8 years ago
To all who still want a Dota 2 key I and my freind have 6 keys to give the first 12 people that emails me i will send them to :) mark61884@msn.com

Was this review helpful?
View 1 reply
Skyclaw726 8 years ago
Could i get a key please?

Steam account is Skyclaw726

Was this review helpful?
speed9x 8 years ago
I have 4 beta keys for dota2. Reply me with your steam acc name. Would be great if you can exchange with other game's keys.

Was this review helpful?
View 3 replies
lee 8 years ago
How to play it?it's free?

Was this review helpful?
View 1 reply
snarlc 8 years ago
i have 5 dota 2
who wants one ?
reply with your steam name

Was this review helpful?
View 4 replies
Zakoju 8 years ago
I played Dota 2, it's a pretty good game i like the game just a bit laggy, but still playable

Was this review helpful?
Cyberpunk 8 years ago
Played this game for hours and hours and just dont like these moba games,but it is a great quality game

Was this review helpful?
coolsallu 9 years ago
one key plz dota 2 beta

Was this review helpful?
pobre 9 years ago
plz can u give me key for DOTA 2

Was this review helpful?
Jesse 9 years ago
I need a beta key! please send me one

Was this review helpful?
c0nd3 9 years ago
what dota2 goes free to play ?

Was this review helpful?
View 2 replies
GeoSnip3r 9 years ago
wow Real ? : | :)

Was this review helpful?