World of Warplanes


World of Warplanes is the flight combat MMO action game set in the Golden Age of military aviation. The game continues the armored warfare theme marked in World of Tanks and will throw players into a never-ending tussle for air dominance.

Based purely on aircraft setting, World of Warplanes will allow players to build full-scale careers of virtual pilots offering machines of several key eras, staring from 1930′s with biplanes and up to Korean War jet fighters that led the way to modern air forces.

World of Warplanes will feature a wide range of warbirds, each of them unique in their effectiveness and behavior. Virtual pilots will choose from three main warplane classes – single-engine light fighters capable of engaging enemies in close dogfights, heavy fighters with their deadly straight attacks, and strafing aircrafts, the fearsome threat for ground targets.

Every plane will feature multiple variations of ammo types, engines, and other crucial modules, and their various combinations will allow to pick the optimal configuration for the most effective behavior in combat.

World of Warplanes will feature around 60 airplanes from Germany, USSR, and USA, with British and Japanese planes to be added with the further content updates. New branches and new planes will be added gradually over the process of development as it is done in World of Tanks, and the total number might reach several hundred aircraft.

World of Warplanes will also feature a global interaction with World of Tanks, which will begin with sharing Gold and Free Experience between the two games for players, who have registered accounts in both of them on a single email.

Wargaming.net also publishes World of Tanks and World of Battleships.

Disclosure: MMOBomb works closely with publishers and developers to offer a free and rewarding experience. In order to keep everything free to use we may sometimes earn a small commission from some partners. Find more info in our FAQ page.

Additional Information

Title

World of Warplanes

Developer
Wargaming
Publisher
Wargaming
Release Date
November 12, 2013
Genre
Shooter
Platform
Windows (Client)
Please note this free-to-play game may or may not offer optional in-game purchases.

Latest Updates

Minimum System Requirements (Windows)

OS

Windows XP

Memory

1 GB RAM

Storage

5 GB free space

Processor

Intel Pentium 4 3.0GHz or AMD Athlon 64 3200+

Graphics

Nvidia GeForce 6800 Series 128MB or AMD Radeon HD 4550

Additional Notes

Specifications may change during development

All material on this page is copyrighted by ©Wargaming and their respective licensors. All other trademarks are the property of their respective owners.
See All

Games like World of Warplanes

Mission Against Terror - Mission Against Terror (MAT) is a free MMOFPS set in a not so distant future and in a fictional setting, pitting two teams against each other all over the world. Very distinct characters star in the game and fight for a common objective, from the male civilian with a vengeance to a war-torn female soldier with something to prove.
Loading...
World of Warships - World of Warships is a free-to-play 3D naval action MMO (developed by the team that created World of Tanks) based on epic sea battles of the 20th century. World of Warships will let players take control of a large selection of warships and wage naval war in scenarios based on the biggest boat battles of the 20th Century.
Loading...
War Trigger 3 - Blasting out of Rocketeer Games is War Trigger 3 (formerly Red Crucible: Firestorm) a free-to-play MMO shooter that pulls players into intense online matches featuring infantry, vehicle and air combat across massive maps. Equipped with gear taken straight from modern military forces, Red Crucible: Firestorm will give players to choose their preferred fighting style from the Assault, Sniper, Support, and Demolitions classes.
Loading...

User Reviews (36)

Do you recommend this game?
ugurano 6 years ago
its realy free

Was this review helpful?
Nikutis 7 years ago
this game...

Was this review helpful?
Joobee 7 years ago
This game requires some advanced options on the video card and means most of the low end folk won't be able to participate. I'm one of those and downloaded WOWP 3 times and each time it failed with a device error. So even though it is F2P it's not going to be playable by everyone. Check the system requirements before you waste your time downloading.

Was this review helpful?
View 1 reply
Carl 7 years ago
Did the installation, downloaded the 6 gigs of data, only to get a some error about some missing dll file. stuff it, not going through the whole exercise again. Just going to play something else instead... sure another go is not worth it

Was this review helpful?
undersniper 7 years ago
never heard before about this game but pretty sure i might download it.

Was this review helpful?
Blitzkrieg 7 years ago
Just a game.

Absolutely appalling graphics combined with poor optimization. With that graphic, I felt like this game belonged to 2000, not 2013. Bad aiming system and a grind fest to "Unlock" equipment to get out of stock. To add insult to injury, Wargaming's usual "Paper" plane syndrome seems to be prevalent.

There are planes there that even google couldnt find. The game is also pure arcade, with virtually no difference between the handling of each plane (Talking about stall characteristics here), etc. And ignorance to the simple law of physics that a plane from WWII cannot accelerate on a 45 degrees climb.

Tracers are not modeled correctly, instead of dimming out, the rounds seems to be white lasers that suddenly disappear, and this have a place in space ship "Pew pew" games, not in a WWII game.

Did I mention the extremely cheesy and STUPID voice instructor? Yeah, when you hear it, you will know what I am talking about.

In the tutorial, there is this balloon that you need to destroy, and each stage of damage have a transition so SHARP that it looks like it suddenly deflated by half because that 1 bullet dropped health below 50%. (You know, like flip notes, except, the damage is not gradual, but instantaneous.)

