MapleStory 2


Maplestory 2 is the 3D sequel to Nexon's hugely successful 2D MMO, Maplestory. Set before the original, Maplestory 2 offers players a fresh take on an old favorite with a cute, blocky graphic style that manages to capture some of the original MMO's charm, while switching between isometric and the classic 2D view.

Using this new art-style, Maplestory 2 gives players the opportunity to explore a multitude of colorful environments, with plenty of chances to discover hidden areas and special events. Environemnts are somewhat destructible, with players able to cut down trees and knock over blocks. They may even use objects from the environment in combat. Speaking of combat, Maplestory 2 retains the original's fast paced gameplay, with characters chaining together multiple abilities for great effect. Boss battles take up large areas of a map, which often times result in the boss destroying huge portions of their blocky surroundings.

Outside of combat, players can participate in a myriad of mini-games, including some built by other players. Using the in-game editor, players can even build special dungeons complete with a variety of monsters, traps, and triggered events to overcome.

Maplestory 2 features non-instanced housing, with players able to build their own houses block by block, while decorating it's interior with special items. These items can range from chests to keep your extra gear, to mannequins which you can dress up with your favorite costume sets. Doing so gives players the ability to swap between these costumes while on the go.

Disclosure: MMOBomb works closely with publishers and developers to offer a free and rewarding experience. In order to keep everything free to use we may sometimes earn a small commission from some partners. Find more info in our FAQ page.

Additional Information

Title

MapleStory 2

Developer
Wizet
Publisher
Nexon
Release Date
October 10, 2018
Genre
MMORPG
Platform
Windows (Client)
Please note this free-to-play game may or may not offer optional in-game purchases.

Latest Updates

All material on this page is copyrighted by ©Nexon and their respective licensors. All other trademarks are the property of their respective owners.
See All

Games like MapleStory 2

Genshin Impact - Explore a bright and fantastical anime-styled world in miHoYo
Loading...
Elsword - Elsword is a free to play 3D non-stop side-scrolling MMORPG set in a colorful comic book style world with anime-style graphics and RPG elements. Experienced gamers as well as casual players can immediately jump into the game and pick-up the intuitive controls to defeat enemies or string together combos to deal devastating damage.
Loading...
FREE

Elsword

User Reviews (142)

Do you recommend this game?
Whirl 2 years ago
Game is genuinely loads of fun. Loads to do you can choose from eg. main storyline, trophy hunting, side quests, fishing to complete fish encyclopedia, design player house etc.
A decent amount of content is unlocked at lv 50 such as higher difficulty dungeons and farming monsters for their pet version. Main storyline will take you to lv 50 and give you decent armour along the way, can be rushed just to hit high lv or taken slowly to get the story experience, not too difficult though.
Lots of raids unlocked at various levels, each one has a cosmetic item that can be unlocked by grinding the raid, mounts and pets are abundant, events are really fun, trophy hunting will get you cool stuff like gestures, mounts, etc.
Definitely give this game a try, loads to do

Was this review helpful?
GamerX 3 years ago
I still love the MapleStory 1, the 2d cartoon graphics really unparalleled till now, as well as those BGMs. You can buy mesos from 5mmo by coupon "5mmocs". it's not a spam but the innermost feelings. MapleStory buried in my heart since v062.

Was this review helpful?
View 1 reply
No Thanks 3 years ago
This game would never be very popular on PC in NA, but i think it would be very successful on the mobile apps platform

Was this review helpful?
Jomoiri 3 years ago
It's taking so long to release this in NA server. I can't wait to play this game!!!

Was this review helpful?
View 1 reply
cucumberinass 4 years ago
dying inside

Was this review helpful?
DEXILE 4 years ago
I hope they release maplestory 2 before summer because I can't wait to play this game

Was this review helpful?
View 2 replies
Rawrrr 4 years ago
In case people haven't checked yet but Maplestory 2 production manager is no longer on the open career option on the career page anymor it must have been filled up!

Was this review helpful?
maybe2018 4 years ago
the nexon career page still L>production manager in NA.
probably will take about a year for GMS2. they still have to do website, cash shop, event, translation, others...
(i just guessing)

Was this review helpful?
xCalibah 4 years ago
The western release has been postponed for well over a year now. Come on Nexon, we want to play the damn game.

Was this review helpful?
Sccalpa 4 years ago
It's been out since 2015 in Korea , how hard is it to translate it then release ?

Was this review helpful?
View 1 reply
Lassie 4 years ago
About to be 2017 and still no maple 2? :(

Was this review helpful?
View 1 reply
Maple MANNN 4 years ago
Man by the time this game FINALLY Comes out the hype will be died and the game will be outdated and then RIP Ms2

Was this review helpful?
Winterz 5 years ago
I'm glad I can download it since i'm in korea..

