elvenar-6

elvenar-5

elvenar-4

elvenar-3

elvenar-2

elvenar-1

PLAY NOW

About the game:
Title: Elvenar
Status: Released Graphics: 2D
Genre: Strategy Type: Browser
Developer: InnoGames
Publisher: InnoGames

Explosive Features:

  • Build a Huge Fantasy City
  • Play As Elves Or Humans
  • Huge World Map

In InnoGames’ Elvenar, you can build an epic fantasy city, populated by elves or humans, and watch it grow into a sprawling metropolis, awash in riches and brimming with military might. The elves have powerful magic at their disposal, while humans are well-versed in the arts of war.

There are many ways to improve your city. Research technologies and gather resources to improve your buildings and customize their appearance or embark on quests to acquire fantastic relics that will further boost your city’s production. There’s a huge world to explore and fantastic creatures to tame — or to take into battle against your enemies!

Featured Video

Read related news

Edit Game Report Problem

More Games Like This

35 User Reviews

Leave Your Review
  1. asubbotin on May 23, 2018

    Its a nice city-builder game with pretty graphics. Very slow-paced, expect to go through all the content in 1.5-2 years, and they are adding new chapters now and then.

    There is no PVP, and no “pay us to win, or your neighbor will and you’ll be a loser!!!” racket, its more like “go fool around, and if you like what you see you might want to buy a few extras later”. It is perfectly possible to go through entire game without paying. Sure, it will take a little longer, but are you in a hurry?

    Typical gameplay consists of visiting a few times a day, selecting production in factories, once you accumulate enough, unlocking research and upgrading the buildings. There are also weekly quests where you have to do certain things (produce stuff, defeat npc armies) for rewards.

    I have yet to see any really bad bugs, its pretty polished, but some IU glitches happen (INNO, fix disappearing hexes already!).

  2. Eli le Fey on May 20, 2018

    I hate the game after then destroyed the city I spent years building up by “rebalancing” rewards I already won. I’m expected to basically tear everything down and rebuild because they decided to change the rules they wrote. I hate them all and wish them nothing but evil and hope they rot in hell until Kali Ma has them reincarnated as brothel bidets.

  3. Vosher on April 4, 2018

    You can’t progress in this game unless you spend money. I don’t mind $.99 every once in a while but I feel like this game requires way more than that.

  4. ceedubya on February 17, 2018

    The idea is to lure you in with fast moving game play and amazing artwork. After you have invested some time in the game, it slows down. To make it exciting again you buy “diamonds” with real money and pay to get past speed bumps built into the game. The longer you play, the slower the game goes. It’s the same dance all these games have to use to make money. Make the game so cool you don’t want to quit but so slow you can’t resist spending money to speed it up and make it fun again. My big objection is that Inno doesn’t want you to ever quit. They ran out of new ideas around Chapter six but have added six more chapters following the exact same formula. Build a “visitor” village that takes up all your space but is necessary to progress to the next chapter where you can . . . build a visitor village and so on. Along the way are “events” that are completely identical. Lists of things to make or buy that win you a prize that is a tiny bit better than the prize you got in the last chapter. So you are in a routine or you have made friends or you are too stubborn to quit until you finish. It stops being anything like fun and you just grind away. Forever the developers hope. If you are bedridden and have no other way to keep your mind active, play one of these games. Otherwise do something that doesn’t manipulate and exploit you so much.

  5. PolishKnight on January 25, 2018

    Great game… the game perks are awesome, it’s as if the developers are just giving away money. FREE Time boosts, coin boosts, supply boosts, all of which took enormous amount of time to gain. The Goods Tournament can get a bit boring, fell asleep more than once doing the weekly Goods Tournament, but the side line events are fun, challenging, and make you think of the best strategy to complete the event in the amount of time given. It is now a true team event, and creates cohesion within the game. I’ve been playing for a year, and am still playing every day. It is a bit of a ‘glorified Farmsville’, but aren’t they all?

  6. Elvenar hater on October 1, 2017

    This is one of the worst games from one of the worst game making companys. It has so many bugs that an exterminating company couldn’t sort them all out. They release a change on the beta test site and find out about the bugs from the players and then just release them on the live servers anyway. If you don’t spend A LOT of real cash in the game don’t even bother to try and contact customer services or the support team, you will just be wasting your time. They make changes to the game to force you to play the way they want you to play, they give you a feature in the game and then if you use it they take it away saying that it is getting abused when what they really mean is you are getting more than we wanted you to get so we are taking it away from you.
    If you go onto the forum and say anything that the moderators don’t like they will give you a warning and remove your post. The moderators are more dictators than moderators and are power crazy and if you try to report them to the support team the chances are that the person you are reporting them to is the person that you are actually reporting. Stupid idea having the same people in both posts. If you want a game that you can enjoy and have fun playing then stay far far away from Elvenar. They want your money and do not care about players one little bit. There is no way that i can describe how bad this game really is.

