Lineage 2


Lineage II is a 3D fantasy MMORPG and has been revitalized with a revamp of existing content, all-new high level content and the introduction of the Free to play model with the launch of Goddess of Destruction. The Goddess of Destruction update ushers in a new era for Lineage II, with improved graphics, 4x faster levelling, character advancement, eight new specialized classes, challenging new bosses, unexplored zones, over 400 hours of brand new gameplay and much more completely free. Follow the Path to Awakening from the new starting zone to experience rapid progression through three class transfers on your way toward your destiny. At level 85, Awaken to one of the eight new classes with unique skills to advance your game experience and take on new challenges.

The world of Lineage II is a war-torn land spanning two continents, where trust and betrayal clash as three kingdoms vie for power. These kingdoms share a delicate balance of power; however, within each kingdom they are vulnerable to internal strife, as each manor has strong desire for self-rule. Players rule supreme in this brutal and beautiful world filled with magical beasts, large scale conflict, territories to conquer and rival clans to battle. With a strong emphasis on PvP, you may find challenges around every corner in Lineage II, but you have the means to protect yourself. Develop your character and obtain the power to enforce your will upon the realm. Seize your destiny and allow your own hand to write the history of this world!

Disclosure: MMOBomb works closely with publishers and developers to offer a free and rewarding experience. In order to keep everything free to use we may sometimes earn a small commission from some partners. Find more info in our FAQ page.

Additional Information

Title

Lineage 2

Developer
NCSoft
Publisher
NCSoft
Release Date
April 27, 2004
Genre
MMORPG
Platform
Windows (Client)
Please note this free-to-play game may or may not offer optional in-game purchases.

Latest Updates

Minimum System Requirements (Windows)

OS

Windows XP / Vista / 7 / 8

Memory

1 GB

Storage

20 GB

Processor

Intel Pentium 4 3.0 GHz / AMD Sempron 3600+

Graphics

Nvidia GeForce 6600 / ATI Radeon X 1050

Additional Notes

Specifications may change during development

All material on this page is copyrighted by ©NCSoft and their respective licensors. All other trademarks are the property of their respective owners.
See All

Games like Lineage 2

Sphere 3: Enchanted World - Sphere III: Enchanted World is a 3D fantasy action MMORPG that was published by Nikita Online. Use the game’s unique non-target combat system and participate in the PvP that is a strong focus in Sphere III.
Loading...
Path of Exile - Path of Exile is an 3D Action RPG published by Grinding Gear Games. Similar to games such as Diablo and Torchlight, Path of Exile allows players to explore various dungeons in the forms of story "Acts".
Loading...
Creativerse - In Creativerse, a free-to-play building game from Playful Corporation, you can explore, mine, craft, and build to your heart
Loading...

User Reviews (23)

Do you recommend this game?
OldGlory 2 months ago
August 2021

Few days ago launched their "Fast" solo friendly server. TLDR All their servers are pay-to-win + pay-to-progress. Not my words, words from players who defends this game on forums. Even they admit how greedy publisher is.

Was this review helpful?
ASD 5 years ago
Forgive me for judging this without playing it but it's not worth it by the looks of it

Was this review helpful?
View 1 reply
Kaossilos 6 years ago
Yea I've played lineage II for five years
-was on private server, each one shut down for this or that reason
-the official server you really have to grind for a long time to get anything done

-use to be able to fight on mounts =can’t do that anymore, only thing you can do on mounts is run. And they eat a lot of expensive food
-use to be able to die, and loses/drop a few items =they changes that not there’s a debuff where its negative to your stats and equip. a penalization for dying, and you have to pay in game money , (thankfully not really money) to buy scrolls to undo this punishment

There’s new sub class systems where you can become a healer, then a warrior, just not at the same time, and that’s past level 50.

When you walk into a tower, You’re dead. It’s a massive PVE type of game, which is fine unless you’re doing a quest or just starting off.

Customization is limited. You can get hats and cat ears and stuff, but if you die…then you lose them forever.

If you love pvp this is a good game for you, but honestly I’ve stopped playing for this reason. Couldn’t get into the story line if there was one

Was this review helpful?
DisGameIsPoo 7 years ago
^^^^^^^^^^^^^

GAME SUX GRINDFEST AWFUL GRAPHICS CRYSIS BETTER HUEHUEHUEHUE

Was this review helpful?
Destinyc 7 years ago
Okay starting off, this game is really old and had many chronicles , i remember playing back in C1 when the game was challenging and really good. I still have the game dl and have my character.

Let me start off by saying, the graphics are amazing so, if you are one who really needs good graphics, this game is for you. This game does requiree many hours of play though. And from levels 1-50 , the game is kindof boring. Many players are lvl 90 + now so, it gets boring until you are higher level so that takes a lot of grinding. If you are willing to spend a lot of your time in one game this game is perfect. Many people continuously play it and they are always adding new updates to keep the players.

But because i have been playing for such a long time ( 10 years now) i'm kindof bored of it.

Was this review helpful?
ewdwewdw 8 years ago
does this work on Win 8??

Was this review helpful?
View 1 reply
Fhurrhurr 8 years ago
Its an amazing game if you dont mind heavy grinding(1-85 is done pretty fast with the mentoring option and the "Path to awakening" system), 85 and up is grind, grind and some more grind.

Top clans are constantly using exploits to get a upper hand, using zRanger to own in group pvp and bot their characters up to high lvl's. Endgame pvp for someone who just started and arent willing to use illegal software, buy ingame currency from shady sites is sadly an achievement they will never experience.

