Everquest 2 players with All Access memberships have been playing the Altar of Malice expansion already during their “head start” access but now us common plebs can get into the new content as Altar of Malice has moved into its official launch.

The 11th expansion is not free though as you’ll have to buy either the Standard edition ($39.99) or the Collector’s Edition ($89.99) to gain access to the 15 Heroic Zones, 6 Raid Zones, 6 advanced solo zones, and the myriad of other new content added.

As you make your way to the new level cap of 100, SOE sets the stage for you storywise:

Norrath enters a new age, one darkened by the cold war between Freeport and Qeynos. The end of the last age cost them both dearly and neither can risk making the first move…yet. Outside powers can help them rebuild, like the Far Seas Trading Company, but lately its ports have run mysteriously silent. Emissaries sent from the cities have gone missing and any scout sent to investigate does not return.

If you have been or will be playing, make sure to give us your review of the new expansion in the comments below!

Mike "Magicman" Byrne has been a part of the MMOBomb family for years and serves as the site's current Editor-in-Chief. His love for MMOs and gaming in general has led him to covering games for numerous websites including Gamebreaker TV and XIV Nation where he proudly displays his fanboy flag for FFXIV:ARR.


  1. Free 2 play–your way!

    You are free to :

    — Not buy the expansion and hit a brick wall (and get out of our servers you filthy Free 2 Play–your way! peasants)
    — Buy the expansion for $40 minimum



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here