War Thunder


War Thunder is an MMO combat game dedicated to World War II military aviation, armored vehicles, and fleets. In War Thunder, players can pilot a multitude of aircraft from a variety of nations including the U.S, Germany, Soviet Union, Japan and more. Players are able to unlock new aircraft over-time each with different handling characteristics, weapons and accurately detailed cockpits.

War Thunder offers newbies and experience players a full range of control options including joystick support, in order to best suit their preferences. Players can engage in both PvE and PvP scenarios where they must work together with other players to complete one or several key objectives. These objectives range from killing other players to destroying mobile tanks and AA installations.

War Thunder gives players access to several aircraft to use each match, with different plane types that provide new ways to play within matches. Bombers allows players to fly to extreme heights in the games gigantic maps. These heights give the bomber the ability to rain down various types of bombs onto key objectives. They are much more effective at taking out ground installations then fighters and come equipped with extra directional machine guns to protect their flanks./p>

Players will spend points accrued after every match on vehicle repairs and refilling ammo but these costs overall seem low. Players can improve their plane's performance in specific areas by spending crew points earned by piloting one aircraft for a long period of time.

Disclosure: MMOBomb works closely with publishers and developers to offer a free and rewarding experience. In order to keep everything free to use we may sometimes earn a small commission from some partners. Find more info in our FAQ page.

Additional Information

Title

War Thunder

Developer
Gaijin Entertainment
Publisher
Gaijin Entertainment
Release Date
August 15, 2013
Genre
Shooter
Platform
Windows (Client)
Please note this free-to-play game may or may not offer optional in-game purchases.

Latest Updates

Minimum System Requirements (Windows)

OS

Windows XP SP2, Windows Vista SP1, Windows 7, Windows 8

Memory

1 GB RAM

Storage

3 GB available space

Processor

2.2 GHz

Graphics

Radeon X26XX / GeForce 7800 GT

Additional Notes

Specifications may change during development

All material on this page is copyrighted by ©Gaijin Entertainment and their respective licensors. All other trademarks are the property of their respective owners.
See All

Games like War Thunder

War Trigger 3 - Blasting out of Rocketeer Games is War Trigger 3 (formerly Red Crucible: Firestorm) a free-to-play MMO shooter that pulls players into intense online matches featuring infantry, vehicle and air combat across massive maps. Equipped with gear taken straight from modern military forces, Red Crucible: Firestorm will give players to choose their preferred fighting style from the Assault, Sniper, Support, and Demolitions classes.
Loading...
Call Of Duty: Warzone - One of the most popular FPSes in the world is now a free-to-play battle royale: Call of Duty: Warzone. Strive to become the last squad standing in Battle Royale mode, where 150 players loot and shoot their way through an ever-shrinking battlefield; or complete contracts and try to escape with the most cash in Plunder mode.
Loading...

User Reviews (51)

Do you recommend this game?
Generalfeldmarschall von Hindenburg 4 years ago
Love this game. And I'm horrible at it. I just have fun rounding out the field and taking a scalp once in a while.

The design crew and most of the devoted players are geeks for the historical hardware, so when the players complain, there's almost always a coherent response.

Was this review helpful?
Daylot 4 years ago
Better tank (and plane) simulator than WoT. You can play as Arcade, Simulation and Realistic game modes. Arcade mode offers "WoT like" battles, but Simulation and Realistic modes offers "close to real" tank battles. Arcade, Simulation or Realistic... all modes offer realistic damage modeling, so we don't have stupid "health bars" anymore. You have to penetrate your opponents armor to take out their crew or hit their ammo or fuel tank to destroy it.

Addition to that WT has great community compered to WoT. While playing WoT, you can see lots of players swearing here and there but WT players are generally more mature and respectful.

I played both WT and WoT for long time. First started with WoT then switched to WT for compere both games. After few days of WT test, I decided to leave WoT permanently. I am still a WT player after there years.