Oh yeah, 15 vs 15 in a map that takes 1 minute to fly from one side to the other can be attributed to the atrocious big world engine used on WoWP, which is dated, and pointless. There is no landing, no repairing, just straight off death match with the added bonus of having to wait till the round is over till you can get your plane back.

Camera control is poorly designed, giving it a really poor feel when you control the plane. The major issue is camera placement is not in unison at all with the plane, thus, you will be having a nausea everytime you play. (At least I have that issue)

With all these issues in mind, and the ignorance of WG staff members, I am sticking to its competitor. "War Thunder" instead of wasting my time with that money cow.

Was this review helpful?
View 1 reply
Squadenn 7 years ago
Filesize is 7,1 GB.

Was this review helpful?
Lollmas 8 years ago
Just started playing WoT and really enjoy it, now came out this game (bye WoT) :(

Was this review helpful?
Crackmonkey 8 years ago
good graphics but war thunder is better in the sense of better controls where as unless you had a joy stick its really taxing to get into the swing of things i mean the second training mission tells you repeatedly to turn towards the enemy and the enemy keeps turning as well the plane doesn't turn its guns toward the area you need to shoot in other words makinng it quite annoying

Was this review helpful?
PC Gamer 8 years ago
World of Warplanes is an arcade based game. If you guys want easy and arcade style mode, you pick this game. If you want a real aircraft simulator, go play WarThunder.
PS. WarThunder is in progress of their ground forces

Was this review helpful?
m45noy 8 years ago
GET A SKILLS !

ALL GAME NOW ARE COMMERCE PROJECT SO STFU ABOUT DONATING!
PLAY FOR FREE IN SH1T!

Was this review helpful?
View 1 reply
James 8 years ago
It's just about release time but I lost patience with it because the balance is horribly out of whack.

First if you do play it pick the Russian side. I played the German side and was royally screwed.
(The developers are Russian by the way, go figure)

Example at "tier" 7 I get a 1944'ish German 109 which was one of the German best.
But at the same the Russian get a 1948 La series that can turn on a dime, has better guns, etc.
Where it should have been balanced was that the 109 had a supercharger, which should help you climb out as you can't turn with the La. But in borked balance they gave the La about the same power anyhow. Plus in reality the La was lighter thus couldn't hold that much ammo.
Since they made everyone unlimited ammo that balance point is wrong as well.

You will see people in the La often ring up 10 kills or more for a reason beyond skill.

They just seem to pick arbitrary strengths and add them to the planes on a whim.
And just can't seem to balance WW2 planes vrs coldwar planes.
They should probably have matches where it's only WW2 or cold-war, not both mixed together.

Also this whole "tier" (read level) concept is lame.
In reality a 9mm, 35. 45, cal etc., would all kill you.
It's to make the game MMO style mechanic so they can have the "wg.net march of death" grind (where they make their money).

Was this review helpful?
View 2 replies
ugurano 8 years ago
warthunder better

Was this review helpful?
DougJunior 8 years ago
oh no, next play to win game is out, with millions of idots who play the game and think that are good.

Was this review helpful?
Aser345 8 years ago
Well being in the closed beta i gotta say, War thunder doesnt match up to WOWP in terms of gameplay and community this game can do better with graphics yea but wargaming perferes to give the optimal gaming experience at all times hell if ur in the beta testing add me lol i might fly with ya with my pony and IL2(t)

Was this review helpful?
Captain Crash 8 years ago
WHAHAHAHA i have acces with my world of tanks account because i am one of the premium players who they should need to test the f*cking awesome game baby!

Was this review helpful?
Mike 8 years ago
Aces High 2 is by far the better game....not even close.

Was this review helpful?
m45noy aka HappyDaySaver 8 years ago
FIRST^
there is 1 account for "world of tanks" and "world of warplanes"
SECOND^
World of warplanes is now beta testing. . So u can try urself as beta tester of this game.

Was this review helpful?
View 1 reply
viktorka 9 years ago
HOGY KELL LETÖLTENI EZT A JÁTÉKOT!!!!!!!!!!!! mondjátok meg a world of tansot lelehetett tölteni de ezt nem miért kurv@

Was this review helpful?
albert 9 years ago
cant download this game nor play

Was this review helpful?
huricain 9 years ago
yo if you cant wait for this game to come out just play a game like it in the mean time it's called aces high 2 it's not that bad just the graphics are not as realistic

Was this review helpful?
huricain 9 years ago
yo if you cant wait for this game to come just play a game like it in the mean time it's called aces high 2 it's not that bad

Was this review helpful?
Aaron 9 years ago
I heard about world of warplanes...but each time i go to register it takes me to world of tanks which i already have HELP

Was this review helpful?
View 1 reply
GodBlessME2daysago 9 years ago
i dunno but hope in 2012.. after the Apocalypse

Was this review helpful?
View 1 reply
sverker 9 years ago
whene does world of warplanes ad world of battleshipps come out

Was this review helpful?
rich 10 years ago
i love world of tanks, it is in my view the best on line game.. so happy you have world of warplanes, my true love is flying, thanks for all the hours of fun...

Was this review helpful?