World of Tanks Video Review and First Look

World of Tanks is a 3D free to play MMO shooter game exclusively focused on the armored warfare in the mid-20th century.

Find more about World of Tanks at: https://www.mmobomb.com/review/world-of-tanks and don´t forget to subscribe to our YouTube channel.

Share this Video:

Discussion (22)

biohazerd 10 years ago
W.O.T. is allllllll some. the usa tanks are not better then any other. they all have there pros and cons. for the middle class of teir 5 (teir is the lvling system of wot.) the usa T1 heavy is a coffen. how ever the ussr Kv is a beast in the teir 5. the T1 heavy is nice reload time and quick grinding however the Kv is close to a arty time reload. which is bad but not bad. The Kv has a 15mm M-10 cannon however it is nice to one shot other tanks. your reload time high. it allows you you 2.7 shots a min. which is not so hot. the top cannon for the T1 heavy is a 76mm M1A1 with 18.99 ROF. this seems like the better cannon but when you add in the rel effect to the game the kv has the sloping armorer. This is a long gated battle and fight between players and developers. how ever in there next patch 6.4 the tech trees of all tanks is getting a major over haul........ biohazertd

rob dog 10 years ago
everyone thinks russian is more OP but its really not. its just that u need to know how to deal with them. its like the t54 for example if you have a heap of TD's just picking them off you'll be fine. there quick and moderately armoured. I'm sure though if your in another tank with a gun able to penetrate there armour all you have to do is track them. then kill them.

the best thing about this game is theres always a counter and better tanks most of the time doesnt win out againsed better armour. (unless its a Tier 1 tank Vs a Maus... :( )

also a tip when first playing just sit in you cap hang back and test the controls. get used to it. things like when you see an enemy if you can get cover, aim, wait till your reticule reduces and then fire! no use shooting if you cant hit a target!

View 1 reply
dGamerG 10 years ago
and i am not talking about the advantage premium users get.
they need to get advantage as in every other game(some ppl just need it i guess and they are willing to spend some real money to get it)
well ,surely the developers need people like these (just like in every other free to play online game)
but…<------which part you didnt understand here "Jimac" ???
are you talking about PREMIUM friends or free players who could possably be your friends?
mybe you should read my rent once again very slowly
or mybe my english aint so perfect so you would understand what i want to tell here

i also play many other internet "free to play" games and on fev of em i do spend real money
because i like the developers
i am a hard core gamer and if i like the game i take it the hard way
but...i think i am wasting my breath
GO AHEAD AND TRY THE GAME
see how nice it is to constantly play against bigger tanks with a team full of retards
i do play it.and play it for free.and i think with my fragrate 1.7 i am doing pretty well.
but you must understand i have a group of friends following me in games
and they all deny to play this good game because we cant team up and play together against others for free.even if the game is advertized as free to play.

thnx for your time

Jimac 10 years ago
I've got to disagree with dGamerG, you can easily play this game for free without paying for a premium account. You just make slower progress up the tech tree to the bigger tanks and not even that much slower. As for not being able to join up with other players without a premium account, again not quite accurate. You will be able to platoon up but you will not be able to start the platoon, but as there are always people looking to invite others into their platoons it's not a big problem and if you have a friend with premium again no problem.

In battle it all levels out. Premium or non premium your tanks are the same and you have as much chance to win as anyone else. You won't find yourself being outmatched in your battles any more than a premium player, as you are matched up according to the level you've reached.

dGamer seems to want the whole game to be as free as it was in beta...not very realistic, Wargaming need to make money and imo they are giving the game away for nothing but if you want to progress a little faster and have a nicer garage for your tanks they will sell you these little luxuries.

dGamerG 10 years ago
about that "free to play"...
if you are non premium you cant team up with friends.
cant form platoons or companies...
if the game modes are locked it just a DEMO of the complete game.

it was a promising game in beta.

and i am not talking about the advantage premium users get.
they need to get advantage as in every other game(some ppl just need it i guess and they are willing to spend some real money to get it)
well ,surely the developers need people like these (just like in every other free to play online game)
but...
allowing you to have a friend list but you cant really play with em is just sick.
or an EPIC fail.

afterall,thats just my modest opinion

Ice 10 years ago
Get your facts straight.
"Wargaming.net is a strategy game developer operating since 1998. The company is based in London with development center in Belarus"
So, not Russians.
That said, yes many complain about the T-54.
Also, what Lendosan said. All of it.

vermi 10 years ago
wrong opinion , russian are overpower ! ,
i made all german tree , now i play russian and i dream USA tank
all have weakness, and strong point
it all about style af play , nothing more .
in the end , historical , russian have better tank
all heavy tree Usa are fictional , for usa first TANK , it was M1A in '80
america dont know built cars and tank , they build plane , and coke

I ""hate "" russian-joke-, but i love their tanks , rockets and girls !

Lendosan 10 years ago
Apart from the reviewer sounding like he was either:
A) Reading a script (badly). MMO Bomb, choose another reviewer.
B) Didn't understand the game ("Erm...research upgrades your...erm...stuff."). Maybe next time actually play the game for a good few weeks solid until you know the game and can review it properly?

The Russian tanks are slightly OP, but every country has an OP tank or part of the tree that is broken (Example the VK's on the German Tech Tree are far too high tier for what they can do). Its an MMO because you required experience to progress, and you can also gain experience for the crew of each tank if you choose to keep them. You gain experience from detecting enemies, hitting enemies and killing enemies. You get more experience if you win the battle, so working as a team is essential. Also you earn credits for each battle depending on detecting, hitting and killing. Gold is a premium upgrade that allows you to purchase premium time, which lets you start platoons allowing three of you (your friends, clan mates etc) to play in the same battle together. Clicking battle drops you into a random battle, so premium is a good way of playing with your friends. Gold also allows you to buy premium ammunition, which is better than the standard two choices. Also you can exchange experience using gold when you get further down the line.