Was this review helpful?
View 1 reply
really bro? 5 years ago
>complains about maplestory 1
>gets excited for maplestory 2

Was this review helpful?
Jeffrey 5 years ago
are summer 16......@_@ where maple at??

Was this review helpful?
View 1 reply
Eugene 5 years ago
how to download?

Was this review helpful?
View 1 reply
breydon 5 years ago
i can't talk japineese i can only talk english

Was this review helpful?
View 2 replies
KUROACKERMANMEGACHRONO 5 years ago
This reminds me a lot of old ms just seeing how it is going most likely nexon will make the same mistake and lead it to the same end as maplestory

Was this review helpful?
John 5 years ago
MP2 in my opinion, is totally different that any other MMORPG or blocky game, mainly because it combines this two things, something that no one have ever did, making it unique!
(I am from Brazil, so do not mind if there are any mistakes)

Was this review helpful?
View 1 reply
Star 5 years ago
Played the original game for years but I will have to say it is a money based enterprise and not very customer service oriented. Original game was filled with hackers/scammers and dealing with in game problems such as wrongful banning (game has/had an auto banning feature) took nearly a year to received a response. Even then it was a generic reply of we are giving banned accounts a second chance etc. etc. instead of addressing the original email. In the end the overall problems with the game concerning customer service/hackers/scammer over shadowed the fun of playing this game.

Was this review helpful?
View 1 reply
h0bbit1234 5 years ago
is there any way this game could be mac compatible? *very hopeful*

Was this review helpful?
View 1 reply
Mya 5 years ago
This looks like a cute game.. might give it a shot when it becomes available.

Was this review helpful?
DAGONFLY 6 years ago
I cant wait to plays this ms2 i have character in maplestory 1 named BELTUEN. Anyway i wan play this games

Was this review helpful?
NEXON4ME 6 years ago
wow, this brings back memories. so long since I even saw anything maple story related. game is definitely an upgrade in terms of technology, but block landscape? I don't know. It'd be nice if they can change the block sizes to be smaller to make things more rounded out where they need to be. after all, it wasn't an 8-bit, but rather a 16-bit game. but to be completely honest, it'd be nice if they could make proper three dimensional detailed landscape rather than paste bulky blocks together. it'll never be the same unless there's more of the details for those epic skyships or trees.

Was this review helpful?
Lolrigami 6 years ago
Lets just make clear that US, EU and other (categorized) fan/target market base for Nexon makes up almost 6%. In reality, this is getting a lot of positive feedback in Korea, and I doubt Nexon is getting any lazier... I mean, they have been running as a public company for about 7 years now (I think) and are still running hard. The massive majority of their customers are happy and/or satisfied, and probably didnt fully focus on US or EU, even though they did say they are going to do a global release.

Was this review helpful?
Gh0stWithPants 6 years ago
They said this game would come out in america sometime in the middle of summer, but I'm going to school right now and I still can't play it.

Was this review helpful?
View 1 reply
Darkness 6 years ago
65% Of The Comments Are Haters. 10% Are Unsure And The 25% Are People Ready To Back This Game Up. Which One Are You? Guess Which One I Am.

Was this review helpful?
charlesG 6 years ago
who cares what it looks like to you. either way its still maple story and frankly if you gonna dis the game so much then dont play .-.

Was this review helpful?
Fresh juice 6 years ago
What day will this game be released?

Was this review helpful?
View 1 reply
JustRead :P 6 years ago
Maplestory In 2D Is nice and fun, but now ( 2015 ) the number of players is low.

liked it when almost every channel was full, but maplestory is easier now..

Was this review helpful?
View 1 reply
iLUVlemonsPL 6 years ago
My original aran's name from 2008^ but anyways, since they started coming up with new jobs constantly, the game has gone far downhill. I have some great memories on there, but once they started adding jobs after the resistance, it started dying as a game. I dont think ms 2 will bring in as much new attention as they think. They had a nice golden age, but I think the decline will continue, sadly :(

Was this review helpful?
View 1 reply
Azabache 6 years ago
I remember playing this on the Wii when it was called "MySims Kingdom" and my little brother bought it. Good fun. LMAO.

Was this review helpful?
View 1 reply
Brandon Threet 6 years ago
This game looks amazing im an avid mmo gamer and would love to get my hands on this game.

Was this review helpful?
Gwangho Lee 6 years ago
I just wanna play the god dame game dude

Was this review helpful?
Mach 6 years ago
I already have a name for my first character on MS 2, his name will be..... Tyrone..... yeah.

Was this review helpful?
BigWeasel 6 years ago
Those boss fights looked AWWWsoomme!!!

Was this review helpful?
Félix 6 years ago
Really like the idea. I will for sure play this game if it's FTP.
J'aime beaucoup le concept je vais jouer assurément s'il est gratuit.
When will it be available?

