Smite


SMITE is a third person MOBA published by Hi-Rez Studios. Unlike other MOBAs, SMITE places the camera in a third person perspective behind the god. This allows for a unique playing experience since a player can only view what is in front of them, allowing an enemy to sneak up from behind for a gank. Players must also use the mouse to manually aim all their abilities and auto attacks.

In SMITE players choose a God to enter battle with. Once in game, players must work together to level up and defeat the enemy team's Minotaur by engaging in battle with it and killing it. To do this players must kill the enemy teams "minions" which spawn in waves throughout the entire game. These minions drop gold which players can then use to purchase items in order to become stronger. Players can also purchase active abilities (up to two) in-game to further customize and adapt to the match at hand.

At the end of each match whether your team wins or looses, you are rewarded points that you can use to purchase new gods. Save enough and unlock them all!

Disclosure: MMOBomb works closely with publishers and developers to offer a free and rewarding experience. In order to keep everything free to use we may sometimes earn a small commission from some partners. Find more info in our FAQ page.

Additional Information

Title

Smite

Developer
Hi-Rez Studios
Publisher
Hi-Rez Studios
Release Date
March 25, 2014
Genre
MOBA
Platform
Windows (Client)
Please note this free-to-play game may or may not offer optional in-game purchases.

Latest Updates

Minimum System Requirements (Windows)

OS

Windows XP SP2, Windows Vista or Windows 7

Memory

2 GB RAM

Storage

10 GB available space

Processor

Core 2 Duo 2.4 GHz or Althon X2 2.7 GHz

Graphics

ATI or Nvidia graphics card with 512MB video ram or better and Shader Model 3.0+ support.

Additional Notes

Specifications may change during development

All material on this page is copyrighted by ©Hi-Rez Studios and their respective licensors. All other trademarks are the property of their respective owners.
See All

Games like Smite

One Tower - Get ready for intense, one-on-one action with One Tower, a "micro-MOBA" from SkyReacher Entertainment where victory or defeat is entirely up to you. Choose your hero and carefully choose your wave of minions to progress down the single lane and destroy your opponent
Loading...
FREE

One Tower

Vainglory - Vainglory is a free-to-play cross-platform MOBA with deep, strategic gameplay and a variety of game modes, both casual and competitive. Billing itself as the "no-compromise cross-platform MOBA," Vainglory lets you play how you want, where you want, in everything ranging from five-minute BRAWLs to intense 5v5 battle arena matches.
Loading...
FREE

Vainglory

Divine Souls - Divine Souls is a free-to-play 3D Action-Fighting MMORPG from Outspark, with unique character classes, imposing weapons, arcade style brawler gameplay, and non-stop action. To transform into a Divine Soul, an enlightened one, you must master an impressive array of combos, skills, and weapons in battle.
Loading...

User Reviews (143)

Do you recommend this game?
PhantomTa2 5 years ago
I would like to win Osiris because not only am I very much interested in the whole Egyptian belief system and the artefacts that are uncovered there, choosing this character skillfully conceals, whilst not drawing attention to, any divinations, (see what I did there?), regarding my stance and/or any participation by myself when it comes to any sexist behaviour ;)

Was this review helpful?
ZaXa 5 years ago
This is BEST game!!!

Was this review helpful?
Cog 5 years ago
I played this game for most of last year and ended up quitting due to balance problems and the toxic community.

Decided i'd give it another try while i wait for gigantic to be released and the game now is worse than it has ever been before

-The community is as dumb as it will ever get now, and by that i mean they dont even know how to play moba's but rather than try to learn or take advice they just want to bm and blame others and its like this basically every match now. You have to play gods that can carry 4 ppl or you have to expect to lose every match now.
-The game is dying, my average que time in normal (not league) matches is 3-5 minutes. Sometimes it goes to 10 minutes and if someone doesnt join it restarts. I've literally sat waiting to get into a game for up to 20 minutes before.
-Servers are unplayable, my entire month back in the game there wasnt a single day i went with no server issues, basically every match someone or everyone would get hard lag or ppl would be dc'd
-HiRez is still as shady as ever and supporting toxic behavior. I had 1 match against a hirez employee since i came back who literally was supporting a player on our teams toxic behavior and pushing him to continue it. Not that i should have been surprised