On the other hand, if you are willing to cheat and exploit, this is the game for you.

Was this review helpful?
JayKay3000 8 years ago
Most fun I ever had playing this game was on good private servers to bump to max level with a big clan to siege and raid boss a couple of times a week. Game is fundamentally flawed.

I only played again because of a real life accident. I lasted two days. Level 48. Yawn.

Best way to grind game is to have two accounts and the TV on to help with boredom.

One account has your main player and another with a buffer to make your main player stronger and survive you when attacked or for helping pvp.

PVP gets boring because everyone cries, trash talks and then goes to their big player to make revenge then you kill their big player and they cry to their clan so their clan descends on you so clan wars are most fun PVP. But many clans won't clan war. Say why war? People only want grind. Prefer to trash talk so you PVP and get private hate message spam talking how they find your IP and come kill you in real world you so you tire of this pretty soon. Some people good sport in PVP. Training mobs sometimes pass time when you find a grind group or hacked player and let mobs descend on them. Sometimes drop fun items. Like a pixelated piñata. Use block list because when they go to PC and find auto bot dead massive hate messages.

Ignore list was grand saviour in L2. Learnt more profanity in L2 than in school.

Was this review helpful?
nics 8 years ago
my comment was chopped down..

#a chance of real love among players ^^ sum of which meets their wife/husband inside. and lots of other things i cannot discribe here.. hahhaha

but its only a time capsule.. coz nowadays with tons of 'actions' like game available these days, u wont find l2 special.. its only for 'Us' , the lucky ones in the past heheheh. i remember just standing still, only moving my right mouse button just seeing how incredible the environment ncsoft gave to this wonderful and dazzeling game machine.. and i was already too late.. it was 2008.. coz my first char was a one winged angel with 2 hand blade with the ultimate unbalance skills they said...(slip before and after "rush Impact bla bla bla") dunno whats wrong with this...

Was this review helpful?
DeMenthor 9 years ago
I usually care too less about leaving comments or reviews on games but i just couldn't leave things the way were described. I could talk hours about this game both objectively and being one of my favourites mmorpgs of all times to this date, putting my own thoughts and impressions.
first of all, this game is old, really old, i mean older than WoW(almost 10 years) but constant and massive updates called "Chornicles" were implemented every 6 monthes give or take.
It started in C1-C2 and so on untill now Tauti and it will be further developed and changed.
One of the most massive update was Goddess of Destruction in which the world and gameplay were changed irreversebly(much like WoW-Cataclysm) and with this update the game turned Free2Play. look for more info on google.
second: actual gameplay.
1-click to move. it may be weird for a WoW and such player used to WASD movement but once u get used to this mechanics of click to move, target etc and leaving the other hand free to spam skills, potions, macros, etc from F1-F(how far your hand can reach on the keyboard) keys from the shortcut bars u'll see the game was designed to be the best like it is and work much better this way. just give it a try for a few days.
2-soulshots and spiritshots(use blessed spiritshots not normal ones)and toggle skills: u just drag them on whatever action bar u want, activate them by mouse clicking ONCE(animation changes) and u never have to press the again untill u want to deactivate them.
damn i think i'll have to do a video tutorial cause this is taking too long allready.
To resume this game is a few words: open PvP(u can kill even clan mates or party-group-mates)in which u can pvp or PK(with some penalties) EVERYONE, with huge mass pvps and events(castle sieges, raid bosses even zone domination), grindy towards endgame, with plenty of drama and/or satisfaction, mostly for hardcore players, very time consuming and addictive, beautiful graphics, animations, music etc and much more. it is not a game that will reveal itself is just 20-30 mins of gameplay. try to have an opinion after 100-200 hours of gameplay. i know it's much for some but it's just the way it is.

Was this review helpful?
View 1 reply
WMD 9 years ago
i only progressed a tad in the game, but based on what i managed to see so far i find the look unimpressive & there's very few customizable appearances. Should've been much better considering the amount of HD space it occupies

Was this review helpful?
eunusunt 9 years ago
I've been playing this game since it came out, on private servers. The official was a no-no for me, as it was subscription based. But the private servers do a very good job in emulating the game, and they have no botters.
L2 is one of a kind..yes it is a huge grindfest, but I got used to it. The endgame is worth it, and so is the trip to getting there. It's got tons of classes, amazing PVP and great balance. Although my current computer can't handle the new version, I will try it on higher rate servers when I get a new pc.

Was this review helpful?
val 9 years ago
Grind based game, Hardcore, few quest, nice and violent pvp :) , some bots :( ... NO ingame suport at all.

Was this review helpful?
BaDBlo0D 9 years ago
Lol,you are really no0b o.0 Go play WoW,this game is not for you!Next time read how to use ur solshots :D

Was this review helpful?
Maya 9 years ago
hm lineage be ncie som yers back but game mising body flexible face emotions ee rotation and moving hairs im did like in l2 sage mode and hate pk pk hit you you him he turn normal you kill him least hit and you pk and all hit you items gone l2 shud be cher buidl as apb online and to cher be as blade and soul and tera onlien cuze l2 cher mdoe its dem old and non fun more

Was this review helpful?
View 3 replies
king kazma 9 years ago
I played lineage 2 before this F2P. Honestly, I love mmorpgs like these but this game specifically got me tired all the time and next thing i know I've already shutdown my machine. After seeing your review in YouTube, it felt pretty much the same... dragging, all the running, pant pant pant, wrong controls, too much talking and not a lot of action, and oh yeah.. that beam of light. best to wait for GW2.

Was this review helpful?