Realm of the Mad God (5)

Realm of the Mad God (4)

Realm of the Mad God (2)

Realm of the Mad God

PLAY NOW

About the game:
Title: Realm of the Mad God
Status: Released Graphics: 2D
Genre: MMORPG Type: Browser
Developer: Wild Shadow Studios
Publisher: Wild Shadow Studios

Explosive Features:

  • Great 8-bit art: Retro styling straight from the 8-bit era.
  • Loot! Hundreds of weapons, potions, armors, and rings.
  • Cooperative play. All experience is shared and you win by playing together.

Realm of the Mad God is a free to play 2D browser based cooperative MMO shooter with RPG elements and retro styling straight from the 8-bit era. Fight monsters in groups of up to 85 players! Dodge blasts from devious monsters while you work with friendly teammates to take down the Mad God himself.

Realm is a major advance for MMOs, putting dozens of players into the middle of an intense action game straight out of the arcades. The game is free to play; jump in for 5 minutes or stay for hours.

Featured Video

System requirements

Realm of the Mad God Minimum System Requirements:
OS: XP, Vista, Windows 7
Processor: 2.33GHz or faster x86-compatible
Memory Ram: 1 GB
Hard Disk Space: 100 MB

Read related news

Edit Game Report Problem

More MMORPGs Like This

37 User Reviews

Leave Your Review
  1. Vinman23 on July 10, 2012

    Great game but need patience to get to higher levels

    Plz don’t reply

    (0)
    • Me on April 8, 2014

      I JUST DID!

      (2)
  2. dan on March 26, 2012

    Its kind of a pixelsalad. not my taste.

    (0)
    • aguy on September 23, 2012

      Pixel salad?

      (1)
  3. theultimatedestroyer on March 20, 2012

    I HATE THE PERMADEATH. But otherwise it is completely epic.

    (0)
  4. Kagako on April 10, 2012

    Good game. The retro graphics are fun, game play is easy to get but the Permadeath is a pain. Although using the deaths to open new classes is cool.

    (0)
  5. Person on April 12, 2012

    this game is AWESOME. im in a guild called LivingColdFlash. i hav 17 stars.

    (0)
  6. the game is awesome. i have 4 characters

    (0)
  7. Larry on May 26, 2012

    the game is amazing I just don’t know how to join a guild.

    (0)
  8. lou on May 27, 2012

    you have to be asked by a guild founder or leader such as myself to join their guild

    (0)
  9. neilpogitheone on May 31, 2012

    i like this im play this game in 2 hours very best

    (0)
  10. EpikWolf on June 3, 2012

    im frigging epic at this game, hence my name, EpikWolf

    (0)
  11. EpikWolf on June 3, 2012

    btw dont message me cuz im using a fake email

    (0)
  12. flamingking on June 3, 2012

    ive pkayed alot but i keep dieng at lvl 1-2

    (0)
  13. Starman385 on June 16, 2012

    It’s a really addictive game. I enjoy it a lot.
    It would have been even MORE epic if it was 3D.
    I give it a 9/10

    (0)
    • DWLooney on August 19, 2012

      It IS 3d, just not very noticeable, because it is top down. At least currently you can rotate the camera, which is not possible in regular isometric 2d games. I guess its kind of a psuedo-3d, ie you don’t notice it actually is.

      (0)
  14. Jim Jaw on August 3, 2012

    its a great game but its a pain if u die

    (0)
  15. Justus on August 20, 2012

    PLAY THIS RIGHT NOW!!!

    (0)
  16. Tech on October 6, 2012

    XD This game is so addicting. You only run out of things to do when you’ve unlocked all the characters. Until then it will be nonstop action, no blinking and don’t forget to follow the “bridge”! :P Definitely a game to try.

    (0)
  17. BrownMamba on October 10, 2012

    Hey.. So actually it’s all game over when u die in the game? Just askin coz i never played the game b4.. ^_^

    (0)
  18. My Level 100 on January 6, 2013

    First off this game has a classical graphic style like the first zeldas so any retro gamer should love it its easy to start playing easy and short tutorial simple gameplay and easy to enjoy but there are always cons there is nothing perfect this game has a system where if you want good items or different classes or more storage space for prized possessions you gotta buy realmgold which cost real life money if you dont do that there is no way to get new items besides trading with other players you can get items from boss drops but its like any other mmorpg its random drops there is plenty of things to kill and huge player base at first sight this game looks really easy but when you enter a realm and travel inland it gets kind of threaten you can get gang banged by like 50 things at once so you got to be carefull

    So if your looking for a simple retro style mmorpg try it out its definitely worth playing

    i give it a 7.5 out of 10

    (0)
  19. Kralizec&Kvizac on January 21, 2013

    What is great about this game is level of mastery you can achieve at dodging and shooting with exercise. After some time, you start milking the godlands (a spot on the map where only bosses spawn and drop good loot) and doing some dungeons.
    When you get some skill, it becomes a bit too repetitive on the godlands and many dungeons and too hard to solo (and many players are uncooperative and rush through the dungeon only to get the loot).
    There is a currency system based on stat-potions which you also get on godlands and in dungeons.
    The drop is not random (each monster has a list of items it drops) and you must qualify for the loot by the amount of damage done.

    The gamestyle doesn’t enforce enough cooperativity.