Premium tanks are not OP. Some Premium tanks/planes have some advanages and disanvantages compered to standart tanks/planes but they are not OP, Gaijin doing a great job to balance the game as much as possible. Most Premium tanks/planes only usefull because of their extra rewards.

You don't need to spent real money to be a succesful tanker/pilot in this game, spending money here and there just reduce grinding and turn your planes/tanks more eye candy. Money or any Premium tank/plane can't make you a good tanker/pilot in WT. You have to be a good driver, shooter, smart tactician and a team player if you want to be in a high ranked player list,. Ohh and, for free players, grinding are much lower than WoT by the way.

-09.11.2016-
WT is currently available only online historical tank/plane simulation game which equally respects free and paid players.

9/10- Must have if your rig can handle the WT.
Why 9? Because WT requires a stronger PC setup compered to WoT. That is only negative point I can give to this game.
Have fun.

Was this review helpful?
View 1 reply
Robert T 4 years ago
I played this game, and then quickly found myself wondering what do I do now. Now that I had gotten all of the planes, there's nothing left to do. Except tanks, but I think we already have a game for that. If it wasn't for this game's awesome graphics, it would be boring as hell. And that's coming from 1st hand experience and two years logged playing.
Graphics-5 star
Story plot-0 star-No theme, just planes, Not even directed at a particular era
Popularity based on User Accounts-2 Star-This game has been advertised all over the web.
Any game that needs to advertise that much appears desperate, and based on User Accounts that remain active vs 2 years ago, they are.

Was this review helpful?
View 1 reply
taro 6 years ago
Too bad the game is now a pay2win fest with OP premium tanks and planes. Pay ~40eu for a premium tank and you get to kill weaker opponents. Like the Type59 from World of Tanks but more OP...

Was this review helpful?
View 1 reply
Erik500 6 years ago
This game is awesome haven't had any problems with graphics or settings. Only thing I don't like is when they pair up level 4 and 5 machines vs level 1-3. Not fair in my opinion in that manner.

Was this review helpful?
batledriven 6 years ago
this game is garbage.... Seems like the developers are rank amateurs at best, maybe intern developers.. very inconsistent game play..

Was this review helpful?
View 1 reply
ugurano 6 years ago
realy free game

Was this review helpful?
Henry 7 years ago
I play on a macbook pro. Intel HD 4000. Minimal Settings. 50-75 FPS.

Was this review helpful?
Malfurion 7 years ago
System requirements:

Minimal system requirements
CPU: 2,2 GHz
RAM: 1 Gb
Videocard: Nvidia GeForce 7XXX series or higher; AMD Radeon 1XXX series or higher
Free space: 8 Gb
OS: Windows XP SP2, Windows Vista SP1, Windows 7


Recommended system requirements:
CPU: dual-core 2,4 GHz
RAM: 4 Gb
Videocard: Nvidia GeForce 460 or higher
Free space: 8 Gb
OS: Windows XP SP2, Windows Vista SP1, Windows 7

Was this review helpful?
View 1 reply
teeniethekiller 7 years ago
i notice there is a warship game coming when is it due to be relisead any body know

Was this review helpful?
ugurano 8 years ago
when your love flying games, play this game here its not pay to win. and better of world of warplanes

Was this review helpful?
nick 8 years ago
After a recent update after this review was made, this game was declared unplayable, with about a 200+ hour grind from lv 7 and up, this game is utterly worthless, dont waste your time

3/10

Was this review helpful?
View 2 replies
dan 8 years ago
hy

Was this review helpful?
ahmed 8 years ago
this game getting higher and higher for sys requirements. i used to play it with 50 fps BUT now i play it with 30 fps or less with same laptop , even when try to boost my laptop to work in higher performance . so that mean they meant to make these changes .or they dont know what is really sys requirements i also tried to find
what system requirements make this game work in good and smooth but there is no sys req for this game till now lol

Was this review helpful?
View 1 reply
dregon 8 years ago
many hackers in this game

Was this review helpful?
View 1 reply
S.R.H 8 years ago
it happend to me after last update i mean that 120 mg and 17 mg in WT