  7. Ann SMullen on September 26, 2017

    I started this game a year ago..super game ..I have watched it develop HOWEVER they are growing to fast,,
    very slow internet service..many erors..”streaming errors” …time outs…just plain errors
    their solutions are clear your clas… and all kind of impossible solutions for a noral player

    go ahead and buy diamonds..but when you spend them..yu may get a streaming erro…upn re-entry your diamonds are gone but the servie you paid your diamonds for has NEVER been invoked.. STRATAGY game ..sure hor do you beat their STUPID IGNONT software enfineering?

    Granted software development is very complicated..I was in software developemnt for 37 years..retired twenty yeARS AGO…i WOULD NOT EVEN TRY TO PROGRAM ‘PRINT THIS’

    Once they get their act together it is a super game BUT

    don’t try it now you get addivted and…frustration

  8. Whatever on August 25, 2017

    This game has now taken an even more ridiculous turn.
    Pushing is prohibited according to the rules, yet push cheaters are taking over. If you are here for some friendly competition in addition to city building, well in that case you have no chance anymore.
    The developers seem to be publicly defending the cheaters on the forums, even deleting posts that ask more harshly to put an end to cheating. This is not a joke.

    • PolishKnight on January 25, 2018

      WTH is ‘Pushing’?

      • Whatever on February 1, 2018

        For example you make 68 alt accounts and keep pumping knowledge points into the wonders of your main account, maxing them all out. You will have an impossible advantage in development, tournaments, ranking list etc. And in fellowship adventures, you use the 68 alt accounts to generate extra badges for your fellowship.
        The point of Elvenar is to cheat, those who play by the rules, end up as pathetic losers.

        • Like Totally on October 23, 2018

          If they’re spending that much time on this then they’re losing at life, so that balances out.

  9. Kate on June 11, 2017

    Been playing for 2 weeks now as a casual gamer, I haven’t got bored yet and I check in a few times a day for about 15 minutes a time. Not thebest but not the worst eeither. I like the graphics a lot.

  10. Tinkerbell on June 10, 2017

    Play this game, but do NOT put money in it. And by far don’t think you’ll make it to the top. The paying players have all the cards and get away with push-accounts.

  11. Lauren on June 8, 2017

    The game stinks.
    The devs stink.
    Inno is awful.
    Nice graphics.
    But don’t bother.

  12. Insanity Claus on January 19, 2017

    I started playing in 2017. There are 5 servers. Each server has a different revision of the game. It appears that there was no path to improving gameplay on existing servers. You can see the differences in the versions in the Building Tech Tree System. Earlier version have “Advanced Workshops” much later in the tree. The Arendyll sever is the most recent version, so only use that one. IMO, the game design increases the pressure for you to spend real cash to buy diamonds. It takes way too long to advance without using real cash. Do not use the smaller time cycle values less than 3 hours. It is best to play this once a day, because that is the only way you have enough gold to do what you have to do. Also, the game has a mode where you can fight and direct the contact between your forces and the enemy’s forces. Don’t use it. The User Interface is unusable. Use Automatic fights. Don’t train troops and don’t have a trader, it’s is a waste of vital real estate. The systems require you to expend resources on cultural items. Most things can be upgraded, but cultural items cannot. As a result, it wastes real estate and makes the game to hard to play because you run out of room before you grow large. IMO, the huge kingdoms that you see your neighbors had could only have been done using spending thousands of dollars using real cash. 30 % of the neighboring kingdoms are mostly empty, representing people who gave up early. There is no benefit to joining a fellowship, other than having someone to chat with through in-game email. Fellowships don’t do activities together. The only interaction between kingdoms is to make visits and help them by clicking 1 button then leaving

    • Bill Harris on June 23, 2017

      Very good information. Thank you for taking the time to post!

    • John S on October 29, 2017

      A few points to make about this and the whole game in general. You’re not wrong, but I’d like to expand on what you’ve started. A lot.