Was this review helpful?
Anxious 6 years ago
I've heard that Maplestory 2 is officially released on July 7th. Is the Korean version being released on that day? What about their announcements of it being global? If anyone knows which version it is, could you possibly reply to this comment and inform me of it. T^T

P.s- I sound sooo damn serious in this comment lolol. :p

Was this review helpful?
Night 6 years ago
i watched it once and i was highly against it and thought it was the dumbest idea i have ever seen in a long time. however i kept re watching the video and the more i saw how the game was the more i began to like the idea. i have watched the video about 10-15 times now and my only 2 concerns are 1, there seems to be ALOT of random stuff in there and i hope they don't focus to much on that and forget the actual game aspect of it, secondly (and more importantly) i'm unsure of how i will like (if i do like) the combat system, it seems like you would almost be better off trying to make the combat a gird based turn by turn game (however i know many many players would be turned off by this) so i'm unsure how the actual combat will be to play.

Was this review helpful?
sultan 6 years ago
i think it will be a great game , and i think its a new idea to let go the whole 2d games thing and start competing with such mega games such as world of war craft

Was this review helpful?
gither79 6 years ago
i guess sum of you can't read yet. I'll help

Not out

Was this review helpful?
jinxarino 6 years ago
For all you people who gave a thumbs down just needs to shut up and and dont play or u can try to enjoy this free game. The choice is yours.

Was this review helpful?
DEXTER NAVARRA 6 years ago
like an minecraft places...
BUT THIS IS COOL I WILL GOING TO FIRST PLAY THIS GAME L.O.L ^O^

Was this review helpful?
Some skrub who dosnt no ho to dawnlad 6 years ago
pls tall some skrab ho tao dawnled

Was this review helpful?
View 1 reply
Concerned 6 years ago
I came on this site to read about a game but instead found myself shocked by the poor level of basic grammar and spelling of those who left comments.

Is it something inherent in MS players (I have noticed the same on several other MS related forums/articles) or is this just the state of education today?

Was this review helpful?
View 4 replies
uguran 6 years ago
maplestory worster than worster

Was this review helpful?
View 1 reply
Ampd 6 years ago
It's just a combination of a few games we've seen in the past.
Huge ripoff of Spiral Knights. Bummer.

Was this review helpful?
View 1 reply
booma 6 years ago
Wheel dae be bummin?

Was this review helpful?
wut 6 years ago
>game is voxel-based
>everyone's 1st thought is minecraft, even though it was not the first voxel-based game
>oh no, its 3d, not playing - according to most people
>this sucks - has no explanation to back it up
>gonna end up like habbo hotel

gtfo people and get real opinions.

Was this review helpful?
Koraydin 6 years ago
Personally i got really into MS 1 because it was super simple and fun, it looks like they're just trying to over complicate things like every other Mmo is doing..... plus it'll probably die in a few years like MS 1 did....

Was this review helpful?
View 3 replies
Kawaii-Funny 6 years ago
If i have windows 8? please :'( help! i want play it!!!

Was this review helpful?
View 1 reply
Kenneh! 7 years ago
When is it released?

Was this review helpful?
kaizenethixxx 7 years ago
How to register in this game? Someone help me :(

Was this review helpful?
View 1 reply
Rachel 7 years ago
Wow this looks so cute and cool <3 Huge improvement from the original. Can't wait to play it!

Was this review helpful?
zammy13 7 years ago
Looks really fun! I cant wait :)

Was this review helpful?
zammy13 7 years ago
Looks really fun. I liked the maple story so ill probably get addicted to this one.

Was this review helpful?
EvilGaming 7 years ago
This looks awesome! i never could get into maplestory with its 2d side scrolling game but now they are making a 3d mmo with a locked camera type thing i could get into this!

Was this review helpful?
izzy 7 years ago
The maker's of maplestory are getting a little bit lazy for making this ^^" ya it looks cool but it looks like dragon nest (another nexon game) and the money they get from the 1st maple story they could of done alot better ....

Was this review helpful?
View 2 replies
Toxicitykiller 7 years ago
Shame on you Nexon. This just looks like they put Maple Story and Minecraft together. Yes it looks smoother than Minecraft but all it is, is just the characters aren't 8-bit pixel characters. This is a great upset.

Was this review helpful?
View 10 replies
Nekisaur 7 years ago
Yes hurrah! , i am super excited for maple story 2. I've been a long time player of maplestory and this is for sure going to bring a new spring of life to it.

Was this review helpful?
Fran 7 years ago
Not sure how I feel about this, but I'll try it out at least. Could be interesting.

Was this review helpful?
Kyotsukon 7 years ago
super excited, but i feel like im gonna be one of those scrubs who falls off the edge of the map...
altho the idea also kinda reminds me of Super Mario 3D land meets minecraft

Was this review helpful?
xxmiku 7 years ago
im so excited i cant wait :D

Was this review helpful?