Tibia


Tibia is a classic 2D medieval MMORPG created by CipSoft. Tibia can now be played in the browser, it is one of the oldest MMORPGs (released in January 1997) and was considered most noteworthy in its early years. For more than 10 years now, players have been visiting the world of Tibia. At present, more than 250,000 players from all over the world inhabit the Tibian continent enjoying the numerous game features.

It is a free to play game which is open to the public, though players have the option to pay a fee in order to upgrade to a premium account, granting special in-game benefits, including additional areas to explore, access to vocation promotions, and extra spells.

Gameplay involves advancing levels while training to improve skill levels, hunting monsters using weapons and magical spells, gathering treasure, doing quests and exploring the Tibia world. Players interact with each other in character for conversation, trade and group battles and partake in guilds for more role-playing opportunities.

On most of the game's servers, players are also allowed to attack and kill each other, although there is a system in place to keep hostile actions under control called the skull system. Some servers do not allow such player versus player combat at all, while others encourage it by rewarding experience for kills.

Disclosure: MMOBomb works closely with publishers and developers to offer a free and rewarding experience. In order to keep everything free to use we may sometimes earn a small commission from some partners. Find more info in our FAQ page.

Additional Information

Title

Tibia

Developer
CipSoft
Publisher
CipSoft
Release Date
January 07, 1997
Genre
MMORPG
Platform
Windows (Client)
Please note this free-to-play game may or may not offer optional in-game purchases.

Latest Updates

Minimum System Requirements (Windows)

OS

Windows XP or newer. Linux Compatible

Memory

128 MB

Storage

100 MB

Processor

Any 500 MHz CPU or better

Graphics

Any GPU that supports at least DirectX 5.0

Additional Notes

Specifications may change during development

All material on this page is copyrighted by ©CipSoft and their respective licensors. All other trademarks are the property of their respective owners.
See All

Games like Tibia

Pixel Worlds - Create your own world and enjoy endless customization in Pixel Worlds, a 2-D free-to-play MMORPG from Kukouri Mobile Entertainment that
Loading...
Realm of the Mad God - Realm of the Mad God is a free to play 2D browser based cooperative MMO shooter with RPG elements and retro styling straight from the 8-bit era. Fight monsters in groups of up to 85 players!
Loading...
La Tale Evolved - LaTale is a free to play 2D side-scrolling fantasy MMORPG with anime inspired graphics, lots of quests and a massive player base. Simple gameplay and intuitive quests make LaTale accessible for players of all ages, while a large, immersive world promises hours of entertainment.
Loading...

User Reviews (32)

Do you recommend this game?
PICK YOUR OWN FUKIN NAME 4 years ago
freakin really?!?!?!?!? why has to be picking a name be so freakin hard??? first letter HAS TO BE A CAP. cant use more then/less then. cant have spaces, marks or anything else and game generated names suck

Was this review helpful?
Rauk 5 years ago
The game is not for every one but if u can find a good community of ppl to play with u can find your self trying to take over a server and going places and winning crazy loot but this game was made to keep the strong and get rid of the weak

Was this review helpful?
Kleofasz Kutya 5 years ago
There are bots everywhere and new players aren't going anywhere. Worst game of all.

Was this review helpful?
sad 5 years ago
I tried on firefox on linux, and the game doesn't work, it crashes.
It's because firefox on linux uses an old version of flash (11.2) and the game doesn't support it.

Was this review helpful?
eliana 6 years ago
hola

Was this review helpful?
Tjured 6 years ago
There are major stability problems with the game. Player deaths from lags and freezes are a daily problem. Server crashes and reseting servers, means you can play for a few days and lose everything. There is no customer support as they do no compensate for loses or refund.
They also frequently change game features without telling anyone which means you can waste days and weeks trying to achieve items which are no longer available.

Was this review helpful?
View 1 reply
Rpg 6 years ago
This game is dead. Low player numbers, Hardly anyone speaks English, Botters are everywhere, it's now a "Freemium" game, PvP is basically gone, Cipsoft(company who makes Tibia.) ignores players, and the "Retro servers" they made are not even "retro", they are newest version of game with tweaked PvP. THE GAME IS DEAD. By the way, you need to update this "review" it's system requirements and things have changed A LOT.

Was this review helpful?
View 1 reply
Zylath 7 years ago
tibia needs a heavy change and get back to the basic form of the game, when you can use whatever you like to use and the restrictions do not exist, tibia was created from the lord of the rings book for that it used to give to the player the feeling of exploring and questing free of npc guides and the most of the quest you have to make you own deductions about what to do and the hardcore gameplay belongs to this kind of feelings and of course your character its nothing special you are not the hero or the savior of the land you make your own history on each server

sorry for my bad english

Was this review helpful?
Kid Loki 7 years ago
Its still a great game Cipsoft needs to change pvp back to old school though so instead of downing the game why dont you try to get more people to play?

Was this review helpful?
View 2 replies
HUeVirus 8 years ago
DO NOT PLAY THIS GAME.

It has been MANY updates since this site put tibia on its list.

THE GAME SUCKS NOW!

PVP IS DEAD!

The game has less than 19,000 players left and it goes down everyday!!!

Cipsoft(the people who make it) ignore the players, and do not take feedback at all!

They ignore the players, i dont know why but they do.

R.I.P. TIBIA 1997-2013

Was this review helpful?
Wulfric 8 years ago
The community off-game is great with a lot of forums but ingame you can find a lot of annoying peoples sadly. But the game is great :)

Was this review helpful?
Skever 8 years ago
I play this game, I got characters from all vocations, I play from 7 years ago, I got a premium account with a level 232, 114, 96 & 64 and it's one of the best and oldest games of the world, 2 updates for year, summer update and winter update and many patches to fix all the bugs and those things that people report in forum, many contests prizes,good offers, people from all over the world and it's great, that's it!

Was this review helpful?
Peter 8 years ago
Great game. For games nowadays the 2D world view is a little behind the time. Very addictive and unfortunately ruined by power abusers alot of the time.

Was this review helpful?
Osk 9 years ago
I've played Tibia, is a great game but finally decided to erase my account because of this system that when your character dies you loose exp. and a lot of it. In 1 day I came from lvl 25 to lvl 21...killed by another player more than 30 lvl higher than me (he did it just for the fun of it) and then some dwarf that wasn't supposed to be there...So when you die you drop your items and loose aprox. half your exp bar. It took me almost a week to lvl up 1 lvl...didn't like loosing my time like this, it's an abuse from the company as I see it so I decided to stop playing it.

Was this review helpful?
View 2 replies
Javv 9 years ago
Game has been ruined, all except hardcore pvp worlds

Was this review helpful?
View 1 reply
finnishgamer 9 years ago
wait a sec...did i see in that picture of trailer someone named lihava maagi? then there is lotof finnsih guys playing this game..AND THERE IS FINNISH SONG IN DA TRAILER!! finland rules (because i live in finland XD)

Was this review helpful?
Gamer 10 years ago
Does this game really have a diagonal bird eye's view?

I was hoping for more like an endless online view, not there you see the top of things.

Was this review helpful?
View 2 replies