Its a good game. I advise people to go out and play it, and if you want to chat to me about it, go to www.plg.enjin.com

Very shallow review 10 years ago
You should play at least a month to check this game explain about type of tanks , taktics .

Oberst_DaKillah 10 years ago
I have been playing with german tanks only just because i prefer accuracy and penetration power over speed and armor, i haven't met any tanks that are op in my oppinion just players that knows how to use their tank vs Players that don't know their tanks limitations.

Ldeems 10 years ago
German tanks all the way baby power and muscel with tons of armor

10 years ago
Significant balancing is on it's way. IS-4 is going to be tier 10 tank (instead of tier 9), while Panther and Panther 2 are being moved one tier down, etc. I guess it's because soviet IS-4 was too strong for it's tier while Panthers were too weak. Don't worry, developers are going to get balance right. They can't do it instantly thought, because hasty balancing often tend to create more issues then solve.

P.S. It's called a MMO because of the global map for clan warfare.
P.P.S. And please, can you stop saying that soviet tanks are too strong because developers are Russians? It's not the case. And developers aren't even Russians. Besides... post-soviet countries aren't too fond of USSR...

Tachi 10 years ago
I actually do think that most people find the USSR's tanks to be OP because of their stats and what tanks they have.

I do think that's also because a lot of people don't use the tanks for Germany or the USA in a proper way. The German tanks in particular have very accurate guns (Tiger has a gun with 0.30 accuracy which is damn accurate compared to the IS-tank having a 0.37 gun if I remember right) which makes them better in a distance-role. The Russian tanks were made for brute force and rushing while Germany's tanks were made for ranged combat so basically the developers did stick to that historical-wise.

It makes the RU-tanks seem OP, but in fact a good tank-driver in a German or US tank can do just as well as a good RU tank user.

View 1 reply
10 years ago
It is a fun game. I too find the Russian tank lines to have an advantage over the other countries. Which is not surprising considering the developers of the game are from Russia. Also reality of the various tank lines vs WoT realities are a bit off, but that is more to try and create a game balance between the various countries tanks. Italian and French tanks are among the new tanks to be added, hopefully giving another country or two of tanks to play with. One thing the reviewer did not mention was the coming addition of Clan Wars. This will allow clans to fight for territories on a map of Europe and earn gold or silver for holding their territories. Kind of like a tank only version of Risk. Try it out, you might jus tenjoy it.

View 1 reply
Christian OB 10 years ago
Yup, that T54 is an utter joke. USSR tanks are the kiddie mode as far as I'm concerned. IS7, IS4... it's pretty comic. I chalk it up to the dev team being from the USSR and just being blind to their bias. Overall it's a fine game though and since you can test it out for a free spin (heck keep spinning for free actually) it's something I've recommended to lots of folks.

I'm still not sure what the MMO of it is, it's totally just a FPS with tanks - that is until they bring out the long awaited, much talked about, always "coming soon" clan wars at least. After that I think it'll be FPS with a "meta game" but either way, every company wants a piece of the MMO pie since WoW made so much $

View 1 reply
Dan 10 years ago
In my opinion, the USSR has the most OP tanks. Especially at high tiers with the T-54. That being said, it's not to the point of it being so OP that you can't beat it, but when you've got a pack of clanners with T-54's coming at you, it can possibly mean that the game has been won or lost before the game even starts, unless your team can react, and if you're with a bunch of pugs, it's not likely going to.


You May Enjoy

Top 5 Free to Play Weekly Stories - Vampire: The Masquerade Bloodhunt Enters Early Access Ep 479

Top 5 Free to Play Weekly Stories - Vampire: The Masquerade Bloodhunt Enters Early Access Ep 479

Check out the top 5 biggest stories of the week in the F2P realm (and some that aren't F2P!...

By Michael Byrne - 1 week ago
Always Online Podcast: Aliens Fireteam Elite Review, DokeV Thoughts, And Lost Ark Delayed Ep 401

Always Online Podcast: Aliens Fireteam Elite Review, DokeV Thoughts, And Lost Ark Delayed Ep 401

The First Episode of the Evolution of The F2P Cast is Here!

By Michael Byrne - 2 weeks ago
Aliens: Fireteam Elite - Gameplay First Look (HD)

Aliens: Fireteam Elite - Gameplay First Look (HD)

Is this 3v3 coop shooter worth the $40 minimum price tag?

By Michael Byrne - 2 weeks ago
Bloodhunt - Gameplay First Look (HD)

Bloodhunt - Gameplay First Look (HD)

Does The Battle Royale Appeal to Vampire: The Masquerade Fans?

By Michael Byrne - 1 week ago
Top 5 Free to Play Weekly Stories - Halo Infinite Drops Some Day 1 Features, Roblox Under Fire Ep 477

Top 5 Free to Play Weekly Stories - Halo Infinite Drops Some Day 1 Features, Roblox Under Fire Ep 477

Check out the top 5 biggest stories of the week in the F2P realm!...

By Michael Byrne - 3 weeks ago
Top 5 Free to Play Weekly Stories - Squad-Based Arena Star Wars Game Has First Look! Ep 480

Top 5 Free to Play Weekly Stories - Squad-Based Arena Star Wars Game Has First Look! Ep 480

Check out the top 5 biggest stories of the week in the F2P realm (and some that aren't F2P!...

By Michael Byrne - 1 week ago