      Fellowships: there are now, very newly introduced as of time of writing, Fellowship Quests. These are a long series of Build Stuff, Spend Stuff quests that net you potentially unique buildings and other rewards. This has been, quite sincerely, the ONLY time I’ve actually had real fun with the game. But that didn’t last. I’m part of… lets say top a 10 Fellowship… and the infighting got worse with this feature. The common practice now is for a minimum spend of resources to get points for Tournaments (something else that a FS benefits from) because some people are putting HUGE resources in to them every damn week. The FS quest went the same way quickly, everyone expected to either contribute a lot or to NOT BOTHER AT ALL so they don’t share the rewards. This whole situation is bullshit. If you can’t contribute a minimum number of points to Tourneys / minimum number of items for a Fellowship Quest then you’re told to not get involved at all because you don’t deserve a share of the rewards.

      Put simply: Fellowships do have benefits but damn… if you’re not 100% invested expect to be kicked out or be told you’re not doing enough if you’re casual. The benefits you get are generally a larger number of runes (which are mostly useless unless you’re pushing KP’s on wonders) or Knowledge Points which are largely useless mid to late game because you get tech locked. More on that later.

      You absolutely can build a big city without spending, I’m proof of that. I’ve been playing for nearly two years and I have a decent rank. You can build a big city, you really can, but nearly two years in to the game I am ranked… top 500 ish. That’s not a lot to show for the effort involved and there’s always new players willing to spend to get past you. I never cared about rank though, thankfully, otherwise I may have been tempted to play keeping-up-with-the-spenders.

      The real point about cities and their expansion is the guest races. When you get to Dwarves research chapter you have to build new buildings. It’s actually sort of fun, it’s a new thing to do, new mechanics, new buildings, new resources. You need the Dwarven stuff to further research so you can progress the game. Dwarves isn’t hard. Next comes Faries and this is when the trouble starts for most. At some point, unless you have spent money on expansions, you DO NOT HAVE ENOUGH ROOM for the buildings you need. You WILL get tech locked. This is when you can’t progress in the game because you don’t have the resources to unlock researched technology. You’ve spent the knowledge points needed but you can’t unlock it so you can go further, so you just sit there, waiting. Your knowledge points sit and fester. You can build wonders to spend them in but they are useless to casuals. You will spend weeks, I do mean weeks, waiting to get enough resources to progress to the next tech to research. Or you can spend some money! You can buy your own time back for yourself by paying a game developer for their time spent trapping you in the first place.

      This keeps getting worse. When you hit Orcs you need to actually have armouries to produce Orcs, the nature of the armoury changes here to one of a producing building. This is bad because Inno made fighting about four times harder. People were progressing “too fast” (aka: you’re doing too much stuff without paying for it) so they straight up made fighting a less legitimate way of expanding your map.

      Make no mistake: the largest exodus of players happened when Inno changed the fighting. I used to do fights, it was a distraction. Clunky and inefficient but something to actually DO instead of… wait. The fighting rules change destroyed that. I haven’t done a single fight since because it’s pointless. Even if you gear your city 100% to fight production you will still lose > 80% of fights, even ones labelled moderate, even with skill and experience. This is not just me sucking at fighting, I used to win more than 90% of the time, this is something you can verify yourself. Even the auto-fight mechanic will fail on you when you’re at a strong advantage and picking units that are strong against your enemies. There’s more strategy now, sure… but it’s all moot since there’s not amount of strategy that makes guaranteed losing at least three times per victory a fun experience.

      Now the only real way of expanding your map (which you need to do to expand your city) it is to sell resources… but you don’t have enough room for resource producing buildings when in guest races if you don’t want to get tech locked… or if you do then you won’t have enough room for guest races…

      There is never a situation, about half way through the chapters, where you have enough room for guest races and resource production. Unless you spend. And you need to spend BIG.

      Now for the final nail…

      Mana. Mana is the clincher. It’s introduced in Woodelves, a very late chapter, and you need it for everything. Every tech unlock, every building upgrade past a certain level… even for chapter themed paths that you put down to connect buildings… you need mana. Mana is great! Great for Inno because every day… EVERY DAY… you lose 10% of it!

      No joke. It disappears from your stock at a rate of 10% per day.

      Doesn’t matter if you spent diamonds to rush production for it, 10% per day disappears. Poof! Bye bye production time! The reason they give for this: they don’t. It just disappears. It’s the most brutal metaphor for your time spent in the game that there could be.

      It manages to get worse. There is a production cap on mana. You can only have so much of it at one time and that is based on how much mana your buidlings can produce. You can’t keep getting it and it will constantly reduce by 10% per day. The perfect trap to keep players coming back several times per day or paying to get their “gaming” done in one go by rushing productions using paid-for diamonds.

      The only purpose mana has is to keep late game players playing or risk losing their ability to play at all. Imagine that… you’ve spent a bunch of money on stuff to get you here and now you’re here… if you don’t play multiple times per day you CAN”T progress.