Was this review helpful?
View 2 replies
RIPMOBAGAMES 6 years ago
As my name states: Rest in Peace every MOBA game! It was nice playing with you all, these games were great, but it is time for them to die. The good old balance is no longer here... The good ideas were turned into s**t and parodies of themselves. The three of the greatest MOBAS: DotA2, League of Legends, and SMITE are soon to die, and don't say that the games are alive, they are dead. Only noobs or people who wasted so much money onto these games. It all started with one idea: "Aeon of Strife, a Starcraft 2 mod. After it came Defence of the Ancients, or DotA1 if you may call it, a Warcraft 3 mod. Then these three games began to develop." After a few years of running, it is time to put these games to rest. They were the three kings of the MOBA market, but now the market is about to die. It will remain for some time, because the developers still want their games to live, but they no longer succeed in doing so. DotA2 Reborn is horrible now, it is unbalanced, and it no longer have that perfect meta of 2013 before the TI3. League of Legends' developers are just trying to survive, because the game is no longer appealing. and SMITE, were always horrible, good idea, but it followed the Pay To Truly Play of the League, so not a lot of people wanted to get into the game. I have played all 3 games, for a good amount of time, but it is sad to realize that these games which started the new generation of MOBA games, the three kings, are soon will be dead. I am off to the DotA1 and Aeon of Strife! Just let these games to die, they are no longer worth your time!

Was this review helpful?
Iguana 6 years ago
Doesn't it take like 8 hours for it to download? :/

Was this review helpful?
View 2 replies
NoName 6 years ago
Smite could be a great game, in fact its one of the better games..... except. There is a lot of problems with smite that are constantly being hidden by its toxic community.

1.) Balance - HiRez has never figured out how to balance smite. Since forever hunters have always reigned supreme over every other god due item imbalances that offer them insane amounts of damage. For example: A hunter can do more damage with a basic attack than some mages can do with their abilities? Balanced? No. It's now even led to having hunters play mages spots in conquest making many of them obsolete. The game also strongly follows a meta, where players all use the same items and the same gods for matches because they are the best ones to use. Its not because they enjoy those gods its literally just because they are far superior to the others.

2.) Community - MOBA's all have toxic communities their is no doubt about it. However Smite has slowly pushed its way above the rest in vileness. Someone actually hacks smite and you have video proof to support the accusation? Too bad, the entire community will literally jump on your ass, spam you with reports, and accuse of being scum for believing that anyone can hack an online game and then they proceed to defend the hacker and try to convince HiRez they did nothing wrong. On top of this HiRez encourages BM (bad mouthing) against players and also encourages smurfing. Obviously smurfs will exist everywhere but for the game developers to say "hey we want you seasoned vets to go play new players so that you can beat them so badly they quit within a week and if you do this we will reward you with gems, favor, and special skins" is ridiculous and yes this does happen. Then you have the intelligence of this community. Forums for example are the prime source to see the IQ of Smites community. Someone can bring up an issue with a gods skill and the community somehow reads it as a "cry" thread about the OP losing a match (even if they were playing the god with the broken skill and won).

HiRez - They started smite as a small group and it showed a lot of potential. They have now grown a lot more so they can handle smite better. The problem is even with the increase in staff; smite is not changing for the better. In fact i'll go as far as to say smite has gotten worse since they increased their staff. They dont know how to do balance, and they dont care about how toxic their game is getting. On top of that if you look at their history; their games do not live for long. This is year 2 of smite meaning it might have 1 or 2 more before its dead or before they abandon it as well to move on to their next game.

If your a preteen kid or not smart enough to tie your own shoe then you'll fit right in to this game. If your looking for a good MOBA experience and possess any bit of intelligence then you'll have a better time in LOL or DOTA.



*I've played Smite for 2 years with few breaks in that time. My review is from personal experience in the game*

Was this review helpful?
coach 6 years ago
The same company that ditched Tribes Ascend after it extracted all the money it could from the players. Also did the same with global agenda. The client you install runs on your computer even when you arent playing and runs spyware. fyi

Was this review helpful?
View 1 reply
adamf9898 6 years ago
Where's the download link?

