So many open betas, not enough time! This week we chat about open beta (and launches!) of World of Warships, CABAL 2, Skyforge, Path of Exile: The Awakening, Trove, and more! Get all that and more on this week’s Free to Play Cast!

Discussion Timestamps:

01:34 Open Betas and World of Warships Review
15:50 Trion Worlds and Trove
21:47 Marvel Heroes 2015 Giving Away Cash
25:21 Weekly Bombs (DA-Bomb / A-Bomb)
40:24 Questions and Answers of the Week

If you have submissions for the show’s Weekly Bombs, have questions for the panel (nothing is off limits!), or just ideas for what you want covered you can now send them to [email protected] You can also be a guest in the show, just send us why you want to host, and what topic or game you would like to cover.

Free-To-Play Cast is the official podcast (and videocast) of MMOBomb.com about free to play multiplayer online games. Free-To-Play Cast takes on the week’s biggest news with plenty of opinion, weekly bombs, community feedback, guests, laughs thrown in for good measure and much more. Have fun and expect a new episode next week!

Don´t forget to subscribe to Free to Play Cast via Youtube.

the author

Mike "Magicman" Byrne has been a part of the MMOBomb family for years and serves as the site's current Editor-in-Chief. His love for MMOs and gaming in general has led him to covering games for numerous websites including Gamebreaker TV and XIV Nation where he proudly displays his fanboy flag for FFXIV:ARR.

12 Readers Commented

Join discussion
  1. ElusiveXTreasure on July 12, 2015

    I’ve got to give a DA-Bomb to Skyforge. My husband and have been enjoying early access, and believe it will become our new ‘anti-social MMO’, in other words, something we can duo when we’re tired of jerks on other games. Action combat is kind of a scary thing for me since I have some control loss in my right hand (and I am very right handed) so I was glad to see the controls were user-friendly enough for me to handle with some degree of competency while still posing a challenge. I used to be an Allods player, quite some time ago, so I had mixed feelings on this one, but so far I like what I see.

  2. teppic on July 12, 2015

    Mike, re the comments you made about my opinion on Trion, I can see exactly what you mean. I guess my point is that you aren’t going to get a negative opinion of the game from anyone still playing it after all the crap they’ve put people through, so it’s really worth no more than the scathing opinions of ex players who were burnt by the company (who at least have a genuine issue). A reputation has to be earned, and I don’t think Trion has done anything in that regard. They continue to exploit people with RNG boxes and pay to win elements, and they never acknowledged responsibility for all of the blatant lies, retroactive site editing and general unethical crap they pulled with ArcheAge. They’ve seen that their methods still rake in the cash, so I don’t see things changing.

  3. whyaname on July 12, 2015

    Hey magicman. If you are still there waiting to when you can end your boycott, then im here to tell you that the boycott should newer end based on why you started it anyways. As someone mentioned on the show they fk d up and refused to refond anything really and thoes who got founders packs will newer see that money again. Pluss Trove is a nice game and again they have issues with login queues witch last up to 45 mins and i only got in once without a queue and evrytime there is atleast a 10 min queue witch last 20 mins atleast so yeah. Rift is gonna have to wait an eternety for you.

    • whyaname on July 12, 2015

      Well actually they now are increseing their server capacity so i have to give them credit for not being total d1cs.

  4. teppic on July 11, 2015

    Regarding gender locked classes and Jason’s comment, Dwarves in lotro are kind of genderless; you can’t select male or female in the character creation. Lore wise, I believe Tolkien said that only Dwarves could tell the difference between the sexes. The game’s cosmetics are not gender locked, so players who want female dwarves can wear dresses, etc. if they want to. I’d also say that a gender locked race is something very different from a class, as you could have mythical races that have one, two or more genders.

  5. Judarian on July 10, 2015

    as for skyforge. i will not support any of my.games decisions and games anymore. the open beta. is really a closed beta for people who want to throw $20 to $70 into the game to get in to what they are calling an open beta.. i downloaded launcher and game which is 10 gigs. just to find out i get error 438. this beta is for founder pack users only. so really its closed pay to play beta.

    • Skorb on July 12, 2015

      Founder pack owners get early access to the open beta, which lasts one week starting on the 9th. Then, everyone else can join the fun on the 16th which they’ve stated before. Don’t try to deface a company without even trying to get info on the game. Besides their open beta trailer didn’t say the 9th it said the 16th.

    • teppic on July 15, 2015

      The open beta hasn’t even started yet, it’s early access at the moment. The founder’s packs are very reasonably priced and are not necessary at all for the open beta.

  6. Freshundead on July 10, 2015

    I’ve been playing marvel heroes 2015 as my main game for a little over a year now and I think its great that Gazzilion is doin the giveaway, the are a great company that gives back to its players a ton just in the last couple months ive got a couple free heroes, 1 free skin, 1 free team up and a free pet. I think they are one of the companies doin a great job with there community and the game is constantly adding content.

  7. LeetDude on July 9, 2015

    Jason im not bashing on you but can buy a new mic because everytime you talk i tend to skip it or it annoys the heck out of me it must just be me but please change it because u sound like ur mumbling and i know u say some interesting stuff its just that i dont understand it.

  8. Bratwurst on July 9, 2015

    Hey guys THE Bratwurst here! 😀 (SMILEY FACE)
    First of all love the show… and you guys… no homo. To answer your question, I am not sure which game would be nice to have that sort of cash giveaway event as Marvel Heroes seems to be the only one I have seen to be have actually done this.
    It would be an interesting thing to do though, currently I just got hooked on World of Warships and just three days of playing I got my Waifu Kongo-desu! (You can blame Jingles for getting me attached to Kantai Collection)
    Games that are heavy on PVE would do well with this since PVP would just turn into an actually battleground fighting for money.
    To answer that question… THAT is a really good question to be honest and it is not an easy one to answer. Path of Exile would do well with this I believe, and possibly every other Diablo clone out there.

HAVE SOMETHING TO SAY?