      The game is 100% built around a trap: in for a penny, in for a pound. The longer you play the harder they make it to avoid spending money for expansions or completing things.

      The more you spend the more you’ll have to keep spending to justify, via logical fallacy, your previous spending. Progress slows to an absolute standstill, literally months between chapters if you don’t spend money. Months watching knowledge points be donated to neighbours wonders because you’ve got nothing else to do with them. But hey… if you’re top KP donator when they level up their wonder you get knowledge points as a reward! Useful as an unbaked brick.

      Discovering new territories currently takes me > 35 hours EACH. At the start of the game they are about five minutes. Every time you spend money you convince yourself that it’s OK to do it again when you need to because otherwise you’ve just wasted the money you spent previously.

      Elvenar is a Pay or Wait game that is devious. Devious in its design, devious in its intentions and devious in how it traps players. I’ve never spent any money on the game at all, not one penny, and I have played for a long time, so I feel like I can contribute to this discussion. I see the top players spend hundreds on buildings that are defunct the next time a new chapter is released. I see players with 20+ buildings that cost a hundred euros each… and for what? So they can win a money spending game? For some arbitrary rank?

      I watched one of my neighbours, a top 10 ranked player, nuke what must have been a thousand dollars worth of buildings because a new chapter had better ones. It made me genuinely pity that player.

      Another layer of deviousness comes in the actual game design. You can’t rotate buildings. This is clearly because the artwork is so complex, intricate and animated that building rotation would at least double the time required to produce these sincerely beautiful pieces of art. They explain this limitation (in a city builder you can’t pick where your front door goes *facepalm*) as an element of the unique “strategy” required that sets Elvenar apart from other games. It’s set apart alright: the whole dev budget is on artists and you can’t do thing that you logically should be able to do.

      Oh, and you can’t put buildings in storage. Again, a “feature” of the game is a “feature” of can’t be bothered to program it. I hope you enjoy princess puzzles because moving something without space – something that you MIGHT have between chapters for maybe two days) is just not going to happen without mousing everything else around it. It’s like one of those sliding tile puzzles everyone loves so much.

      The game is not fun. It beautiful, but it’s not fun. It’s a skinner box, just like so many others. If anyone else tells you differently then they don’t know what a skinner box is or they don’t know that they’re in one.

      In a case of maximum irony one guy I knew compared the game to Farmville and said that Elvenar was obviously superior. When asked… he was unable to tell me why. I guess producing imaginary magical elixir is far superior to producing imaginary wheat.

      As to why I still play: it’s become routine. A few times a day I check in when I’m at my desk. I went on holiday for a week, didn’t give it a second thought, and came back home to an offer of free diamonds to keep playing. I spent them on a third builder. He seldom gets used but at least he was free! That would have cost anyone else about ten dollars. I don’t derive much fun from it at all anymore but there are people in my FS that I actually like a lot and the chats there while infrequent are entertaining. That’s it. There’s some people I quite like and I’m in the routine or checking back a few times a day when I remember. Hardly immersive game play or story driven narrative. It’s just something to click while I wait for code to compile or I’ve got a coffee.

      TL;DR: Elvenar is a pretty skinner box that wants your money and nothing else. Before you play at least learn about skinner boxes and how to avoid their tactics. There is no need to spend money. You will never be number 1 because number 1 has been spending money a lot longer than you have and, in a twist of vile logic, has more to lose by not spending more because they’ve already spent so much.

      • Lia on August 3, 2018

        Thank you for taking the time to write your review. It is very helpful. I have been playing for about a year and a half, top 5 FS in E world, top 500 player, haven’t spent much cash and don’t intend to. I know I’ll never be much higher than I am right now, but the reason I play is, like you, for something to do when I’m waiting for something else to happen. Also, I really enjoy the artwork. I’m about to enter Halflings, but it will take at least 2 more weeks to get out of Sorcerers and Dragons. I have learned patience, lol. Take care and good luck.

  13. Trisha on November 15, 2016

    I liked this game at first, why? Because there was no PVP, something I hate in citybuilder’s as I would rather work with other people than constantly be griefed them. Then the devs changed the combat system, making it imppsible to actually win a battle against the NPC as they now have overwhealming numbers. And forget negoiating the encounters, they now cost all your limbs. You have to constantly gather materials for which a fellowship is the best way to go.
    Customer service is not the best at all, a friend online asked them about thechanges and how they were forcing much of the player base to leave. The reponse, the standard thank you for your input reply.