Was this review helpful?
Grims Bane 6 years ago
Its truly an amazing enjoyable game, from nice detail, to well designed god skills.

Was this review helpful?
ugurano 6 years ago
good game

Was this review helpful?
Rob 6 years ago
LoL and Dota feel so slow and just downright boring I've never enjoyed either of them.
If you feel the same way then Smite is probably for you.
Smite is face paced 3rd person moba and that makes it so much more enjoyable for me.

Was this review helpful?
spyware 6 years ago
SPYWARE!

Was this review helpful?
KBASK 6 years ago
This game is an exact copy of LoL but just that it has the camera in 3rd person cos as soon as I saw that description I couldnt stop laughing. you have to kill the "minions" and the only thing they changed was that you had to attack a minotaur which was just so then gamers wouldnt think it was an exact copy of Lol

Was this review helpful?
View 3 replies
gio 6 years ago
I want to be Ao Kuang because We Love Bundles!"

Was this review helpful?
EJOKURI 6 years ago
I wonder why this spyware is listed as a game.....

Was this review helpful?
View 1 reply
Miraell 6 years ago
I really love this game. I was playing LoL before, but now I can't playit again because is it so slow and 3rd person is better for me. Smite is big action and adrenalin. I am just amateur but I can recommend it.

Was this review helpful?
Maverick494 6 years ago
Same crappy community, completely unbalanced, but it's better than DoTA/DoTA2

Was this review helpful?
View 1 reply
Tim 7 years ago
I downloadd it watched through the tutorial, and i really was looking forward to playing, but it wouldnt launch

Was this review helpful?
Darkmarkin2 7 years ago
Greatest MOBA I've ever played, outmatches any other

Was this review helpful?
Some random dude 7 years ago
Video needs updating, the game looks completely different now, even the main gamemode 'conquest's map has changed..

Was this review helpful?
Hypure 7 years ago
tried all of them.I m not a stupid fan for any MOBA.this game just better than all others.

Was this review helpful?
SparklyDrew 7 years ago
The best MoBA I've ever played, and believe me, I've tried LoL, Dawngate, and many MoBas trying to find one better, but I just can't.

Was this review helpful?
AlreadyDed 7 years ago
This game is great! But honestly I don't think it will be beating Leauge of Legends anytime soon I play LoL a lot and I find it more fun than smite, I'm also really good! Go check my name PeradoxOwnz, the only thing i enjoy on the game is the carmera view and the way you can move by WASD

Was this review helpful?
View 1 reply
NineGagger 7 years ago
Im diamond 5 in LoL PH season 4. I quit playing LoL because player still sucks even in diamond. And now Im looking forward to this game.

Was this review helpful?
View 1 reply
AgeLol 7 years ago
Time 4 new screenshots, these are from the closed beta time =P

Was this review helpful?
View 1 reply
Jaxom 7 years ago
" I thence Invoke thy aid to my advent’rous Song,
That with no middle flight intends to soar
Above th’ Aonian Mount, while it pursues
Things unattempted yet in Prose or Rhyme."

Smite is the most amazing game i have ever played. Its third person camera makes it seem way more realistic than LoLs top down view.

The art design for the game is also magnificent plus the variety of gods and play styles is endless.

All-in-all smite is a must have moba

FYI my favorite god is Chronos due to his high basic damage, speed, crowd control, and his amazing ult that saves his life

Was this review helpful?
Unfabled 7 years ago
I wouldn't buy the god pack if I were you guys. If you look into it... It's tempting, but it really isn't that worth it unless you want to support the developers. Even so, buy a skin or two, maybe a voicepack, but the ultimate god pack isn't so great. You'll find out you don't want to play every god or you want to learn just a handful. They now have a rental feature which is great for the f2p players! Check that out when you wanna figure out which god you wanna save up for. Now that I have every god I have ultimately no reason to spend the points I get, lol. Yes there are skins you can buy with the currency you EARN by playing, but the better ones cost actual "Gems" which are bought currency.