    The graphics is really great. And no matter how skilled you are, you will die at some point and the deaths can be really frustrating and stupid. (YAST or YAAD)*

    * Nethack terminology (Yet another stupid death, Yet another annoying death).

    (0)
  20. Elite Death Bringer on February 13, 2013

    good – addictive and fast lving.

    bad
    1) no daily chance as in daily spin,daily bonus,etc; even some currency drop from the one of many monsters that can kill you from full hp almost instantly. point is some way to get currency without paying or those stupid give information deals.
    2) deadly cc for example a lowly god (slime god) hits you with slow and ur spd is reduce by like 80% instantly try dodging like that in godlands or even worse the confused that switches movement buttons. the problem is that the majority of players (70%+?) dont know how to control it during that state.
    3)they refuse to add a way to prevent people from teleporting to you just because they said the game was meant to be cooperating with everyone yet its the complete opposite. plus its more of a way to increase your chance of dying.
    4)No quest changing option, like it gives you a lame phoenix quest yet you’re probably more interested in a cube god or lost lord but it gives a quest for the closest mid-level god even though you are high level. Even if a prefered event,god,etc is closer than that mid-level god for some it ignores it (probably cause ur farming alone and they dont want that)
    - more to be added -

    (0)
    • MrOnWheels on February 27, 2013

      The quest are based on your level and when you kill a Phoenix lord or ghost god or cyclops there is a 10% chance it will spawn the event bosses and the status effect aren’t really that big of a deal just teleport or nexus if your in trouble so don’t go complaining just because you suck.

      (0)
  21. Jakkishh on April 14, 2013

    Can’t some one do a ripp-off with no perma death?

    (0)
  22. Thederpman on June 10, 2013

    Ok i have played this game for a year and i mean it has come a long way but to make this review shorter i will do a pro and con

    pros

    + Very fun and addictive
    + Very fast paced
    + A big map and many monsters to fight
    + A good amount of weapons that depend on tiers
    + Fun to play in big groups

    cons

    - It is pay 2 win ( It doesnt really matter because there is no pvp)
    - Its hard to find your friends in game

    I know there are more pros than cons but for me its hard to find many cons.

    (0)
  23. GryGandolf on June 18, 2013

    great game coolest part is the endgame though

    (0)
  24. Zaedulus on July 6, 2013

    People are leaving bad reviews since THEY are bad at the game.
    I consider myself at least decently knowledgeable about the game (having had a 6/8 character and tops and being in a top guild [ 6/8 = 6 stats maxed out of 8 and tops = best equipment]) will address some more serious problems.

    Since Kabam has bought the game, there have only been horrid updates (in my opinion) and the game has become much more P2W (such as buying tops in the nexus, and pets). You can get pets normally, but to do so requires much work and feeding compared to people who simply pay money to buy pet food.

    I could deal with this, but recently I have been experiencing huge lag spikes which often force me to nexus, and sometimes even kill me. There was even a glitch at one point where invisible bullets could immediatly kill maxed characters.

    As for permadeath, it is an essential part of the game, and once you have unlocked all characters it only means that you have just started. Leveling is quite easy as long as you take your time, but people often rush into areas to high level for them and get themselves killed. Leveling with a friend always makes it easier and more fun as experience is shared.

    The game is co-op as though you complain about people “leeching of the dungeon” and such, there is always the option to solo a dungeon or rush it yourself (however the fore-mentioned people who wrote the complaint probably wont have the skills to do either and therefore are the real leeches ;) )

    tl;dr

    Pros
    _____
    Fun
    Co-op
    Fast-paced
    Has a “social” element
    big variety of things to do
    many items

    Cons
    ________
    Steep learning curve
    Permadeath discourages new players
    P2W
    Lag Spikes

    (0)
  25. Some Guy on September 5, 2013

    Well, this game is pretty epic, fast-paced, and generally cool. I like the pixelated style of the characters and skills. Though the Perma-Death discouraged me to play it. But the perma death lets you try out other classes and UNLOCK them, by reaching a certain level in some certain class. But, I’m warning some new guys, one hit from an enemy makes a huge difference.

    (0)
  26. CaIsUs89 on October 29, 2013

    I wish the Developer.. removes Perma-Death

    (0)
  27. One of the best MMO’s in existance. Just dont forget it’s origninal title: “The co-op mmo fantasy shooter.” It describes it too well. And guys, stop complaning about the permadeath. just be glad you have the vault.

    (0)
  28. Rotmgpro on January 6, 2014

    friggin epic game! Im epic at this RIP 8/8 dizzy :(

    (0)
  29. Call me frost on August 20, 2014

    People are saying its hard and stuff in these comments…Im a 6/8 knight does that make me a god..?

    (0)
  30. Haxel on August 20, 2014

    Fantastic game! 7.5/10 Bad comunnitty.

    (0)
  31. Person on April 24, 2012

    IF U SEE GHOSTIII DONT TRADE WITH HIME HE SCAMS U. SCAM MEANS TAKING YOUR AWESOME ITEMS FOR FREE

    (-1)
  32. hdffd on June 29, 2013

    crap
    bad quality

    (-1)
  33. Jesterhead1985 on July 11, 2012

    Repetitive mess with horrible graphics… run around in circles shooting pixelated blocks… yeea…

    (-2)

Leave your review!

Notify me of followup comments via e-mail. You can also subscribe without commenting.