    If you like relentessly having to grind for supplies, population and expansions and having to pay for diamonds to actually make steady progess then go ahead

  14. Zapp on November 7, 2016

    I was looking for a game with pretty colors/mindless entertainment & this one fit perfectly in the beginning. After awhile of unfulfilled quests and subtle changes have made it clear… it is a pay 2play. Recently, battles are SOOO unfair & impossible to win. Customer support= Thanks for your Patience!
    Really DISAPPOINTED : (

  15. I hate Inno, screw Elvenar on October 17, 2016

    Don’t play this game, it is horrible. They don’t care about their customers, they don’t care if you have fun. They want you to play the way they want you to play, and if you don’t they will make you regret it by implementing some stupid update that makes everything impossible for you. And then some fake person on their forums will tell you you abused the game. Anyway, screw inno and their stupid games, Don’t give them your money, do something fun with it instead.

  16. Grundolar on October 16, 2016

    My troops are reduced to 1/5th of their size, the power has diminished entirely ; can no longer win any battles. Also they force players to swap neighbourhoods by jiggling round the map (unless you untick the setting). Many players will now be caught unaware.
    A lot of . . . . (starts with ‘s’ and is a four letter word)
    The game has turned from fun into nuisance.

    • danny P on October 18, 2016

      New Combat has me leaving the game, going from being able to win battles, to losing 70% of them and always losing 90% of troops has me done

  17. Jason on October 16, 2016

    With their new update that changed combat, everyone I spoke to found themselves in the boat I was suddenly in – unable to beat any NPC forces, and therefore unable to expand. The game didn’t cater to gems being required as much as some games I have played. I can’t recommend the game, Inno keeps making very bad decisions on what to change, and they have made it utterly miserable at this point.

  18. Big Al on October 10, 2016

    Arghhhhhh, I am trying to find a new game but all the reviews that I ever read are slating the games. This is fine, but it would be great if you could recommend something else. I have only played 3 games, Lord of Ultima, Castlot, and until last week, Clash of Kings. Myself and 3 or 4 others need a new game. Any suggestions?

    • Skyrider57 on October 11, 2016

      Play StarwarsCommander, great game strategy.Just Check !

  19. Leokins on October 8, 2016

    Love the slow timed-out pacing of the game, it’s great to have something to check every 3 hours or so when I’m working at my desk and need a break. Game seems deliberately slow and I appreciate the real-time nature and the progress I’ve made as a result. I haven’t purchased any paid items and am happily in the second chapter of research progression. Great for people who want to check in to a game a few times a day for 5-10 minutes.

  20. Arilla on August 13, 2016

    I have to agree with comments already made by others. This game is not worth the time or money. The game glitches and takes your resources for purchases, and then the purchase doesn’t show up in the town layout. Customer Service just says, “Sorry, but we don’t refund supplies, so you’ll just have to make the item again.” Interesting take on customer service since it doesn’t cost them anything to replace the missing items. They do, however, make it difficult to progress without purchasing some of the items. I’m done.

  21. Elven on July 29, 2016

    Absolutely no need for rivals to come here and try to downgrade this game. It’s a nice city builder game, and yes you do need the magic academy a lot, obviously, Gameczar haven’t spent long enough time to understand some game functions. It is easy to comprehend, and follow, frequently updated and the bugs are being fixed. The makers wanting their users to get involved as much as possible. They have excellent customer service and fast response! About the community playing it: every server is different but they seem to have one thing in common, tons of control-and production freaks, and “wanna-be”s! Watch out for them and at the first sign you start to feel like it’s been told to you how and when to play the game, just switch to another fellowship aka guild.

    • Disgruntled E-Player on January 10, 2017

      Disregard this person’s opinion as they obviously work for INNO. This game is nothing short of GREED, and the customer support is bordering on a dictatorship..WARNING!!! DO NOT PLAY THIS Game. In fact, stay away from the thieves who call themselves INNO.

    • Nottyash on October 29, 2017

      Excellent customer service and fast response… this is objectively false and easily proven to be so. I suspect this is a weak attempt to go against the very clear cut experience of players by a direct shill or Inno staffer.

  22. gameczar on June 25, 2016

    It has the potential to be a fun game but it’s not ready. There are so many bugs it’s unbelievable. In addition, they force you to play in certain ways and some changes are unalterable. Nobody likes the magic academy and yet you’re required to have it and once you build it you can never get rid of it.

    Just not a good game yet.

  23. Poppins on May 13, 2016

    My advice is do not waste time or money on any Innogames game.
    Carefully read the unfair and abusive rules.
    InnoGames reserves the right to block the player’s account without giving reasons.
    It does not matter if money has been spent or not, and there is no refund.
    And if you search the net for reviews or complaints, you will see that this is common practice.

Leave your review!