Was this review helpful?
View 3 replies
CookieMunster 7 years ago
I have been playing this game for some months now and I am overly addicted. They update every so often, almost every other week with new gods. I like that you can rent gods you dont own for 1 game anytime you want. They currency is fairly cheap but so far I have spent 90$ + on this game even thought it is still in beta Lol.. I used to buy individual gods plus gifting gems to my boyfriend and I ended up buying us both the Ultimate god pack which is $30 right now. But even though we had individual gods they replaced them with favor points and we both have a total of 88k.

"Favor" is the money you get after leveling and after battle.

BTW this is my first moba..

Was this review helpful?
DeathFalls 7 years ago
Smite is a very good game,Hi-rez is constantly adding newer gods.The third person perspective is far better than the typical "Over the action"Type of perspective.I played since closed beta and in closed beta it had very,very little bugs.Just try not be chained ultimated by Hades and Zeus or Poseidon and Ares the ammount of teamwork to pull the chain ultimates are a bit difficult but satisfying in the end

-DeathFalls

Was this review helpful?
Kill 7 years ago
Guys Guys... i play dota dota 2 lol hon and many others but nothing charms me like SMITE.
You shoud try it.
Im not saying its better from others its retartet. You know why?
ME GUSTO NON CONVERSATO.
But i can agree that when it hits full game it will be popular as hell. even now it got many players.

Was this review helpful?
BKC1992 7 years ago
Looks fantastic. Installing ASAP

Was this review helpful?
Name(Required) 8 years ago
Need sound of god's step. If not, it can tailing you all the time since u didn't see your map

Was this review helpful?
View 1 reply
Ra3id 8 years ago
I'm a 36 year old hardcore gamer who's focus is PC gaming. At a younger age I was a competitive FPS player, and now-a-days I've found much more joy in RTS and MOBA type games.

I've tried all the more typical MOBAs, and I found DOTA 2 to be the most slick, satisfying experience...that is, until Smite came along and created a near perfect fusion of concepts and styles. Smite takes the slightly awkward and stilted gameplay of traditional MOBAs and puts you in third-person view with first-person control and aesthetics...an absolutely winning combo (for me, my tastes, and background).

This game is silky smooth on all accounts. The graphics, detail in character, animation, effects, environment, gameplay, and design are impeccable. A real work of art on all accounts.

I had trouble falling in love with LOL or even the beautifully rendered DOTA 2...but I fell head-over-heels, at first sight, with Smite. Exactly the fusion the doctor ordered.

Was this review helpful?
View 1 reply
Curify 8 years ago
Ok, so I downloaded the game and I have to say its a lot of fun. However, I have been unable to complete all but one of my matches. The game screen turns black and says that Smite was unauthorized during launch or something like that. Can someone please tell me why and maybe give me some advice on what to do?

Was this review helpful?
Jaxo60 8 years ago
This game looks pretty good. I love the way how they made it were everything is a skill shot basically referring to the aiming with ranged Gods like Artemis. there are also good things and flaws but im not getting into it at the moment to lazy to type long as I researched this game played with friends compare and contrast and I gotta say that when the full release comes out this game will absolutely take flight and will be one of the best MOBAs (Just my opinion)

Was this review helpful?
hfhgdfhhdf 8 years ago
Also, currently no other moba has as many maps and game modes as Smite.

Was this review helpful?
View 2 replies
Fgghdgfgsdsdfs 8 years ago
It's really good. It's not as core as Dota with its hard last hits, denying and losing gold on death, but it recompensates this "casualisation" with making aiming and positioning harder, since you have to move and attack manually, with WSAD and mouse. Outmaneuvering someone, dodging their attacks and getting a kill thanks to your skill and not just some stats feels very rewarding.
Although community in every online game, especially in mobas, is usually unfriendly and aggressive, as a LoL and Dota2 player I'd say it's still much better than the other's mobas' communities. Yes, you may meet some assholes whose whole dictionary consists of "noob" and "f you", but you may also meet some very friendly people who will be helpful and cooperative.
Speaking of cooperation, Smite definitely beats every other moba with its ping and command system. There is a lot of voiced phrases like "Middle is missing", "Gank right", "Be careful left", "Ultimate is ready" etc. with quick and easy to remember shortcut access (VF2, VCC, VVVR). These commands are a GREAT communication tool. Just an example: today it allowed me to tell an allied Fenrir to go around the corner and gank after I'll initate. Telling this guy the whole plan took me not more than 2 seconds, without using chat or knowing this guys language. All thanks to pings and commands.