Was this review helpful?
S.R.H 8 years ago
it happend to me after last update i mean that 120 mg and 17 mg

Was this review helpful?
S.R.H 8 years ago
8002232 this is the error plz help me i just got to rank 4 buy new german airplanes then everything went bad lol ;D

Was this review helpful?
S.R.H 8 years ago
I have prob with WT i updated it but it still say server is unavaible while i can see around 30 K player are playing but i can not go to battle what should i do even i spoke with support but they help wasnt useful

Was this review helpful?
FeedbackGuy 8 years ago
Error Simulator 2013

Was this review helpful?
Johnycrackcorn 8 years ago
Have been playing W-Th for a couple days..I can see the grind will be alota hours to get better planes. I've played 10000 rounds in WOT and always was dismayed with the lack of depth in maps.The error 80130183 can be fixed by submitting for a new password. Happened to me and I was good after they emailed me the info. I've played a ton of BF1942 when it came out back in the day and enjoyed the planes there. This War Thunder definetly is a keeper for me. Would like to know how to hook-up with a buddy.( like platooning in WOT). See ya all in the blue skies..

Was this review helpful?
nightstorm 8 years ago
I can run it with an radeon 3500 graphics card and 2.0 ghz dual core processor...
Lowest settings with 50 fps...
So it doesnt require a lot...

Was this review helpful?
GETDEM 8 years ago
For mac?

Was this review helpful?
neil 8 years ago
liked the look of the game so i decided to try it. I have been for 7 years and still am a subscriber to hitech's aces high 2. i downloaded the game and tried to log on. followed all the instruction and simple gave up. had error 80130183. Frankly it looks like a nice game, however I hate poor software, beta or not. no better way to get rid of customers than frustrate them with endless FAQ's and solution trees that lead nowhere. i will check back from time to time, but i won't be holding my breath.

Was this review helpful?
DarkRyuuk 8 years ago
min Graphic Card is Raden HD 6000's Series or Equivalent
Im not sure about everything else though

Was this review helpful?
View 1 reply
anders 8 years ago
This game is of the charts... Great fun if you're a couple of lads playing together.

Runs no prob. On my mbp with a 330gt m

Was this review helpful?
Matt101 8 years ago
am also curious on the specific requirements on this PC am surprise tho its not anywhere either on publishers website or anywhere else......

Was this review helpful?
View 1 reply
DarkRyuuk 8 years ago
System Reqs???? Anyone??

Was this review helpful?
jip 8 years ago
you are so stupid it is a fuking nazi aircraft

Was this review helpful?
S-D-F 8 years ago
One Of Best Free To Play gami with planes

Was this review helpful?
safi 8 years ago
can somebody tell me the system req. ?? !

Was this review helpful?
View 1 reply
Space_Wolf 8 years ago
This game is just sick for being for free, if you ever played world of warplanes, this game is a thousand times better. PLAY IT :D

Was this review helpful?
Dovawulf 8 years ago
I find the research to be based off of World Of Tanks, a popular and, the most relaistic, tank mmo.
I myself, play it.

Was this review helpful?
montiblanc 8 years ago
to know what im talking about go here putlocker . c o m /file/390D0DF684DE7B11# skip to 1:47:13

having trouble posting comments with links

Was this review helpful?
montiblanc 8 years ago
cant do moves like at the end of sky crawlers ~_~ rather play star conflict then

Was this review helpful?
SuicidalSnorlax 8 years ago
MOUNTED!... Yes! How lovely to finally get one!

Anyway, I really enjoy this game for the most part. The only beef I have with it is the unbalance between certain nations. For example, the 20mm machine gun on a British plane seems to do far less damage than its German or Russian counterparts. I don't know if its due to my skill level (which I think its average :D), but it just seems like I'm able to down someone a lot quicker with German weaponry.

~SuicidalSnorlax

p.s. Que-times are long :P.. I guess that expected because it's beta

Was this review helpful?