When your game is already in free early access, it’s uncertain what declaring an “open beta weekend” means, but that’s what the makers of Hoverloop are doing — if you count 24 hours as a “weekend.”

The open beta weekend for Hoverloop starts at 3 p.m. CEST on Saturday, Aug. 31 and runs until 3 p.m. CEST on Sunday, Sept. 1. That’s 6 a.m. Pacific/9 a.m. Eastern if you’re in the United States. The event actually adds a major feature to the drone arena game, online lobbies, so you’ll actually be able to match up with and play other players over the internet. Maybe that will help with the player count, which, after seven months, has peaked at eight.

Other new features coming with this update include announcers that shoutcast matches, custom dog tags, better AI bots, a revised tutorial, and a general tightening of controls. Participants in the beta will receive exclusive items to customize their drones.

Learn more about Hoverloop on the game’s Steam page and developer Not A Company’s website.

Jason Winter is a veteran gaming journalist, he brings a wide range of experience to MMOBomb, including two years with Beckett Media where he served as the editor of the leading gaming magazine Massive Online Gamer. He has also written professionally for several gaming websites.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here