TL;DR: Smite is fun, it feels rewarding, and unlike all the copies of Dota/AoS it actually has some fresh ideas for a fast-paced, but NOT dumbed down gameplay.
Highly recommended for people who are fed up with Dota/LoL.

Was this review helpful?
View 1 reply
Ian Patron 8 years ago
As a fan of both LoL and Smite, I can safely say Smite trumps LoL for several reasons.

First is the change in perspective. It makes it difficult to see your ally's mistakes because simply, you are too busy worrying about your own skin. This makes for a better playerbase because there's less arguing about who made what mistake.

The third person perspective makes it for much more exciting gameplay than LOL or other top-down MOBAs. Players can find a much more engaging experience though this new perspective. Do not expect to be sitting at base and watching your allies. If you want to see action you need to be in the action and that makes this unique MOBA stand above the rest.

Ranged characters can either despise the fact that every attack is a skill shot, or love it. I for one love it! You cannot pelt enemy characters from behind a slew of minions(nor can they pelt you). My personal favorite God is Apollo, a ranged AD carry who can slide in and out of combat.

Champs(Gods in Smite) are diverse, hailing many different mythologies throughout the world, from greek to chinese to norse to mayan. Seeing these diverse mythological beings thrown into a melting pot to duke it out can be extremely exciting. Also, you can look forward to seeing mythological gods you know and love revamped makes each new gods appearence exciting and fresh.

My one negative about the game is the skins. Most are just the same exact toons with different color schemes(though they are starting to come out with newer better skins that are not just different paint jobs)

My other lament is that as you play one specific god, you gain worshipers and through those you gain a god mastery lvl, but gaining these lvls don't really offer much(though that too is changing where now you must attain a lvl mastery to gain skins).

Like LOL there are different maps, but something LOL doesn't have is the Arena(my personal favorite). Instead of attempting to siege turrets and such, it's a battle royal of 5 vs 5, where deaths and minion kills lower the enemy's score until one side reaches 0.

All in all, if you like MOBAs this is a MUST. If you haven't tried out SMITE, you are missing a very fun and engaging experience.

Was this review helpful?
Gerdts 8 years ago
you can get banned by simple reports. Their automated system for banning is worse than dota2. All you have to do is mass report and they "check it" by looking at stats only.

Horrible, horrible community.

Was this review helpful?
View 3 replies
smitefan thomas 8 years ago
I have been searching for good F2P games for a long time, this is the only satisfactory one. This is, by far the BEST free game you could ever play. With a cash-shop that doesn't change the gameplay whatsoever, and some of the best gods are instantly available. The characters are wonderfully balanced, the combat is easy to understand, no goofy level up system, your friends can start playing with you without having to grind, they just have to practice their skills. I even play this free game more than games you have to pay to play.

I have spent 30 dollars on this game and don't regret it at all. I am happy to support such a deep and rich game.

Was this review helpful?
phil 8 years ago
This game is trash. Poorly balanced and each new god breaks the game even more. Core concept is good (of course, it was STOLEN) but it needs more polish before it will be worth paying any money

Was this review helpful?
View 6 replies
MAMdk 8 years ago
Awesome game, where all your reflexes and strategic planning can come to action.
A casual game lasts in average 30 mins (3 lane classic MOBA) and 15 mins (Battle arena)
Easy to get started where both hardcore gamers and casual players can have fun - cooperation, planning and fast reflexes are the key terms here!

Only downside I see in this game is that many players favor a particular character over others and will choose their preference instead of wanting to balance whole team performance...

Was this review helpful?
View 1 reply
terna 8 years ago
downloading....

Was this review helpful?
DestroyYourEgo 8 years ago
What can I say about "Smite"?

It's utterly, utterly amazing. My only dip into an actual MOBA- the only other one I've played was "Awesomenauts" (not a "traditional" MOBA). But, I found myself right at home here. It's basically "Unreal Tournament" meets "League of Legends". If either (or both) appeals to you, I suggest you try this out! I wasn't sure, but then I saw Kali, and I fell in love with it.

It's in Beta, so there are still problems. For instance, I feel Hades, Loki and Zeus are overpowered. God forbid you get in a match with the three of them and you don't have the same three on your team- you're screwed from the gate.

And like with any online game, the community is full of self-entitled, egotistical man-childs. But, if you can ignore them (or come up with clever retorts), you'll be okay.

I may not be a MOBA player, but I can tell a lot of other people that play this aren't either. Some people think this game is all about the Player Kills.

NOTE TO NEWBS: IT IS NOT ABOUT PLAYER KILLS.

Don't get mad if you weren't the one killing the most shit out there- this is about SKILL, not POWER. If you want to be a good "Smite" player, learn to balance out your deaths (avoid them completely if possible) and Kill Assists (people may steal your kills, but if THAT pisses you off, you're not a team player- this is NOT the game for you).

It's almost like sex for the first time- pace yourself, take it slow, be aware of everything around you, and DO NOT prematurely shoot your wad- you'll be okay.

This is the FIRST game of 2013 I highly endorse/recommend.

Was this review helpful?
View 1 reply
Bic Boi 8 years ago
While it's a good game, if you're not 100% familiar with mobas, avoid downloading it. There are so many self-loving newbie-hating elitists in this game it's disgusting. You had better be a godlike player or else the insults and hate will start flying. Lord help you if you make a mistake. Seriously, it's a great game but the community is so horrid that you will grow tired of dealing with anyone when you can just play something else where you can ignore people and thus ignore the stress related to all the elite butthurt screaming.

Smite isn't the problem--it's the community that it raised. The matchmaking is a large problem--it throws newbies in with vets all willy nilly..and then the vets rage when the newbie sucks and despite trying to learn, the vets will rage instead of trying to help. It's just way too cold. And yes, I'll admit it--I suck at MOBAs. But when no one attempts to help, they're not fixing the problem. Hostility is not the answer, but it's the one that community chooses.

Was this review helpful?
View 5 replies
a person 8 years ago
looks like the new top game....
contains strategy- mouse control
and even animations that can speak actions, unlike swing left and right-league of legends- based off luck, because its whoever gets most minion kills first...

Was this review helpful?
Bryan 8 years ago
Best form of PVP ever! I play traditional MMOs, which lack skill based PVP greatly. That is when I shutdown my MMO and load up this MOBA and kick some ass of other players ;)

Was this review helpful?
Fubbadubba 8 years ago
A really great game!! So much fun !! Spend a lot of hours on it already..
And IT IS FREE.. I think, it makes it way more skill based than i.e. LoL because every skill is skill shots !

Was this review helpful?
EazyD 8 years ago
This is the best MOBA I've ever played. I can't stand the slow and overly simplified combat of games like LoL, but I love Smite because it's a MOBA that actually takes skill to play. Very fun game!

Was this review helpful?
View 1 reply
OneStep2Close 8 years ago
Great game lots of fun, many hours spent playing this

Was this review helpful?
MasterZaraki 8 years ago
Best MOBA i´´ve played because the W,A,S,D moving make it real action and real strategy even to the way and direction you move, besides all skills being skillshots which places more tactic to where positioning said skill to hit the most amount of players you can, perfect game, the unique online game i´ve spent real money so far, to unlock the 30 gods the game has so far by a promotional pack, try it and you will love it, going to play, see you in game.

Was this review helpful?
typekM 8 years ago
Best moba ever.

Was this review helpful?
edgar 8 years ago
its not good i even HoN better then this game

Was this review helpful?
View 2 replies
echan_xxx 8 years ago
GOOD GAME!!

Was this review helpful?
swazzz 8 years ago
just downloaded smite a couple of week ago its a good game not very good at it though

Was this review helpful?
pentaking13 8 years ago
This game will by far beat league of legends and I'm hardcore league fan. I have 2600 wins look it up. Pentaking13. I have been playing smite for a while now. Its like league on steroids. Trust me as soon as the game gets full release and all the bugs worked out. This will be the top moba game.

Was this review helpful?
View 3 replies